Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Using q3map_fur for grass?


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Using q3map_fur for grass?

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 6
PostPosted: 03-09-2005 05:48 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Has anybody actually tried using q3map2's fur shader to make grass and succeeded?

I've read the shader manual but sadly that section is not yet complete :icon23:




Top
                 

visual prowess
visual prowess
Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Posts: 1254
PostPosted: 03-09-2005 06:11 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


If i'm not mistaken someone made a ctf map a while aho that used a fur shader as grass, although the map when like 10 FPS, it looked kick ass, I forget the map name however. :icon32:

The map has all these crazy slides, loop -de -loops, that ran through the whole map, if anyone knows the map i'm talking about whats the name of it! :icon25:

Edit: I think the maps name was "resumilctf1" or something along those lines. Either that or I could be totally wrong.




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 41
PostPosted: 03-09-2005 07:28 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Sorry about the shader manual. I've been working on the other sections.

Here's the shader and screenshot taken from ydnar's fur test map. You should be able to figure the rest out.

Image

Code:
// ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
// base texture
// ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

textures/fur/pink_base
{
   q3map_cloneshader textures/fur/pink_fur
   
   {
      map $lightmap
   }
   {
      map textures/fur/pink_base.tga
      blendFunc GL_DST_COLOR GL_ZERO
   }
}



// ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
// fur texture
// ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

textures/fur/pink_fur
{
   q3map_lightimage textures/fur/pink_fur.q3map.tga
   
   q3map_notjunc
   q3map_nonplanar
   q3map_bounce 0.0
   q3map_shadeangle 120
   
   // format: q3map_fur <layers> <offset> <fade>
   q3map_fur 8 1.25 0.1
   
   surfaceparm trans
   surfaceparm pointlight
   surfaceparm alphashadow
   surfaceparm nonsolid
   surfaceparm noimpact
   
   // cull none
   nomipmaps
   
   {
      map textures/fur/pink_fur.tga
      //alphaFunc GE128
      blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA
      rgbGen vertex
   }
}



_________________
Q3Map2 | Shader Manual | Wiki Manual


Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 15 Dec 2000
Posts: 2297
PostPosted: 03-09-2005 10:03 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I made some test maps using 1 or 2 layers of fur for Enemy Territory, to be mixed with the q3map_foliage models. It looked OK, but was an FPS killer in the end.

I used alphaFunc, and not blendFunc for best performance.

I imagine with q3map_alphaMod terrain, you could have q3map_fur on top of that, or at least q3map_cloneShader to push a single layer of "grass" above it with q3map_tcMod scale.

y




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
© ZeniMax. Zenimax, QUAKE III ARENA, Id Software and associated trademarks are trademarks of the ZeniMax group of companies. All rights reserved.
This is an unofficial fan website without any affiliation with or endorsement by ZeniMax.
All views and opinions expressed are those of the author.