Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        bspc.exe - latest version?


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: bspc.exe - latest version?

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks

Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 878
PostPosted: 02-05-2012 07:45 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


What is the latest version of bspc and where can I grab it? I'm using "BSPC version 2.1h, May 6 2001 16:15:03 by Mr Elusive" at the moment.



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 297
PostPosted: 02-05-2012 11:57 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


cityy wrote:
What is the latest version of bspc and where can I grab it? I'm using "BSPC version 2.1h, May 6 2001 16:15:03 by Mr Elusive" at the moment.

That's the latest one.

The others are actually older, such as:
1.6, Dec 13 1999 21:34:01 by Mr Elusive
2.0, Jun 21 2000 16:12:44 by Mr Elusive

You're using the latest one. I'm guessing it was never updated beyond 2001 because there are no problems with it.




Top
                 

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks

Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 878
PostPosted: 02-05-2012 12:10 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I thought that too, though apparently there is a 2.1i from 2004. At least someone I talked to on IRC today was using that.



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated

Joined: 08 Sep 2000
Posts: 1075
PostPosted: 02-05-2012 04:02 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Zip File : http://www.simonoc.com/files/misc/bspc_v2_1i.zip
BSPC version 2.1i, Oct 6 2004 20:06:06 by Mr Elusive
I requested a version with greater limits to create my map PoM



_________________
Well he was evil, but he did build alot of roads. - Gogglor
Image


Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!

Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 11357
PostPosted: 02-06-2012 07:02 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I call that favouritism. :owned:



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks

Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 878
PostPosted: 02-06-2012 07:17 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


sock wrote:
Zip File : http://www.simonoc.com/files/misc/bspc_v2_1i.zip
BSPC version 2.1i, Oct 6 2004 20:06:06 by Mr Elusive
I requested a version with greater limits to create my map PoM


Ahh! Thank you sir. Is there a propper bspc documentation btw?



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!

Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 11357
PostPosted: 02-06-2012 07:51 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Code:
Usage:   bspc [-<switch> [-<switch> ...]]
Example 1: bspc -bsp2aas d:\quake3\baseq3\maps\mymap?.bsp
Example 2: bspc -bsp2aas d:\quake3\baseq3\pak0.pk3\maps/q3dm*.bsp

Switches:
   bsp2aas  <[pakfilter/]filter.bsp>    = convert BSP to AAS
   reach    <filter.bsp>                = compute reachability & clusters
   cluster  <filter.aas>                = compute clusters
   aasopt   <filter.aas>                = optimize aas file
   output   <output path>               = set output path
   threads  <X>                         = set number of threads to X
   cfg      <filename>                  = use this cfg file
   optimize                             = enable optimization
   noverbose                            = disable verbose output
   breadthfirst                         = breadth first bsp building
   nobrushmerge                         = don't merge brushes
   noliquids                            = don't write liquids to map
   freetree                             = free the bsp tree
   nocsg                                = disables brush chopping
   forcesidesvisible                    = force all sides to be visible
   grapplereach                         = calculate grapple reachabilities



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated

Joined: 08 Sep 2000
Posts: 1075
PostPosted: 02-06-2012 08:44 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@cityy, it should work like the previous version, except it can handle more complex map files. The version is not necessary unless you have crazy terrain stuff or a highly detailed map, but there are better ways to do bot files nowadays for more complex stuff.
@obsidian, my philosophy in life is 'If you never ask, you will never know!', and I asked for help! :)



_________________
Well he was evil, but he did build alot of roads. - Gogglor
Image


Top
                 

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks

Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 878
PostPosted: 02-06-2012 08:49 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


obsidian wrote:
Code:
   cfg      <filename>                  = use this cfg file


Just out of interest, what kind of config files would that be?
Thanks again for the replies.



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!

Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 11357
PostPosted: 02-06-2012 09:14 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Not used for Q3. It's used for other games (like RTCW) to set game specific values such as player dimensions, movement speed, jump height and various physics properties. The default values are for Q3 type physics, not all game share these values.

You can probably Google aascfg_lg.c and aascfg_sm.c for RTCW cfg files as an example or check in the GtkRadiant Wolf gamepacks.

If Entity Plus had changes to player movement speeds, this might be useful to control bots. Not sure, I'm not too familiar with exactly how this works or what changes need to be done.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks

Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 878
PostPosted: 02-06-2012 09:15 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I see, good to know, thanks!



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet

Joined: 08 May 2010
Posts: 11
PostPosted: 02-08-2012 03:58 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Thankyou Sock, this is just what I've been looking for.
Other versions of BSPC are giving me MAX_MAPFILE_PLANES
on a map with 16k brushes.

I had to convert a lot of details to models to get around it.
I'll give this new version a go :)




Top
                 

The CZ user
The CZ user

Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 664
PostPosted: 07-22-2012 08:44 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Have compiled map for Quake Live with q3map2.5.17 to give it a try and though the map is IBSPv46 (standard Q3 version), but then BSPC showed error: wrong IBSP version, tried to compile v47... That's weird, but I ask -> How to compile AAS file from IBSPv47? If the q3map2.5.17 have icluded AAS compilation, no problemo... Will compile it with this, but need to know the switch to compile the AAS file in q3map2...



_________________
Websites | Website forums | Downloads dir | Quake Live profile

The hell good boy
Image


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group