Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        So I finally installed GtkRadiant to my computer


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: So I finally installed GtkRadiant to my computer

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1710
PostPosted: 08-13-2019 10:04 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Well, I finally installed GtkRadiant 1.6.6 to my computer, after so much time since last HDD wipe. I found out I have forgotten backups on my external HDD for movies (not anymore) and on my flash pen drive. Lucky me :D



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1710
PostPosted: 08-13-2019 10:17 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Okay, this is very old backup :D



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 520
PostPosted: 08-13-2019 12:36 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


After many years I've returned to Quake 3 as well and even started playing around a bit. It was a pain getting everything running the way I want to, but it's all good now. Who knows what might happen :)



_________________
Inf - Leaving in it's torturous wake nothing but vicious, cannabalistic, mutated, radiated and horribly disfigured hordes of satanic killers!


Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1710
PostPosted: 08-14-2019 12:33 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Yes. I want to continue with creation of my map Schöna. I really need to finish the map, so I have to continue in creation. However, I am glad that my backups of the map are older, because I can actually make some significant changes I wanted to do much earlier, which means I'd have to restructure the map so much. Older backup made it easier. However, I'll have to restructure the textures directory system to better reflect what these textures actually are.



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 520
PostPosted: 08-15-2019 01:20 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


How far are you?



_________________
Inf - Leaving in it's torturous wake nothing but vicious, cannabalistic, mutated, radiated and horribly disfigured hordes of satanic killers!


Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1710
PostPosted: 08-16-2019 12:15 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I'm currently in state of troubleshooting the game itself. Cannot launch it, not after I tried to tweak the compatibility settings and not even after I cleared them all. I tried to tweak compatibility settings because my Windows DPI scale is set to 125%, since my Full HD viewport (1920x1080) is compressed to 17" display, so the pixels resolution is higher and therefore with 100% settings the fonts would be too small. 125% is optimal settings. However, old apps are scaled up, including old games, so Quake 3 doesn't show up correctly (portion of screen is hidden beyond viewport), so I wanted to tweak it up.



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 520
PostPosted: 08-16-2019 02:39 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Are you using vanilla Quake 3 or the Quake Live version on Steam?



_________________
Inf - Leaving in it's torturous wake nothing but vicious, cannabalistic, mutated, radiated and horribly disfigured hordes of satanic killers!


Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1710
PostPosted: 08-16-2019 05:17 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Vanilla.



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12294
PostPosted: 08-16-2019 12:35 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote




_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 520
PostPosted: 08-16-2019 04:37 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


obsidian wrote:
https://ioquake3.org/


This! Just download and install it. All you need to do is copy the necessary pak files from your disc or Steam folder and you are good to go. Also, if you have a high resolution monitor, use this mod for the GUI. Also here's a complete guide on how to do everything.



_________________
Inf - Leaving in it's torturous wake nothing but vicious, cannabalistic, mutated, radiated and horribly disfigured hordes of satanic killers!


Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1710
PostPosted: 08-16-2019 11:15 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


obsidian wrote:
https://ioquake3.org/

I already know about ioQuake3. But in past I had an issue that the screen was too dark and console was kind of buggy. I suspect it will be buggy this time, too. So I didn't use it. It worked before, why it wouldn't work again?



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 520
PostPosted: 08-17-2019 05:23 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


CZghost wrote:
obsidian wrote:
https://ioquake3.org/

It worked before, why it wouldn't work again?


That's the same as saying my car worked before, why doesn't it work now :D



_________________
Inf - Leaving in it's torturous wake nothing but vicious, cannabalistic, mutated, radiated and horribly disfigured hordes of satanic killers!


Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1710
PostPosted: 08-17-2019 07:16 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Nono. I mean it worked before HDD wipe. After I wiped HDD (loong before) and finally installed it, it doesn't work now.



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group