Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Is there an efficient way to make rain?


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Is there an efficient way to make rain?

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 34
PostPosted: 01-20-2018 02:37 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I am making a level and using this rain texture/script, but it hogs my performance totally. My framerate goes down from 150 to about 30 when using it, and I use it minimally. I'm wondering if there's any other way to get rain in my map without in dropping performance?




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12243
PostPosted: 01-20-2018 08:18 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Rain will always add a fairly big performance hit because of overdraw. Each extra transparent layer adds an additional rendering pass, which multiplies in the frame buffer, meaning that multiple layers can drastically drop framerates. The sample rain shader that ships with Q3 and is included in one of the sample Radiant maps is especially bad because it is a large scrolling texture with lots of transparent pixels. It's basically multiple transparent "sheets" that are layered all over the place. The more pixels, and the more overlapping transparency, the larger the performance drop.

Alternatively, you can use a particle shader. This means that you reduce the number of transparent pixels and overdraw, but you significantly increase the number of polygons. It will still have a significant performance hit, but not as bad as the example above. You can try downloading FS Particle Studio 2 (source code/project page) to help you generate a shader and see if you get any better performance.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 34
PostPosted: 01-22-2018 02:34 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Thanks I'll try this, I never used it before so it'll be a bit of a learning curve.




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 34
PostPosted: 01-22-2018 02:51 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Also sorry to double post, but does anyone have issues with models disappearing on their maps? I just made one and all of the torches disappeared.




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12243
PostPosted: 01-23-2018 10:04 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Just the torches? Make sure the origin of the model aren't embedded in brushes.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1622
PostPosted: 01-23-2018 12:08 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@obsidian: I actually preffer classic texture scroll shader :) If I need to create fancier water drips (different drip speeds and sizes), then I use multiple layers. However a single layer with few gray/white drops on a black surface is enough for a fairly good water drips effect...



_________________
[ Quake III Arena by CZghost | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Google+ ]
While you feel the worst ever, turn around facing to Sun and all shadows will pass behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 34
PostPosted: 01-24-2018 11:44 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Seems I accidentally moved one of the folders. I sort of fixed the rain framerate issue, I got the texture and added an alpha to it and even though it's got a bit of a framerate drop it's nothing serious. I'm still trying to figure this FS Particle Studio program out, thanks for linking me that.




Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1622
PostPosted: 02-11-2018 06:06 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@Dirge Inferno: I never actually understood the FS PArticle Studio. I was using a Quake 3 Arena Shader Editor first for shader creations, but now I prefer to write my shaders myself, using just a plain text editor with syntax highlihting (like Notepad++). With particles, I prefer to use regular repetitive shaders. I tend to use particles only when there's no other alternative, like sparkles of electricity or something similar...



_________________
[ Quake III Arena by CZghost | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Google+ ]
While you feel the worst ever, turn around facing to Sun and all shadows will pass behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group