GTKradiant - Tips
Page 2 of 2

Author:  AEon [ 02-20-2010 12:40 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

I am not much of an expert concerning the wiki code used out there, but wikia definitely looks more "primitive" than the original wikipedia code I have been editing elsewhere. Hope we can get the "proper" wikipedia code going.

Since I actually wrote several macros for the other wiki, we could probably use those right away here as well. Anyway, I should be able to convert the Q4 FAQ and the other stickies I edited for the wiki. Might even write a small php parser that converts UBB to Wiki code.

(Hopefully... I seem to be *very* lazy presently... spring tiredness maybe ("Frühjahrsmüdigkeit")?)

Author:  Dark Metal [ 02-20-2010 07:16 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

AEon you lazy prick, get to work.

Author:  AEon [ 02-20-2010 09:10 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

Once a wikipedia is running on q3w, I'll look into it.

Author:  obsidian [ 02-20-2010 07:05 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

I think we've found an apprentice for DooMer on the Art of Laziness.

Author:  Theftbot [ 02-24-2010 05:11 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

Where do you find out mapping info like player height width crouch height, also max entities brusher ect ect.

Author:  Johnny Law [ 02-26-2010 07:23 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

The BSPC readme has some info about player dimensions/behavior. Online version available here: http://www.shadowspawn.net/content/game ... ot_dev.htm -- search down to the "Physics" section.

Dunno about the other stuff you asked.

Author:  Theftbot [ 02-26-2010 10:32 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

Thx Johnny

Author:  obsidian [ 03-06-2010 09:57 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

You can check out the Q3 source files for more info. Some of it on discussion here:

Author:  Theftbot [ 04-05-2010 12:28 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

Does q3 compile maps to the resolution of 1/8th grid, or does it do like q2-seemingly rounding it to the nearest grid point?

Author:  obsidian [ 04-05-2010 05:14 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

It'll do 1/8th grid or even smaller (in the case of models), but it's generally not a good idea to step into something that small since it'll affect vis, bots and a number of other things. The only thing that I use on a smaller than 1 grid scale is decals, which are essentially nonsolid, detail objects.

Author:  Theftbot [ 05-18-2010 09:58 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

Is there a equivalent of q2's func_wall where you can target it to appear/reappear(remove/restore)?

Author:  obsidian [ 05-19-2010 06:56 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

Func_static. Though it has limitations. It is only affected by gameplay type, there is no way to trigger it in game. It also affects bots so they can't be large gameplay affecting brushes.

However, you can probably do something creative with func_doors and some clever triggers.

Author:  UglyFoot [ 08-11-2011 08:13 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

I know a trick about texturing, if you want to copy the surface parameters of one face to another you can select the face which you want to change the parameters and then the face with the right parameters, after this you have to do and undo some change in the surface window.

About Shift+A, I realized that GtkRadiant 1.5 doesn't search a texture of a selected face, instead it searchs the selected texture.

Author:  sir_vival [ 08-18-2012 11:38 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

Where is the translator tool in GtkRadiant-1.6-20120520

Author:  Rioshi [ 09-16-2013 05:46 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

Guys, is it possible to reassign "middle mouse button drag" to "pan view" function?
I often use both 3DSMax and GTKRadiant and every time I confuse MMBD and RMBD in both applications: perform a RMBD in Max (leads to a drag across right click menu) and a MMBD in Radiant (leads to a strange angles of the camera in camera view) :dork:

Author:  Ariepio [ 06-16-2014 03:51 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

AEon wrote:
About the proper use of Region?
Presently it is becoming very clear that I have to use the GTKradiant Region command (here for v1.4) to let me more quickly change/test/fix the lighting, the full map compiles simply take far too long (light 800+s).

It seems you can select a area via brush in top/down (XY) view, then via Region menu, Set Tall Brush, everything covered by the brush is left *in* the map, turning the current file into a .reg file. You should then be able to compile only this region via Bsp menu entry (e.g. one of the final settings). I also noted you should turn on BSP Monitoring in the Prefs (Enable BSP process monitoring, Stop compilation on leak, Run engine after compile all turned on).

Alas the compile using (Q3Map (ydnar) - v2.5.11 - I have 2.5.16 installed though), complains about
************ ERROR ************
LoadPortals: couldn't read D:/Games/Quake3/baseq3/maps/aedm7160.prt

What things do I need to properly (manually) set up to make in-editor compiles (GTKradiant v1.4) possible?

Any other Region tips?


Hi, I had the same problem about regions compiling recently, and I read the official GTKRadiant manual found nothing, no matter how many times I tried to adjust the map, it always come with the same compiling problem. Have you resovled the problem? Could you please tell me how to do the region compile?

Author:  Phobos Phosphor [ 11-04-2015 02:03 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

hi there!

Is tehre a possibility to quickly selecting the brushes via frame?
in the gtk 1.4 or 1.5 there was the possibility with SHIFT + LMB to make a selectionsframe, like in command and conquer and select every brush or entity in the 2d or 3d viewport.

greetings: Phobos

Author:  AndyW [ 11-04-2015 03:00 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

Just create a brush that covers the stuff you want to select and click "select inside" in the main toolbar. (left button next to CSG Substract)
Hope this helps

Author:  Gustavo6046 [ 11-04-2015 09:57 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

That's how I replicated the bases in GUSQ3CTF3. I am planning to the next CTF map to be Asymmetry however...

Author:  Phobos Phosphor [ 11-05-2015 08:24 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

Well, on GTK Radiant 1.4 the problem will also appear. afaik, i didnt hat the problem wenn i used 2 screens for the editor, but with 4 screens, there will be a problem with rightclicking in the 3d window too.
i've tested it now on my laptop, and the problem will also appear. thats really strange.

but thank you very much!

Author:  Gustavo6046 [ 11-05-2015 12:33 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

I only have a fucked laptop screen so sorry, I can't do much in that regard.

Author:  enapos [ 10-02-2016 11:03 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: GTKradiant - Tips

Hello everyone! I'm struggeling to open a .map (jk2) file on OS X. Can someone explain me how I can make this work on OS X??? Also JK2 is for some reason not choosable as game, and I installed it with steam...

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group