Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Screenshots


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Re: Screenshots

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks
Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 1005
PostPosted: 04-20-2014 03:34 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Damn I miss playing the windwaker!



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

visual prowess
visual prowess
Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Posts: 1214
PostPosted: 04-27-2014 08:56 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Just need to decide on a gametype and add some weapons in and this one's finished.




_________________
CAPSLOCK IS ON


Top
                 

Theftbot
Theftbot
Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 472
PostPosted: 04-27-2014 09:20 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Looks washed out too much!




Top
                 

visual prowess
visual prowess
Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Posts: 1214
PostPosted: 04-28-2014 12:10 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


If you mean indoors, then yeah, I fully agree. I'm using _minlight right now for the inside because I don't have the time to properly place light entities yet/make light emitting shaders yet. I'm going to try and get that done, but probably last.

If you mean the textures themselves, then that can't be helped. They are only 16x16 and 16x32 textures, because they are ripped directly from the game. I don't plan on making them "hi-res" or anything, because the whole point is to make the map a 1:1 copy.



_________________
CAPSLOCK IS ON


Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 530
PostPosted: 05-16-2014 04:20 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


obsidian wrote:
Well, I guess you can make the anvil with brushwork, or Rhino... I know how you love those NURBS. :)

As a side project, I decided to model a dwarven anvil and hammer anyway... it's more for fun, I'll post finished pics next week when it's done. Here's the hammer WIP, texture's not done.

Image

Maybe make the icons less Q3'ish and more glowy dwarven/Celtic, like the door frame by the quad... that fits in with the theme much better.


Mjölnir called... and said DO ME NEXT!




Top
                 

Will map for food.
Will map for food.
Joined: 29 Dec 2000
Posts: 1747
PostPosted: 05-28-2014 10:17 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


UT4 stuff in the works. *Updated the picture



_________________
- Russell Meakim AKA The Castle
Portfolio: http://castledoes.carbonmade.com/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/zZCastleZz
Tsu: https://www.tsu.co/zZCastleZz
Twitter: @zZCastleZz


Last edited by Castle on 05-30-2014 07:27 AM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 05-29-2014 01:34 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Castle wrote:
UT4 stuff in the works.

[url=http://i.imgur.colöllölöm/rBm6FU2.jpg]Image[/url]



You working with the ut4-team? Or how does all that work, you just create something like we do here for quake3 and release it yourself? I was a bit curious to what they meant when they said that the game would be made by fans kinda (I don't remember all they said =))



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Will map for food.
Will map for food.
Joined: 29 Dec 2000
Posts: 1747
PostPosted: 05-29-2014 10:25 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


From what i can tell right now you grab the latest version of the UT4 game through GitHub then make a branch. Once your content is in good enough shape you can do something called a pull request. A pull request is s signal for the actual devs to take a look at your content and see if it can fit into the full game.

Its a pretty amazing system and just being able to get them to look at a level I make is awesome. They might even say, hey this guy is pretty good!

:D



_________________
- Russell Meakim AKA The Castle
Portfolio: http://castledoes.carbonmade.com/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/zZCastleZz
Tsu: https://www.tsu.co/zZCastleZz
Twitter: @zZCastleZz


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42695
PostPosted: 05-30-2014 01:29 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Your image doesn't link, Castle. It says it's no longer available.




Top
                 

Will map for food.
Will map for food.
Joined: 29 Dec 2000
Posts: 1747
PostPosted: 05-30-2014 07:28 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I updated it and removed the old one. So the picture there now is current.



_________________
- Russell Meakim AKA The Castle
Portfolio: http://castledoes.carbonmade.com/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/zZCastleZz
Tsu: https://www.tsu.co/zZCastleZz
Twitter: @zZCastleZz


Top
                 

Theftbot
Theftbot
Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 472
PostPosted: 05-30-2014 08:37 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Looks like some sort of lighting/material shadow errors in the top left Castle!




Top
                 

Will map for food.
Will map for food.
Joined: 29 Dec 2000
Posts: 1747
PostPosted: 05-30-2014 10:00 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Theftbot wrote:
Looks like some sort of lighting/material shadow errors in the top left Castle!


Yeah the UVs on the meshes are messy right now giving them poor lightmap quality. my copy of max is also pretty old so that doesn't help much with my FBX exporter.



_________________
- Russell Meakim AKA The Castle
Portfolio: http://castledoes.carbonmade.com/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/zZCastleZz
Tsu: https://www.tsu.co/zZCastleZz
Twitter: @zZCastleZz


Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 06-02-2014 10:24 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Started working on my old level again, it feels nice to be back in the game. Although, no one plays the game any more =)



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks
Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 1005
PostPosted: 06-02-2014 10:41 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Who is that Hipshot guy again? :p



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42695
PostPosted: 06-03-2014 12:15 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Looks awesome Hipshot!
Why not try your hand at a single player level? ;)




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12313
PostPosted: 06-03-2014 06:35 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Nitpick: I don't think you can bend planks of wood like that around the curve.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

visual prowess
visual prowess
Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Posts: 1214
PostPosted: 06-03-2014 03:23 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


obsidian wrote:
Nitpick: I don't think you can bend planks of wood like that around the curve.




Unless you mean the grain following the curve too, then you're probably right.



_________________
CAPSLOCK IS ON


Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 06-03-2014 03:32 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser wrote:
Looks awesome Hipshot!
Why not try your hand at a single player level? ;)


Actually, when I saw your mod I got really excited about making a SP level and I had an idea about salvaging this level as an SP one in Ent+, however now when I'm back on track I'm just gonna finish this up and then maybe I'll look into +. I always wanted to create an SP level in Q3 that's like an SP level in Q1, however Ent+ doesn't really feature good AI behaviour like patrols and such also, only Q3 bot skins right?

obsidian wrote:
Nitpick: I don't think you can bend planks of wood like that around the curve.


Well, Carmack solved this for us, a few years after they invented the Teleport.



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Theftbot
Theftbot
Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 472
PostPosted: 06-03-2014 03:35 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Actually you can steam/soak and bend wood to follow curves in molds/clamps or train trees to grow that way!




Top
                 

Mercenary
Mercenary
Joined: 06 Nov 2011
Posts: 247
PostPosted: 06-03-2014 04:19 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


All I wonder is: is there any chance of you finishing is5? :D That map is really fun, and with some modernization it would look damn good.




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12313
PostPosted: 06-03-2014 07:35 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Theftbot wrote:
Actually you can steam/soak and bend wood to follow curves in molds/clamps or train trees to grow that way!


Yes, but that's useful if you want to make a guitar or piano or some other elaborate woodwork, I don't think you would take the time to do that with old wood planks. Anyway, it's just a nitpick. :p



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 14 Oct 2001
Posts: 579
PostPosted: 06-03-2014 10:46 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I guess whoever curved the planks also managed to fix the plumbing up without wall supports ;)
Back being serious...lovely looking textures Hipshot.




Top
                 

Theftbot
Theftbot
Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 472
PostPosted: 06-03-2014 11:06 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I really like Hipshots style! keep it coming




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42695
PostPosted: 06-03-2014 11:17 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
Eraser wrote:
Looks awesome Hipshot!
Why not try your hand at a single player level? ;)


Actually, when I saw your mod I got really excited about making a SP level and I had an idea about salvaging this level as an SP one in Ent+, however now when I'm back on track I'm just gonna finish this up and then maybe I'll look into +. I always wanted to create an SP level in Q3 that's like an SP level in Q1, however Ent+ doesn't really feature good AI behaviour like patrols and such also, only Q3 bot skins right?


It does allow you to set up bot patrol routes actually. And yes, it uses player models as enemies, but no one's stopping you from creating your own.




Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 06-03-2014 11:40 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


KittenIgnition wrote:
All I wonder is: is there any chance of you finishing is5? :D That map is really fun, and with some modernization it would look damn good.


Was this directed towards me? And do you mean this then?

Eraser wrote:
It does allow you to set up bot patrol routes actually. And yes, it uses player models as enemies, but no one's stopping you from creating your own.


I didn't know that to be honest, I just assumed it didn't. I'm gonna look into more what the mod features and not, I have played your "survival" level before, the one with the church.
The only reason stopping me from creating enemies is probably because I can't model chars =)



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42695
PostPosted: 06-04-2014 12:26 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Same here with the modeling, but I figured the likes of Klesk, Uriel and Orb looked evil enough for enemies :)




Top
                 

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 83
PostPosted: 06-04-2014 01:55 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


dont forget heaps of custom player models available too.




Top
                 

Mercenary
Mercenary
Joined: 06 Nov 2011
Posts: 247
PostPosted: 06-04-2014 06:15 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
KittenIgnition wrote:
All I wonder is: is there any chance of you finishing is5? :D That map is really fun, and with some modernization it would look damn good.


Was this directed towards me? And do you mean this then?

Yes and yes. That AAT was an early one between me and two other people. It's really good for freestyling right now.




Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 06-06-2014 03:26 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote




KittenIgnition wrote:
Yes and yes. That AAT was an early one between me and two other people. It's really good for freestyling right now.


Well, hmm, I really can't work on it any more, cause I can't go back to the level and keep the gameplay intact, but I agree that if I were to go back I would probably be able to make that level look really cool, I have so many sci-fi ideas accumulated, I might do another space/scifi level instead... probably won't be good for defrag though =/



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Mercenary
Mercenary
Joined: 06 Nov 2011
Posts: 247
PostPosted: 06-06-2014 04:27 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
Well, hmm, I really can't work on it any more, cause I can't go back to the level and keep the gameplay intact, but I agree that if I were to go back I would probably be able to make that level look really cool, I have so many sci-fi ideas accumulated, I might do another space/scifi level instead... probably won't be good for defrag though =/


Then maybe you could just send me the .map and all the assets? ;)




Top
                 

Theftbot
Theftbot
Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 472
PostPosted: 06-06-2014 11:47 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


yes




Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 06-07-2014 12:21 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


KittenIgnition wrote:
Hipshot wrote:
Well, hmm, I really can't work on it any more, cause I can't go back to the level and keep the gameplay intact, but I agree that if I were to go back I would probably be able to make that level look really cool, I have so many sci-fi ideas accumulated, I might do another space/scifi level instead... probably won't be good for defrag though =/


Then maybe you could just send me the .map and all the assets? ;)


Yes, I can if I have the map files on my big rig, I'll have to check when I get home.



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks
Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 1005
PostPosted: 06-07-2014 12:56 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Are those windows bricked out? Hard to see in the screenshot. Texturing is great and color range too but it seems just a bit too dark.



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

\kill
\kill
Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Posts: 914
PostPosted: 06-07-2014 09:00 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
Started working on my old level again, it feels nice to be back in the game. Although, no one plays the game any more =)

I think it'd be great if you made this map for Quake Live .. people play that every day. The good majority of the maps for ql are super detailed compared to q3a, and your maps have always been a step above the others ... I'm a huge fan at least. I'm not sure of the steps to get your map on the ql rotation, but I think you should give it a try. :D




Top
                 

Mercenary
Mercenary
Joined: 06 Nov 2011
Posts: 247
PostPosted: 06-07-2014 05:58 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


v1l3 wrote:
Hipshot wrote:
Started working on my old level again, it feels nice to be back in the game. Although, no one plays the game any more =)

I think it'd be great if you made this map for Quake Live .. people play that every day. The good majority of the maps for ql are super detailed compared to q3a, and your maps have always been a step above the others ... I'm a huge fan at least. I'm not sure of the steps to get your map on the ql rotation, but I think you should give it a try. :D

The QL maps are detailed because they're detailed, not because they're built for QL :/

More good/mediocre Q3 maps > more good/mediocre QL maps. They'll be put to better use in Q3, no matter what they are.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group