Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Sort of new map: House of Dissent CTF


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Sort of new map: House of Dissent CTF

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 43213
PostPosted: 02-06-2020 12:23 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Once in a while I get this urge to do something creative. Sometimes, the creative outlet for that turns out to be Quake 3. The past few years that has been EntityPlus maps. After each map I do, I kind of tell myself: this is the last, it's too much of an investment (in time) for too little return. I find, however, that mapping for Quake 3 can be a very relaxing way to spend my time, so for some reason I keep getting pulled back to it. (edit: to be clear, this is a QUAKE III ARENA map, not a Quake Live map)

So I found myself working on a new EntityPlus map again. This release, however, is not that. After pouring quite a bit of time into it, and sort of hitting a creative brick wall, I felt like doing something that required less thinking. I decided to make a CTF map. I didn't want to think about layout or having to go through those difficult first planning stage steps so I also decided to take one of my existing DM maps and see if I could turn that into a CTF map. I took ermap4 (House of Dissent), which was apt because I had also converted it into an EntityPlus map last year.

I copied, mirrored and glued the map to itself, retextured where necessary (for the red/blue color schemes) and did some rebuilding for a central area. The end result is a map that's not exactly the best map in the world. It's a bit large. A bit chunky. A bit difficult. But it's still sorta fun. I know no one will play it, certainly not online, but I don't care. The building process was fun and relaxing. That's basically what this was all about.

The mandatory screenshots:
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

And the download link:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/6ny5pomt71re6 ... f.zip?dl=1

And now I have to somehow get the creative juices flowing again for my EntityPlus map :)




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 305
PostPosted: 02-09-2020 07:32 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@Eraser

Fecking awesome map dude!!! This is going straight in my CTF rotation. I love the use of the traditional Q3 texture set with a few enhancements as well. It plays really well. Get this in the Lvlworld queue so I can write a proper review for it.

Edit: Nevermind, saw it was in the queue already. Review submitted.

Regards
Ian AKA FoRa!



_________________
My Maps: Steep Learning Curve, Reckless Abandonment, The Rage, The Immortal Coil


Top
                 

Just another Earthling
Just another Earthling
Joined: 20 Jul 2001
Posts: 11958
PostPosted: 02-11-2020 03:23 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I am downloading and going to give this a go Eraser. I was looking for something different so thank you.

I must also go back to Lvlworld for a lookie so thank you to foralarx2k3 for the nudge :)

Edit: Yes, days later downloaded both game types and thoroughly enjoyed the run about Eraser :up:



_________________
Hit my WWW and make the world spin :D


Last edited by Whiskey 7 on 02-15-2020 11:08 PM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 40
PostPosted: 02-13-2020 11:04 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


A nice map (a bit too big for my game mode on the server) but generally and so flies to the map rotation. Before entering I had a mistake (probably lack of respaw), after changing gametype everything works. I do not know if on ordinary TDM or some of your own (mod excessiceplus) will work. We'll see :-)




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 43213
PostPosted: 02-14-2020 12:36 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


For FFA and TDM there's the original version.




Top
                 

True Nightmare
True Nightmare
Joined: 16 Nov 1999
Posts: 4061
PostPosted: 02-14-2020 12:28 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Super classic look... takes me back. :-) Looking forward to trying it out.




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 40
PostPosted: 02-14-2020 01:46 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I didn't know the original version of the map, thanks for the info. :-)




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 43213
PostPosted: 02-16-2020 03:57 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote





Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 34362
PostPosted: 02-21-2020 10:17 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


the aesthetic is pure old school Q3, nothing out of place...

...except the clock, which has overtones of train station about it :dts:

i get you need to break up the wall of the tower but imho a demonic head md3 would look better and not break the mood




Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2174
PostPosted: 02-23-2020 04:34 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


How does the bots perform here Eraser? I will not be able to test the level until tomorrow evening so.



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 40
PostPosted: 02-23-2020 09:33 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I was looking at some of the map from the "Eraser" page and on one map called "State Prison 36 / rjldm3.pk3" there is a shadow on the ground from the windmill on the ceiling. I read somewhere that the original quake 3 does not have a moving shadow and light, so how is it possible that this map has a moving shadow on the ground? Is it just a changed "shader" file from the original quake 3 windmill file? Very cool (realistic) effect that I wanted to use in my map.




Attachments:
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 248.04 KB | Viewed 346 times ]
Top
                 

Mercenary
Mercenary
Joined: 15 Feb 2010
Posts: 244
PostPosted: 02-23-2020 06:38 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


It's not a real shadow, just an animated effect. You have to place this by hand on your desired surface.

Check out q3dm5, there is a similar effect on the ceiling above the two fans. The Q3 stock shader is: "textures/sfx/fanfx" and is meant to be placed direct behind fans.
Erasers shader looks a bit more transparent than the stock one. (better for far surfaces)

And don't forgot to place some kind of a light source behind the fan, to make it realistic. ;)



_________________
Q3A Maps - by sst13
Quake Live Workshop


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 43213
PostPosted: 02-24-2020 02:13 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
How does the bots perform here Eraser? I will not be able to test the level until tomorrow evening so.

The bots play the map well enough to have a decent game against them. They heavily favor a single route to the other flag though, so once you figure that out you know that by evading that route, capturing the flag becomes a little easier. There are quite a few spawnpoints throughout the map though, and any bots that spawn away from that preferred route do navigate the other routes pretty well though, so it's still a fairly decent game you're getting out of it.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 43213
PostPosted: 02-24-2020 02:18 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Fruity wrote:
I was looking at some of the map from the "Eraser" page and on one map called "State Prison 36 / rjldm3.pk3" there is a shadow on the ground from the windmill on the ceiling. I read somewhere that the original quake 3 does not have a moving shadow and light, so how is it possible that this map has a moving shadow on the ground? Is it just a changed "shader" file from the original quake 3 windmill file? Very cool (realistic) effect that I wanted to use in my map.


I didn't make the map (my brother did), but I do know that, like sst13 said, it's a shader that has the effect on it.
There's also a room with a flickering light effect. It actually looks like some kind of dynamic light effect, but obviously it's not. All textures in the room are shaders that have a brighter stage (layer) that flickers on and off.




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 40
PostPosted: 02-24-2020 11:32 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


There is actually one room from the flashing "burnt light bulb", a great effect, like in quake 4.




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 25 Mar 2000
Posts: 9952
PostPosted: 02-27-2020 11:08 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Looks good, I agree, a very classic look. Reminds me of the good old days. I get urges to do some q3 mapping every once in a while but I'll be damned if I can ever find time. Last time I loaded up Radiant, all the hotkeys came back to me within about 10 minutes. I used to spend fucking hours doing that stuff.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 43213
PostPosted: 02-28-2020 12:42 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Yeah, it's weird. Radiant's hotkeys are a mess but it's like riding a bicycle. It all comes back in a few minutes.




Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 34362
PostPosted: 02-28-2020 01:03 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


so i guess you're keeping the clock then




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group