Quake3World.com Forums
     Quake III Arena/Quake Live Discussion
        Improved CTF bots


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC





Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Improved CTF bots

Mentor
Mentor
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 3958
PostPosted: 10-23-2005 05:24 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Anyone who ever played CTF offline knows how bad the iD bots are. This file fixes that. The PK3 contains scripts for the stock iD bots, optimized for CTF play. Just put it in your baseq3, it will take effect next time you start your Quake. Enjoy!




Top
                 

It felt good...
It felt good...
Joined: 28 Mar 2001
Posts: 9558
PostPosted: 10-23-2005 05:29 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Kewl man, did you re-do these? :)

Do you know if any of the ctf mods like 3wave or lrctf feature good bots at all?

Would this happen to work in osp too?




Top
                 

brushmangler
brushmangler
Joined: 11 Jul 2000
Posts: 3760
PostPosted: 10-23-2005 06:23 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Like Riddla said, care to elaborate on what you did to the cfg files?
(it's hard to accept any change to some cfg files does make bots less st00pid, remember this game exists for over 6 years now)




Top
                 

brushmangler
brushmangler
Joined: 11 Jul 2000
Posts: 3760
PostPosted: 10-23-2005 06:32 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


riddla wrote:
Oh duh now I see, flag weight is upped to 500 for starters...


no way, visor has a flagweight of only 120
anarki gets up to 450
and you don't even want to know how crazy orbb got




Top
                 

Mentor
Mentor
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 3958
PostPosted: 10-24-2005 02:26 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I wrote a little script (see below) that parses their item weights and sets the flag weight to the highest of those. This prevents them from becoming suicidal lemmings while still making them much more assertive in CTF. Now nightmare bots with bot_challenge 1 are at least a bit of a challenge. I've tried tweaking other parameters as well, but none have as much effect as this simple fix.
Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl -w

my @lines;
my $highest = 0;

while (<>) {
  push @lines, $_;
}

foreach (@lines) {
  /\#.*?(\d+)/;
  $highest = $1 if ($1 && $1 > $highest);
}

foreach (@lines) {
  s/(FLAG_WEIGHT.*?)(\d+)/$1$highest/;
  print;
}




Top
                 

It felt good...
It felt good...
Joined: 28 Mar 2001
Posts: 9558
PostPosted: 10-24-2005 12:12 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Well they still lack a lot of things. :icon32:

[lvlshot]http://s88378813.onlinehome.us/images/games/q3/ctf_bots001.jpg[/lvlshot]

IMHO, good teamplay/ctf bots should have: (I know it's easier said than done)

- Should strafe more like humans to maximize speed (spiterbot does this pretty well, albeit sometimes he does cheat jumps)

- Dodging patterns for rail and other weapons (again spiterbot does it nicely but not great)

- Should try and go for the flag more (they get stranded many a times in middle or in their base, instead of going into the central area and proceeding for the enemy flag)

- When human gets enemy flag, the bots should all (or at least half or more of the team) stop what they are doing and try and pursuse the flag carrier. Even if they where to cheat and see through walls or what-not, but they should concentrate on the lead player with the flag because afterall flag captures are what hurts the weaker teams the most.

Better movement and planning patters could maybe be achieved with a script sort of what the Eraser bots had for Q2. You could script pretty nice patrol routines and movement patterns with it.




Top
                 

Mentor
Mentor
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 3958
PostPosted: 10-24-2005 12:34 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


True, the bots still lack any kind of tactical insight, but you can't fix that without (heavily) modding the source. I have some thoughts on the subject but it would require lots of time to implement, something I don't have. Maybe bugger arQon to make the CPMA bots work in VQ3?




Top
                 

It felt good...
It felt good...
Joined: 28 Mar 2001
Posts: 9558
PostPosted: 10-24-2005 12:45 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hmmmm, I have cpma installed, I suppose I could give their bots a shot with vq3 physics of course. :icon32:

Do they work in cpma ctf?




Top
                 

Mentor
Mentor
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 3958
PostPosted: 10-24-2005 12:54 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


That's the problem: if you try to add a CPMA bot while in VQ3 mode, it says "I don't play VQ3" and disconnects. They work in CPMA CTF but they only have a marginal feel for the game. Oh well, they're still better than your average iD bot.




Top
                 

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 09 Jul 2011
Posts: 1
PostPosted: 07-09-2011 08:19 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


How do i download the file it goes to this website http://www.savefile.com/files/7155636 and i cant download it :(




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Quake III Arena/Quake Live Discussion


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
© ZeniMax. Zenimax, QUAKE III ARENA, Id Software and associated trademarks are trademarks of the ZeniMax group of companies. All rights reserved.
This is an unofficial fan website without any affiliation with or endorsement by ZeniMax.
All views and opinions expressed are those of the author.