Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        On the Edge [Alpha] [QL]


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: On the Edge [Alpha] [QL]

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 05 Mar 2010
Posts: 374
PostPosted: 12-31-2010 03:19 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


On the Edge - Remake of "The Edge" for QUAKE LIVE
Inspired by the fact that there's never been a worthy remake of the original, legendary map, this version is under development and planned to be the definitive remake of q2dm1 - it takes things further than any other version has gone: a complete remake of the original from scratch.

I'm hesitant to upload this here as you guys don't really come across as the type who are receptive of map remakes - or alpha versions for that matter, but I'll take my chances anyway!

This is my first map I've ever had a decent release version put together for, so go easy on me :P As I stated in the other thread, this map has a shiteload of errors - so if I achieved anything, it's a world record of map compilation errors! There's random brushes that I deleted before and don't show up in the editor, yet still compile. There's a leak spot that won't go away (the map is boxed up now, obviously not the ideal solution but it's my last resort). I regularly get random ass brushes duplicating themselves and I only notice when I load a bsp compile and see a whole bunch of zerbaing going on. Sometimes random blocks of terrain dissapear - they just dissapear! And don't get me started on the massive amounts of brushes that all-of-a-sudden get buggy vertex points!

Anyway, if you liked the original q2dm1 then give this a go:

Download:
On the Edge [Alpha V1]

Screenshots [thumbnails]:

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

More information on the issues as well as how to run the map are included in the text file.




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 16 Sep 2010
Posts: 390
PostPosted: 12-31-2010 03:30 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Like I said in IRC and on QL - it`s awesome! Much better than id`s remake "Winter`s Edge".

As for the leaks, it`s most likely that your area portals are not sealing up the areas they connect. You may want to check to make sure your areaportals span all the way to the edges of the doorways, and make sure there aren`t any gaps in the room to other ones that may need attention. You may also have detail brushes used as external geometry. You may wish to check the surfaceparms of external brushes (walls, ceilings, floors, etc.) and make sure they aren`t marked as "detail", this will also cause leaks.

I`m not sure about the other issue regarding buggy brushes.

Overall, an excellent effort and probably the best Edge remake out there. :up:



_________________
EmeraldProductions
http://emeraldproductions.weebly.com/index.html


Top
                 

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks
Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 1008
PostPosted: 12-31-2010 04:52 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Looks pimp, gj.



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 2472
PostPosted: 12-31-2010 06:24 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


looks nice, might wanna use phong shading on ya rocks tho




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 05 Mar 2010
Posts: 374
PostPosted: 12-31-2010 10:48 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


fKd wrote:
looks nice, might wanna use phong shading on ya rocks tho


It does have phong shading lol. But it didn't change it's appearance at all! Maybe the shadeangle needs adjusting? Here's the shaders for the 3 terrain textures:

Code:
// --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
// Terrain
// --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

textures/ontheedge/px01
{
   q3map_nonplanar
   q3map_shadeangle 60
   qer_editorimage textures/proto2/px01.tga
   {
      map $lightmap
      rgbGen identity
   }
   {
      map textures/proto2/px01.tga
      blendFunc filter
   }
}

textures/ontheedge/px02
{
   q3map_nonplanar
   q3map_shadeangle 60
   qer_editorimage textures/proto2/px02.tga
   {
      map $lightmap
      rgbGen identity
   }
   {
      map textures/proto2/px02.tga
      blendFunc filter
   }
}

textures/ontheedge/px03
{
   q3map_nonplanar
   q3map_shadeangle 60
   qer_editorimage textures/proto2/px03.tga
   {
      map $lightmap
      rgbGen identity
   }
   {
      map textures/proto2/px03.tga
      blendFunc filter
   }
}




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12445
PostPosted: 01-01-2011 08:32 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Try q3map_lightmapMergable



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 05 Mar 2010
Posts: 374
PostPosted: 01-01-2011 09:10 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Alright I'll give that a go thanks. Also, how do you refine shadows? I want them a whole lot less blocky than they are right now and I tried using light bounces but it takes a massive amount of time to compile.




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12445
PostPosted: 01-01-2011 09:26 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Gaussian blur/antialiasing of shadow edges:


Try samples first, it's a little smarter in that you don't get totally blobbed out shadows. q3map_lightmapFilterRadius looks best with conservatively smaller values.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 298
PostPosted: 01-01-2011 09:32 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


this looks beautiful. however, i would never play it compared to winter's edge, because winter's edge is a perfect match (by scale) to the q2 edge map. the distances between everything are perfect, which makes maneuvering a pleasure to do.




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 05 Mar 2010
Posts: 374
PostPosted: 01-01-2011 10:17 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@obsidian: Thanks, the shadowing is much better now! Still couldn't get phong shading to work though :/

@deqer: This will play like Winter's Edge and better in some places. It'll undergo quite a bit of rescaling to needed areas before beta release. Mega room and underground are priorities.




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12445
PostPosted: 01-02-2011 06:24 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Try increasing the shade angle. If you know for sure you want the entire thing phong shaded and no hard edges, use a value of 179.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 05 Mar 2010
Posts: 374
PostPosted: 01-02-2011 12:36 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Yeah that is the case. If I looked closely there were bits that were shaded, but overall most weren't. That's with shadeangle 90. I think I must go full-on 179 since it looks ridiculous semi-shaded. Thanks for the help!




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 298
PostPosted: 01-30-2011 11:45 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


what's going on with this? it's been 28 days... wth, where's the news? you have an ETA on your next release for this? you still waiting for more feedback or something?




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 05 Mar 2010
Posts: 374
PostPosted: 01-31-2011 10:47 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


deqer wrote:
what's going on with this? it's been 28 days... wth, where's the news? you have an ETA on your next release for this? you still waiting for more feedback or something?


Considering your recent posting frenzy, I can't quite figure out whether you're trolling or not. In any case, BETA v1 was released a couple weeks back. RC is coming in a few weeks time.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group