Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        new hi res q3 texture pak on the way


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: new hi res q3 texture pak on the way

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 14
PostPosted: 05-26-2010 07:05 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hi guys,
Just wanted to give you a peak at what Ive been working on. I know others have done this but I wanted to do my own version of a hi res texture pak for Q3. They are not resized - apply filter jobs, they are made from scratch. So far 99% of the base textures are completed, I'll be doing the Gothic textures over the coming months. Some of the original textures are true pieces of art and to reproduce them faithfully is a lotta man hours. In these cases I have tried to do some justice to the original, but I don't claim to be an artist. I'll try to have a pk3 available in the next few months.
Cheers,
kpax

http://www.xcsv.net/hires/
DOWNLOAD XCSV HIRES TEXTURES



_________________
http://www.xcsv.net/hires/
Download


Last edited by Paulomars on 08-25-2010 05:55 AM, edited 2 times in total.

Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12304
PostPosted: 05-26-2010 07:59 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Nice work. Only advice is to use less of the bevel&emboss features of Photoshop since it tends to look too obviously like the, well... bevel&emboss filter. Instead, try painting them in and maybe play around with the layer blending modes.

You may want to get in touch with "speaker" of Q3Min. He and his team has been working on a lot of Q3 replacement textures under a GPL.

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=41813



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 14
PostPosted: 05-26-2010 08:29 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


thanks!! you're right about the bevnemboss filter, but to paint them in will probably take me too long, but I'll give it a try :)



_________________
http://www.xcsv.net/hires/
Download


Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Posts: 54
PostPosted: 05-26-2010 11:42 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Wow. Nice work. I could need a texture artist for my Q3Rally Mod. ;-)



_________________
http://www.per-thormann.de/


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Posts: 308
PostPosted: 05-26-2010 01:22 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I must agree with Obsidian. It is good work, but it looks really VERY like photoshop-made. Textures have not deep plasticity and I think they are not better than original textures. I don't want to demotivate you, because material side of your work is excellent, but it really need more painting and playing with more Photoshop features.




Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 14
PostPosted: 05-26-2010 07:00 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Well like i already said Noruen - I'm not an artist and I simply don't have time to lovingly paint each one, and thats only 12 of the 250+ I have already made, which has taken me more than 300 hours. I totally agree that some are not better than the originals - particularly the more detailed ones. You haven't de-motivated me, so don't worry - my aim is to have a legal distributable texture set for my own mod, plus I just enjoy doing it. I'll eventually post some more of the basic (non-bevely) ones that perhaps don't look VERY like photoshop-made. ;)



_________________
http://www.xcsv.net/hires/
Download


Top
                 

Timed Out
Timed Out
Joined: 02 Aug 2000
Posts: 37903
PostPosted: 05-26-2010 09:38 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Those look excellent, nice work!

Any timescale for a release? Not sure if anything would stop you releasing early then updating over time...




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42590
PostPosted: 05-26-2010 10:37 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Can you simply replace the textures with higher res ones? Aren't the texture alignments and scaling all messed up then?




Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 05-27-2010 12:03 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


You can't drag and drop without some form of code that says "hey, keep the scales!" last time I checked... But I'm not sure. Its possible that the map keeps the texture coords and scales intact and you can just replace them.

If it doesn't you have two choices. One is that you make a small mod that does this. The other is that every texture gets a material with new scale settings, that match the original dimensions.

On the actual textures, I can't say I'm sold Paul. Some are ok but others are so far away from the original and use so many cheap photoshop bevel and lighting tricks they don't really look better. Remember that if you do any form of re-texture project you will need to take the original texture and get its "base shapes" first. This means making the original texture the scale you want the retexture to be, defining shapes in it, and remaking them. Otherwise, you will find a lot of maps will suddenly stop working nice because the small trim they used off oen texture is now the wrong scale.

One of the reasons retextures are a bitch. :p I know, trust me :p

I did do a couple of Q3 ones but they used normal/diffuse/specular so wont be much good here.




Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 14
PostPosted: 05-27-2010 05:26 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


the map keeps the scale of the textures, and it definitely works. O'd - I know exactly what you mean, and thats how I've done some of the more intricate ones.

Foo - thanks! I reckon it will be 2-3 months yet before I have a worthy release. As I said, my aim is to be able to release them freely with my mod. Well actually its a standalone game, not a mod, which is the reason for doing this so that 3rd party maps wont have missing textures. :)

some screenies here of them in game.
http://www.extremedivision.org/compare/ximages/screens/



_________________
http://www.xcsv.net/hires/
Download


Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Posts: 54
PostPosted: 05-27-2010 06:00 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Looks good. Will the textures be GPL´ed?



_________________
http://www.per-thormann.de/


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 26 Nov 2009
Posts: 339
PostPosted: 05-27-2010 06:24 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


The texture for the t4 floor doesn't fit. The original looks darker and well... more comicish.




Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 14
PostPosted: 05-27-2010 07:33 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Perle - yep they will be GPL'ed when theyre ready :)



_________________
http://www.xcsv.net/hires/
Download


Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Posts: 54
PostPosted: 05-27-2010 10:42 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Sounds great.



_________________
http://www.per-thormann.de/


Top
                 

Veteran
Veteran
Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 194
PostPosted: 05-28-2010 08:42 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Try to smooth the sharp lines in the textures. As Bliccer said, Quake has this comicish style in some way. Try to blur some lines (just minor enhancements of course, don't sponge them to death). That would make them more eye friendly and soft like the original ones are.
Then there was one issue with this shiny tiling chrome textures (don't know what picture is was right now, the link seems to be broken). There is one bright spot on them which is really, really mean when it comes to tiling.

But keep up the work! You should offer your help to the Open Arena Mod, these guys would surely be pleased with this.



_________________
Portfolio - My German Quake 3 Tutorials - My Quake 3 maps


Top
                 

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks
Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 1005
PostPosted: 05-28-2010 08:56 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Oh hi DaEngineer!



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 14
PostPosted: 05-29-2010 03:40 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


DaEngineer - thanks for the feedback, I've been reworking a few of them and trying to get a more painted feel, but its hard going. Each time I do one though, I learn a bit more so I think they will improve :) Sorry the link is down, gotta pay my server :puke: , will be back up later.



_________________
http://www.xcsv.net/hires/
Download


Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 12
PostPosted: 06-08-2010 07:24 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Excellent work ! Thank you !



_________________
"I was always convinced that tricks in Defrag movies are simple. Until I tried myself, I realized this was wrong."

| What is Defrag ? | How to install Defrag | Create Account | Maps | Communities |


Top
                 

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 1
PostPosted: 06-09-2010 01:36 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Paulomars, DaEngineer already mentioned the OpenArena project which has the same aim for the 0.9.0 release as you: 100% hi-res GPLv2 textures. The process goes slow, so far I finished every texture in q3ctf4 [link] and I started working on q3dm17, but it wasn't finished [link]. And recently another OA mod was started with the same texture replacement goal and with the aim of going standalone [link].

So far all the replacement projects are one-man shows (I have contact with Marco, who's making the oaUN mod graphics), but we have the same goals and licenses. So may I suggest joining the efforts in making one superb quality and trusted GPLv2 (the Q3Min textures are low quality and the sources are fishy) pack! I don't know your workflow, but both OA and oaUn textures are made with GIMP and all the .XCF source files are available. If you work with Photoshop that's not a problem, but it would be cool if you could share the .PSD files (GPL requires some source files).

Also if you want to make a mod and later make it standalone, you should consider joining OA (which has a different style and does not support competitive gaming) or the oaUnofficial project (which makes a lot of effort supporting CPMA and QL features). I've also read that Q3Min's development will be continued. That's already a lot of projects to choose from :).




Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 12
PostPosted: 06-10-2010 01:14 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Udi: I just want to add that GPLv2 textures will be used in Defrag Standalone. This will be great thing for all people who come from QL and want to do some tricks.

Pls merge you efforts into one project - it will server q3 community much more.



_________________
"I was always convinced that tricks in Defrag movies are simple. Until I tried myself, I realized this was wrong."

| What is Defrag ? | How to install Defrag | Create Account | Maps | Communities |


Top
                 

Who's that man, Mommy?
Who's that man, Mommy?
Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 5152
PostPosted: 06-15-2010 05:20 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Paulomars wrote:


the reflection on the trim texture on shot 65 looks wrong.




Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 14
PostPosted: 06-19-2010 05:40 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Udi, you are right, but I'm getting pretty close to completion now. There are just over 1000 textures in the set if memory serves, and I'm at about 850. What I will do is finish them all and then let you guys use what you want from it to make a GPLv2 pak. Feel free to msn me on mr_paul_m@hotmail.co.uk to talk about it. I want to include mine in my project. I already have a project that is standalone and 95% complete, but its not ready for release yet, so I wont be needing OA.

I really like your atech texture on dm17 - that one really gave me headaches!

Rather than do them on a map by map basis, my approach is folder by folder. Currently working on Gothic_Trims - heres a few new ones I did in the last few days. I'll eventually be releasing the PSD files as well but its a lot of uploading to do, and they are totally not organised :D

Image

Image

Image

Image



_________________
http://www.xcsv.net/hires/
Download


Last edited by Paulomars on 08-02-2010 01:22 PM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 14
PostPosted: 06-19-2010 05:42 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Pext wrote:
Paulomars wrote:


the reflection on the trim texture on shot 65 looks wrong.


its possible that the env map it uses wants a tweak in brightness/contrast, but thats tidy up stuff I will do at the end when I can walk around the maps and look for anything that seems wrong.



_________________
http://www.xcsv.net/hires/
Download


Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12304
PostPosted: 06-19-2010 10:06 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I love that rusty metal panel texture. Really well done! Is that paint chip look photo sourced or did you somehow paint that. If the latter, could you share your technique?



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 14
PostPosted: 06-19-2010 12:21 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Its photo sourced, tweaked and overlayed Obsid - sorry, no secret technique to it. It looks really gnarly with a Hard light on it.



_________________
http://www.xcsv.net/hires/
Download


Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 06-19-2010 02:51 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I really like that rusted plate too. Except for the bolts in it... but the plate itself looks very nice!
And I think you can distinguish the sections around the metal a bit better, maybe make it some other metal or some crete... or just make it a bit darker...



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 05 Mar 2010
Posts: 354
PostPosted: 07-06-2010 10:48 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Sounds impressive... but why don't any of your links work for me?




Top
                 

clueless
clueless
Joined: 02 Feb 2006
Posts: 571
PostPosted: 07-13-2010 09:53 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


It's not just you - it's gone it seems.

@Paulomars: Where to?



_________________
my FPS maps


Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 14
PostPosted: 07-15-2010 11:44 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


sorry guys, had site trouble and move servers.
http://www.xcsv.net/hires/



_________________
http://www.xcsv.net/hires/
Download


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 26 Nov 2009
Posts: 339
PostPosted: 07-26-2010 01:54 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


OMG. That's f***ing awesome. Haven't seen them since my post. But what I see now ingame is... just wow. Speechless.
Especially those jumppads. Yummy!




Top
                 

clueless
clueless
Joined: 02 Feb 2006
Posts: 571
PostPosted: 07-30-2010 06:24 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Looks like I missed them again, link's also dead now.



_________________
my FPS maps


Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12304
PostPosted: 07-30-2010 07:01 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Is his web server sitting somewhere in Albania in the back of a shed hooked up to a generator powered by a donkey chasing a dangling withered up carrot?



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 28 Apr 2008
Posts: 527
PostPosted: 07-30-2010 08:28 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Almost got it, obsidian. It's TWO donkeys, to minimise the chance of server lacks if one donkey should actually get his carrot.



_________________
If you are caught on a golf course during a storm and are afraid of lightning, hold up a 1-iron. Not even God can hit a 1-iron.
-Lee Trevino, golfer who actually has been struck by lightning.


Top
                 

clueless
clueless
Joined: 02 Feb 2006
Posts: 571
PostPosted: 07-30-2010 09:58 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Albania? I thought donkey was in Singapore or something?



_________________
my FPS maps


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 283
PostPosted: 07-30-2010 10:04 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


404 Not Found




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group