Quake3World.com Forums
     General Discussion
        am i the only one


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: am i the only one

Canadian Shaft
Canadian Shaft
Joined: 01 Mar 2001
Posts: 19816
PostPosted: 10-27-2017 04:16 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


who still gets logged out every time i leave the site?




Top
                 

Digital Nausea
Digital Nausea
Joined: 10 Feb 2001
Posts: 23829
PostPosted: 10-27-2017 07:34 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Every time...




Top
                 

Just another Earthling
Just another Earthling
Joined: 20 Jul 2001
Posts: 11560
PostPosted: 10-27-2017 09:00 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I am good but I took note of that post in here somewhere.... Looking....

EDIT: Did you see this topic in Announcements?
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=53324



_________________
Hit my WWW and make the world spin :D


Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43767
PostPosted: 10-27-2017 10:05 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Update your bookmark to point to https specifically and see if that helps.

For the record I don't have this problem on any of my devices. Posting feedback helps me fixing a problem I otherwise thought to be fixed.




Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 34021
PostPosted: 10-28-2017 01:51 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


^ this




Top
                 

FuddyDuddy
FuddyDuddy
Joined: 14 May 2000
Posts: 5724
PostPosted: 10-28-2017 03:24 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


If I use Chrome I have to log in every time I visit this site, doesn't happen with Edge, still prefer to use Chrome and logging in each time is no big thing. will update my bookmark and see if that helps, thanks for the tip MKJ



_________________
Member: NAD&BTA
Your Friendly Neighborhood Quake Addict


Top
                 

FuddyDuddy
FuddyDuddy
Joined: 14 May 2000
Posts: 5724
PostPosted: 10-28-2017 03:29 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Sorted :)



_________________
Member: NAD&BTA
Your Friendly Neighborhood Quake Addict


Top
                 

Canadian Shaft
Canadian Shaft
Joined: 01 Mar 2001
Posts: 19816
PostPosted: 10-28-2017 05:31 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


no worries mkj, have just been too lazy to post feedback...

i can't even resolve https quake3word. Using firefox here.

i wouldn't even care but i think i'd like to have my ignore list working again lest i catch some monumental stupid by osmosis :disgust:




Top
                 

Welfare Recipient
Welfare Recipient
Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 20400
PostPosted: 10-28-2017 06:15 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I think it's only the poor ppl who have to login everytime...




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43767
PostPosted: 10-28-2017 06:17 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


That's strange. I'll see if I can test later.




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12320
PostPosted: 10-28-2017 01:14 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Works for me on all my devices including Windows 10 with Firefox.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Risen From The Ashes
Risen From The Ashes
Joined: 03 Aug 2000
Posts: 26767
PostPosted: 10-29-2017 06:36 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


MKJ wrote:
Update your bookmark to point to https specifically and see if that helps.

For the record I don't have this problem on any of my devices. Posting feedback helps me fixing a problem I otherwise thought to be fixed.


Can you not set-up a redirect to force everyone onto https? Pretty much every other site does this :clownboat:




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43767
PostPosted: 10-29-2017 07:46 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


It should be there and working, last I tested it worked that is.
So yea apparently something is breaking it for some users.




Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 34021
PostPosted: 10-29-2017 08:04 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


i blame Justin Trudeau




Top
                 

Aneurysm
Aneurysm
Joined: 10 Dec 1999
Posts: 12147
PostPosted: 10-29-2017 08:49 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Logged me out for months on mobile chrome until I manually went to https. Hasn’t happened since.




Top
                 

Risen From The Ashes
Risen From The Ashes
Joined: 03 Aug 2000
Posts: 26767
PostPosted: 10-29-2017 08:53 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


MKJ wrote:
It should be there and working, last I tested it worked that is.
So yea apparently something is breaking it for some users.


The redirect? http://www.quake3world.com/forum/ returns a 200 and doesn't forward you




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43767
PostPosted: 10-29-2017 10:24 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


changed a few things, it should correctly redirect you now. *fingers crossed*




Top
                 

Risen From The Ashes
Risen From The Ashes
Joined: 03 Aug 2000
Posts: 26767
PostPosted: 10-29-2017 10:31 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Seems to work now :)




Top
                 

Risen From The Ashes
Risen From The Ashes
Joined: 03 Aug 2000
Posts: 26767
PostPosted: 10-29-2017 12:07 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


What browser and version are you using?




Top
                 

Canadian Shaft
Canadian Shaft
Joined: 01 Mar 2001
Posts: 19816
PostPosted: 10-29-2017 01:25 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


fixed and fisted!

thx Mause <3




Top
                 

Risen From The Ashes
Risen From The Ashes
Joined: 03 Aug 2000
Posts: 26767
PostPosted: 10-29-2017 03:12 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Memphis wrote:
latest firefox. which kinda got fucked in the last win10 update, only cba to reinstall it. if I watch youtube on chrome I get a goddam BSOD 'an all.

should have already had an exception for the dodgy site certificate though, so that's odd. just saved another :shrug:


Hmm working fine for me in Firefox. Is your PC date/time right? What does it say if you click advanced on the "your connection is not secure.." page?-
Image
https://badssl.com/



As for your BSOD, have you any files in c:\windows\Minidump saved around the time of the crash? Upload one somewhere (dropbox, email) and I should be able to tell you why it crashed :).




Top
                 

Kempston Joy
Kempston Joy
Joined: 11 Aug 2000
Posts: 48108
PostPosted: 10-29-2017 03:54 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Too much jiz in the KB fir sure.




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43767
PostPosted: 10-30-2017 12:57 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


its because FF is a bit more stingy when it comes to ssl redirects. It reads the SSL cert before redirecting you from quake3world.com (note the lack of www) to http://www.quake3world.com. Then it sees that the ssl cert is only valid for http://www.quake3world.com and not quake3world.com, so it throws the warning.

Other browsers only care about the actual landing, not the redirect beforehand.

So if you'd go to http://www.quake3world.com in Firefox it should redirect you just fine.

maybe there's some fix - other than DooMer fixing the certification - that works for Firefox. will investigate.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42742
PostPosted: 10-30-2017 04:57 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Working just fine for me in Firefox.
Am currently running the Quantum beta though (which is blazingly fast by the way)




Top
                 

Pestilence
Pestilence
Joined: 25 Mar 2002
Posts: 15754
PostPosted: 10-31-2017 04:40 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I have no problem in Firefox once I used the fix mentioned above. Re-bookmarked and has been working since.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42742
PostPosted: 11-01-2017 01:13 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


MKJ, did you change anything? Suddenly I'm getting invalid certificate errors when browsing to https://quake3world.com




Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 34021
PostPosted: 11-01-2017 02:56 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote





Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43767
PostPosted: 11-01-2017 11:50 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


nope. just avoid non-www altogether.
Unless DooMer (who controls the ssl certificate) changes it to *.quake3world.com this problem is probably here to stay.

again, just dont use the non-www and you'll be fine.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | General Discussion


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group