Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Screenshots


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 06-11-2005 06:43 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
Fjoggs, that is amazing! Love the floor and the angle of the wall behind!

btw, ALOT of screens, but I dont have time to paste 'em here right now, check:
http://forum.sweclockers.com/showthread ... did=468936


That looks fantastic dude, nice job. Can really see how it came from CS 1.6 to CS:S, and it looks great for it. Really good grab of detail :icon14:

EDIT: Wow, just noticed the old CS 1.6 sky box and maps... God damn, back then we used to think they prolly looked great, heh... The cars were boxes lol!! Fantastic!

I love engine updates! :p




Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 06-13-2005 01:00 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Nice cole visual style you have there. May I make a suggestion?

Fog.

Not oodles of it, not at all. But just a tiny amount of fog, just enough to show up a tad in that screen. It will give a really nice effect.




Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 06-13-2005 01:42 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote





Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 06-13-2005 01:52 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Seeing as Quake 2 can't do curves, I think that pipe looks okish :p




Top
                 

NOT OK
NOT OK
Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1017
PostPosted: 06-13-2005 01:35 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hey o'dium, do you know anything about q2 modeling? Not the actual modeling, but pretty much the rest of it? I am pretty sure you do. You must be very well versed in anything q2.



_________________
Image


Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 06-14-2005 01:45 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Lenard wrote:
Hey o'dium, do you know anything about q2 modeling? Not the actual modeling, but pretty much the rest of it? I am pretty sure you do. You must be very well versed in anything q2.


Quake 2 modeling? Its pretty much the same as any other type of modeling, what is it you need to know?

ATM i'm working with md3, which is Quake 3's format, instead of MD2. MD2 has a really poor compression, so that anything complex and moving will wobble like jelly, not very good at all. We use MD3 because the compression is better. Soon, we will be using md5 and md5anim, doom 3 like animation and model files. Then onto physics etc.




Top
                 

NOT OK
NOT OK
Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1017
PostPosted: 06-14-2005 02:55 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Yeah q2e never really worked for me. There were always some.. issues with it and I couldn't get the fixes because none of the links on the sight worked.

What editor do you use for q2?



_________________
Image


Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 06-14-2005 07:46 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


GTK.

Q2E had a few issues but those were mostly becaue of ATI. Having fixed those issues and a few more, we released an update, but guess what happened? The forum the update was on went bust thanks to gamespy, and so we lost the update.

The new version of Q2E is out next week, which is the last in-house version. The next releases will have things added by everybody to progress the mod as fast as possible (But still, we only add what WE feel is needed for Q2E, you jsut get more mess around time and a chance to help us).

After that, we are working on our full game OverDose full time.




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 325
PostPosted: 06-14-2005 12:51 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


nice o'dium, keep up the good polish work of q2 !! :icon31:
I'm still on the road with my cpma duel, soon beta...

Image Image

sumatra

P.S. neotic, for which game is this? looks good, nice style.
just a suggestion: to get rid of those hardedged shadows (on the towers in the back) use phongshading, dunno if you already used it... :)



_________________
..::pukkadesign.com


Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2178
PostPosted: 06-14-2005 02:09 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hey odium, that is really cool! Q2E seems like a nice change for a game as old as Q2. Its a 'make the game look better' conversion right? (no time to read at the page sorry.)

Anyway, my map is DONE! The download might not be avalible for a while since it supposed to enter this CSS map contest now, there is a chance for $300, which if I win, will be the first money I ever win anytime ;) What speaks for the map is that it looks good, and that the old version had some good gameplay, what speaks against, is that I never did any Sourcework before, not even a test map, that I did this in 15days, no more no less, I won't have time to beta test the map even, cause I'll send the map away soon... (to bad)... I found about the contest like 5 days ago... The opponents Im sure are good and skilled in CS/CSS mapping, which I'm not, not at all.

There are a buch of pics here, the page is a placeholder...
http://www.zfight.com/vexii/




Top
                 

NOT OK
NOT OK
Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1017
PostPosted: 06-14-2005 07:58 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


o'dium, I meant what modeler you use, sry. Also, is there some way I can contact you for advice? I am modeling with gmax and I will probably just need like, exporting help and things like that. Be sure to post in LEM when q2e is actually released also because I would definitely not want to miss it!



_________________
Image


Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 06-15-2005 12:43 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Kaziganthe wrote:
o'dium wrote:
After that, we are working on our full game OverDose full time.


Do you have a full team together or is it just you and beserk?


Me and Berserk are two of the members, yes, we are getting a full team together. We have only just really started production, and only have our ideas and shit loads of concept art :(

Lenard wrote:
o'dium, I meant what modeler you use, sry. Also, is there some way I can contact you for advice? I am modeling with gmax and I will probably just need like, exporting help and things like that. Be sure to post in LEM when q2e is actually released also because I would definitely not want to miss it!


I really am a poor modeler TBH :( All i'm doing is small models for visuals here and there that cant be done with map geometry. After this, all i ever worked on was a few models for Q2E and a few other things in my spare time, i really do suck TBH :P




Top
                 

NOT OK
NOT OK
Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1017
PostPosted: 06-15-2005 03:31 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Like buster swords?



_________________
Image


Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 06-15-2005 06:49 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Lenard wrote:
Like buster swords?


Yeah, shitty things that look no good at all :(




Top
                 

NOT OK
NOT OK
Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1017
PostPosted: 06-15-2005 12:56 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Your textures are amazing though.



_________________
Image


Top
                 

orphan of war
orphan of war
Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 853
PostPosted: 06-16-2005 09:00 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Image

geocomp-inspired CTF map ... probably wont be any good to play on once more rooms & tunnels are added though, as FPS will plummet

I never properly realized before how complicated these things get in radiant:

Image




Top
                 

NOT OK
NOT OK
Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1017
PostPosted: 06-17-2005 11:29 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Well, when they look like that...



_________________
Image


Top
                 

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8
PostPosted: 06-21-2005 10:17 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


[lvlshot]http://www.ilstu.edu/~wtbuser/i32.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.planetquake.com/bkp/neotic/i34.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.planetquake.com/bkp/neotic/i35.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.planetquake.com/bkp/neotic/i36.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.planetquake.com/bkp/neotic/i37.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.planetquake.com/bkp/neotic/i38.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.planetquake.com/bkp/neotic/i310.jpg[/lvlshot]

lil something ive been cooking.




Last edited by neotic again on 06-21-2005 10:33 PM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 12
PostPosted: 06-21-2005 10:20 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Jailbreak/CTF map Im workin on for our next Q2 Themed map pack. Trying to keep it somewhat simple in brushwork, no patches or anything.

[lvlshot]http://www.planetquake.com/bkp/scrotch/cr1.jpg[/lvlshot]

[lvlshot]http://www.planetquake.com/bkp/scrotch/cr2.jpg[/lvlshot]

[lvlshot]http://www.planetquake.com/bkp/scrotch/cr3.jpg[/lvlshot]

[lvlshot]http://www.planetquake.com/bkp/scrotch/cr4.jpg[/lvlshot]




Top
                 

The Borked One
The Borked One
Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 4707
PostPosted: 06-21-2005 10:25 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


neotic again - might just be my shit monitor, but some of those look a tad dark...from what I can see looks pretty good though.

and ScrotcH' - If that's some simple brushwork you have going on there, I would love to see something you would consider not simple. :p




Top
                 

Old Skool'
Old Skool'
Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 5224
PostPosted: 06-22-2005 12:36 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


*removes the eQ2 mark from the "hasn't been done" list*




Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 06 Apr 2005
Posts: 12
PostPosted: 06-22-2005 03:20 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


sliver, neotic again and scrotch: that's fucking nice! great lighting job neotic..

sliver are you interested in warsow mapping? it's using the same tools and shader techniques as q3. your map would fit the overall warsow theme very good. if you are interested, just send me a mail or catch me in #warsow@quakenet.

cheers :)



_________________
brush hour


Top
                 

Lasery Roboty
Lasery Roboty
Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 352
PostPosted: 06-22-2005 09:27 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


ALL SEX



_________________
Give someone a program, frustrate them for a day. Teach someone to program, frustrate them for a lifetime.


Top
                 

True Nightmare
True Nightmare
Joined: 14 Nov 2000
Posts: 4216
PostPosted: 06-22-2005 10:21 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@ neotic : what texture set is that you're using? It fits the theme well and kind of reminds me of the temple areas in D3 (not a bad thing)



_________________
Tutorials, tools and resources


Top
                 

The Borked One
The Borked One
Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 4707
PostPosted: 06-22-2005 03:09 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


acid/ger wrote:
that's fucking nice! great lighting job neotic..


Guess I need a new monitor more than I thought. :(




Top
                 

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8
PostPosted: 06-22-2005 05:21 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Kat wrote:
@ neotic : what texture set is that you're using? It fits the theme well and kind of reminds me of the temple areas in D3 (not a bad thing)


Random textures from http://www.davegh.com/blade/davegh.htm - he doesn't have them in pk3s or anything so I just grabbed what I liked and fits - also modified a lot of original ET textures - made them dark and what not.

Bork[e] - the pictures were brightened since you first posted - maybe if you do a hard refresh it will look better. But yes, ET and Q3 games in general make SS so damn dark compared to in game - so yeah. Heh.

Thanks for all the nice words guys.




Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 06-22-2005 11:29 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


You all know neotic is making a RtCW map, yeah?

Oh and dude, remove all your HUD, I think it was cg_draw2d 0 in RtCW?




Top
                 

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8
PostPosted: 06-22-2005 11:55 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


o'dium wrote:
You all know neotic is making a RtCW map, yeah?

Oh and dude, remove all your HUD, I think it was cg_draw2d 0 in RtCW?


Doesnt get rid of the crosshair still - dont know what does that.




Top
                 

orphan of war
orphan of war
Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 853
PostPosted: 06-23-2005 01:14 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


if you're talking about vanilla quake 3, yes, setting cg_draw2d to 0 removes the crosshair. [i just checked myself]

if yours doesnt, for some reason, use cg_drawcrosshair 0




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 44
PostPosted: 06-23-2005 02:20 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


If your using ET then youll be glad to know they broke cg_draw2d with the last patch.

Add this to your "game_manager" script to correct:
Code:
remapshader gfx/2d/crosshaira textures/my_map/crosshaira
      remapshaderflush


point "textures/my_map/crosshaira" at a full alpha texture and shader. Also you need to use the default crosshair.
(dont forget to remove this from your script befor you release the map)




Top
                 

Old Skool'
Old Skool'
Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 5224
PostPosted: 06-23-2005 03:46 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


opsy, forgot someone asked some questions ;p
thanks for all the nice comments btw.

Quote:
What are you no-clipping into in that pic?
Seems to end so abruptly.
Or is it a region compile?


Thats all there is atm, haven't done much on it. ;p

Quote:
fucking amazing dude, you gonna make a map out of that?


not sure, lost some interest in q3 mapping, so im doing some quake1 now.

Quote:
Fjoggs, is that patches? Lots of patches? Or something cool I don't even know about...


mm, havent used any patches in it yet, apart from a simple one for the vine part in the background.
im more of a brush-only guy, except for texturing, which patches usually solve the hard ones. ;]




Top
                 

Who's that man, Mommy?
Who's that man, Mommy?
Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 5220
PostPosted: 06-23-2005 07:24 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


opening this thread never ceases to give me a boner :icon14:




Top
                 

Commander
Commander
Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 101
PostPosted: 06-24-2005 07:50 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


heheh agreed.



_________________
"Racism isn't born, folks, it's taught. I have a two-year-old son.
You know what he hates? Naps! End of list." - Dennis Leary


Top
                 

Old Skool'
Old Skool'
Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 5224
PostPosted: 06-24-2005 05:57 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I've been working on my own eQ2 map. Different style then Scrotch, a bit dark perhaps.

Image
Image
Image




Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 26 Feb 2005
Posts: 23
PostPosted: 06-24-2005 08:03 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


fjoggs: suxxors, stfu.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group