Quake3World.com
https://www.quake3world.com/forum/

Problem with aas compling
https://www.quake3world.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=46721
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Schuder [ 11-27-2011 02:19 PM ]
Post subject:  Problem with aas compling

I just started learning how to map and finished my first attempt and it runs fine now im trying to finalize it by adding the bot file. I have tried using BSPC-gui but every time i try to process the file this error comes up.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WARNING: no entities inside
**** leaked ****
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
here is the rest of the log if it helps.

BSPC version 1.7, Dec 22 1999 19:37:59 by Mr Elusive
bsp2aas: C:\Users\*****\Documents\Quake 3 Maps\tdm2\Tdm2.bsp to C:\Users\*****\Documents\Quake 3 Maps\tdm2\Tdm2.aas
-- Q3_LoadMapFromBSP --
Loading map from C:\Users\*****\Documents\Quake 3 Maps\tdm2\Tdm2.bsp...
creating planar surface planes...
searching visible brush sides...
0 brush sides0 brush sides textured out of 180
-------- Brush CSG ---------
58 original brushes
57 output brushes
-------- Brush BSP ---------
57 brushes
12 visible faces
0 nonvisible faces
342 total sides
Win32 multi-threading
1 threads max
depth first bsp building
25 splits
92 KB of peak total bsp memory
BSP tree created in 0 seconds
------- Prune Nodes --------
14 pruned nodes
---- Node Portalization ----
11 nodes portalized
0 tiny portals
2 KB of portal memory
41 KB of winding memory
------ FloodEntities -------
WARNING: no entities inside
**** leaked ****

Author:  fKd [ 11-27-2011 02:37 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

ok, in gtk goto the build menu and click bsp -meta. this will error saying ya map has leaked (it means somewhere on ya map the hull is not sealed) a red line will be draw in ya viewports pointing to where its leaking. seal it up and try a recompile. hope this helps

Author:  Schuder [ 11-27-2011 02:48 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

I am pretty sure there are no leaks in my map since I went through that process and it loaded just fine. Just to be sure though i did what you said and it still loaded fine. Thanks for trying to help.
I read, on multiple websites, that compiling without a frontend application (like BSPC-gui) and doing it through command prompt is the best way to compile .bsp to .aas but I havent a clue how to do that.

Author:  obsidian [ 11-27-2011 03:07 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

Any error messages while compiling -bsp and -vis stages? Make sure you have a spawn point in your map somewhere.


To create a batch file, use a text editor and create a new file called aas.bat, in it place the following text (changing as necessary):

"C:\Program Files\Path\To\bspc.exe" -bsp2aas "C:\Games\Quake3\baseq3\maps\mymap.bsp" -forcesidesvisible -optimize -reach

Author:  Schuder [ 11-27-2011 03:45 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

Well the error is when i was trying to generate the .aas from the .bsp. I will certainly try the batch file way and post my results. Thank you for helping

Author:  fKd [ 11-27-2011 04:39 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

also be sure that no entities are outside in the void, also causes trouble

Author:  Schuder [ 11-27-2011 06:06 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

Ok, Once I have the batch file then what do I do with it?. Sorry I'm not really familiar with this.

Author:  Takkie [ 11-27-2011 10:05 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

double-click it.
Start it lika an executable...

Author:  skinNCNmaster [ 12-29-2011 10:17 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

similar problem guys...

im trying to run this line:

Code:
"C:\Program Files\Quake_III_Arena\bspc.exe" -bsp2aas "C:\Program_Files\Quake_III_Arena\baseq3

\maps\gregyptctf3.bsp" -reach -cluster -aasopt -optimize -breadthfirst -forcesidesvisible -breadthfirst


but bspc says it cant find my map file....

its been a while since ive ad to deal with aas files, can anyone point out where im missing the crucial piece of information here?

the map is at that path
bspc is the latest and also at the path stated...
yes yet when run bspc says no file found.

help pz

Author:  Eraser [ 12-29-2011 02:15 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

-aasopt takes a .aas file as input. So compile the .aas first, then run bspc with the aasopt switch on the aas file.

Author:  skinNCNmaster [ 12-29-2011 02:42 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

oh woops, ok i removed that from the bat file string and tried again and it still says file not found for the bsp

Author:  monaster [ 12-29-2011 05:52 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

@Skinny: Most probably because you have "Program Files" as well as "Program_Files" written ;)

Author:  skinNCNmaster [ 12-29-2011 06:24 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

lol fixed that too and it still dont work..

Author:  monaster [ 12-29-2011 06:30 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

Is there a space between "baseq3" and "\maps\gregyptctf3.bsp"? Also I tend to have the forcesidevisible optimize asf directly after the "C:\Program Files\Quake_III_Arena\bspc" part (don't need to specifically use the exe extension after bspc, but be sure to check the space thing; sound silly but it's astonishing how often errors like that hinder someone to complete one's work.

Author:  skinmaster [ 12-30-2011 06:52 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

turns out i had the folder set to read only...

ad your right about order

heres the final compile string which worked
Code:
bspc -reach -cluster -breadthfirst -forcesidesvisible -breadthfirst -optimize -bsp2aas "C:\Program files\Quake III Arena\baseq3\maps\gregyptctf3.bsp"

Author:  coltonquake3 [ 03-30-2016 12:18 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

breadthfirst doesn't need to be set twice skinmaster. Only once does the trick.

Author:  obsidian [ 03-30-2016 03:39 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

Thanks for bumping a thread from five years ago. :dork:

Author:  Hipshot [ 03-31-2016 03:24 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with aas compling

What is -breadthfirst anyway?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/