Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Noob modding question

Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Noob modding question

Warrior
Warrior
PostPosted: 04-14-2005 08:27 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote

Yeah, I'm a modding noob. I basically wanted to do a generic admin type of thing.. I was thinking I'd model it after rcon but I can't find anything at all about rcon in the code except some mentions of the "sv_rconpassword" cmd. Anybody wanna tell me where too look for that? In addition, is this remotely how an admin mod is created? Or do most modders create a completely independant module for the admin thingy? Like I was going to just put all my admin commands right next to all the rcon cmds, but I can't find any. Where are kick and ban defined?

Basically I was looking for some reference within the source for my admin thingy and I couldn't find it at all. Helpz plz.

Mentor
Mentor
PostPosted: 04-15-2005 04:44 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote

The rcon stuff is dealt with from within the engine, the part you as a mod coder don't have access too. Same goes for kicks and bans[1]. For an admin mod, you would just add your commands to g_svcmds.c.

[1] Some parts of a ban are processed in g_svcmds.c too.

Warrior
Warrior
PostPosted: 04-16-2005 10:56 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote

K, thx.

1 more nub Q. I think I've defined a game cvar... Hah. I just can't figure out how the strings and stuff work, and how I can compare it to client cvars. Any one wanna help?

Warrior
Warrior
PostPosted: 05-07-2005 04:57 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote

Hey how do I create a command? Like how can I define a command so that it is not "unknown?" I've been screwing around with g_cmds.c and stuff, but I can't figure it out.