Quake3World.com Forums
     Technology & Troubleshooting
        building a computer


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: building a computer

The Illuminated
The Illuminated

Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 1545
PostPosted: 09-16-2009 04:25 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Looking at building a computer for Call of Duty.

Havent really played this game as I've been a Quake fan for years.

Can you guys give me some suggestions for a good gaming machine for this game.




Top
                 

i liek boobies
i liek boobies

Joined: 26 Nov 2000
Posts: 11732
PostPosted: 09-16-2009 06:47 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


http://www.anandtech.com/guides/showdoc.aspx?i=3610

Honestly, I've built my last 3 PCs using their midrange gaming guides and IMO they achieve a pretty damn good value for money ratio. Just don't follow it blindly, but keep in mind your local market, price ranges, hardware you can cannibalize from existing machines etc. If you're not in the US, the rebates they mention won't apply, and so you might be better off looking at other options. Keep recent price cuts in mind, new hardware released that would have affected stuff you're looking at etc.




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated

Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 1545
PostPosted: 09-16-2009 09:02 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


quite often shop at ncix, but for this game not sure what specs would make it run very well




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!

Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 11369
PostPosted: 09-17-2009 06:17 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


What's your budget?

Core2Quad, 4GB RAM, GTX260. That should be a good overall computer for CoD and many other games. But without knowing your budget or other special needs (do you have old hardware that you're going to cannibalize, do you want stuff like a blu-ray player, etc?) there's no real way for us to suggest anything.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated

Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 1545
PostPosted: 09-17-2009 07:42 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Budget probably around $1,500.00 Cnd. Not being overly familiar with COD I wasnt sure what would make it run very very nice.

If I understand correctly, quad cores do not run as fast as dual core but can process more at once. When playing COD or Quake there will be no mutiltasking, just the game so faster is better not the ability to multitask.

Also the game will be run on XP so I'm thinking 2GB of Ram should be ample.

Havent kept up to date on video cards and there are SO many options. Could use advice on a good video card at the reasonable price.

Will be using all new components, but I woudl think DVD/CD would be fine.




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!

Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 11369
PostPosted: 09-18-2009 10:31 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


How do you figure? Given same clock speeds the quad will in most cases be faster than the dual core. The only other factor would be price but at $1500, you could easily afford a decent quad core with plenty extra for all the other trimmings. Most games don't max out the CPU, but are more GPU dependent. So unless you really need to save a bunch, get the best that you can get totaling under your budget.

RAM is crazy cheap, so getting 4GB isn't going to cost you all that much more than 2GB, especially with Win7 coming out really soon, upgrading your OS to a 64-bit is the perfect time.

Again, the nVidia GTX260 is a decent enough card to run CoD on high.

Pick a mobo, a 1TB HDD and a decent PSU (I recommend the Corsairs) and you're good to go.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Technology & Troubleshooting


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group