Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Blender 2.7.3 and ASE + MD3 export?


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Blender 2.7.3 and ASE + MD3 export?

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1622
PostPosted: 01-29-2016 06:05 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I want to install an ASE & MD3 export for my Blender installation, which is official 2.7.3 version. I already visited Kats-Bits, but there is an outdated version that the author says it's for B2.5.x and 2.6 - has anyone tested with this version of Blender? I need to make some rocky walls, that I found better to make in Blender and then export to ASE to integrate with map Schöna. Could be useful for next projects, though...

Also, is there any good advice to make the Blender grid matching the Radiant one? I read somewhere that Blender grid is about a half size than Quake 3 one. But when made the Camaro model and exported to MD3 with MilkShape 3D (Blender can export to OBJ natively only), it was about a size of rat in Radiant, so I had to enlarge it to be averagely the real size compared to the player...



_________________
[ Quake III Arena by CZghost | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Google+ ]
While you feel the worst ever, turn around facing to Sun and all shadows will pass behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

True Nightmare
True Nightmare
Joined: 14 Nov 2000
Posts: 4216
PostPosted: 01-29-2016 10:20 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


You know... you could have asked this on KatsBits :p

The should both work, I've not extensively tested them in 2.76 though (using both in 2.70 ATM because that's got a working *.map exporter).

As for the grid - http://www.katsbits.com/tutorials/blend ... hp#mapgrid



_________________
Tutorials, tools and resources


Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1622
PostPosted: 01-29-2016 10:48 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Thanks man :)



_________________
[ Quake III Arena by CZghost | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Google+ ]
While you feel the worst ever, turn around facing to Sun and all shadows will pass behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Theftbot
Theftbot
Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 468
PostPosted: 01-29-2016 11:17 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Use .lwo! D/L link: http://www.ewocprojects.be/lwoexport.html

Example .blend http://www.pasteall.org/blend/40373 Needs at least U.V. map, notice materials(paths in blend point to default q3 shaders) Also example has dummy teleporter, 64^2 brush, player bounds.

Apply modifiers, triangulate.

Use Export settings:
Image

Edit: Notice how grid shown matches radiant grid!




Top
                 

True Nightmare
True Nightmare
Joined: 14 Nov 2000
Posts: 4216
PostPosted: 01-30-2016 12:21 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Also forgot, as you're using Blender download the reference pack to solve your scaling/size issues -http://www.katsbits.com/tools/#reference



_________________
Tutorials, tools and resources


Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1622
PostPosted: 02-05-2016 08:17 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@Kat: Thank you for tip, I really appreciate tha :)
@Theftbot: I don't think LWO would be best to use with Quake3 as it needs to be smoothed manually by shader, LWO object does not support autosmooth of the geometry normals. ASE and MD3 does...



_________________
[ Quake III Arena by CZghost | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Google+ ]
While you feel the worst ever, turn around facing to Sun and all shadows will pass behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group