Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Can someone help me with porting a model to Q3?


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Can someone help me with porting a model to Q3?

Veteran
Veteran
Joined: 05 Dec 2015
Posts: 199
PostPosted: 02-11-2016 04:44 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I need to know, how can I import a custom :q2: model into :q3:? P.S. I am using Wilma Flintstone for the conversion.




Top
                 

visual prowess
visual prowess
Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Posts: 1211
PostPosted: 02-12-2016 05:58 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


What software are you going to be using to create the final md3 model with?

First you need to get the md2 file into your editor of choice, the easiest way is probably using a tool called "Noesis", or if you're going to be using blender, there's lots of different md2 import scrips.

If you go the Noesis route, you can export the .md2 (tris.md2) into a more common format like .obj, then import that .obj into your editor you'll be using to export to .md3.

You'll also have to convert the models UV map from .pcx to a format Quake 3 can read (jpg, tga). Again, if you use the obj method, import your .obj file into your editor, apply the UV map and Mirror the UV map on the Y axis to fix the UV map.

I tried it quick and was able to get it into blender, however you'll still have to re-animate the model for Quake 3. Quake 2 only uses 1 skeleton while Quake 3 uses 2 (upper and lower). You can see inside any player models "animation.cfg" for information on which frames are which for which animation. If you're going to be using blender, you should try an md2 import script first, because it should import the player skeleton and save you the time of making a new one. If not, heres the model in obj format with all 3 parts (head, upper and lower) already pre split up.

Wilma OBJ



_________________
CAPSLOCK IS ON


Top
                 

Veteran
Veteran
Joined: 05 Dec 2015
Posts: 199
PostPosted: 02-14-2016 11:45 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I will be using MilkShape 3D, because it can import md2 files. Also, thanks for the obj, and it appears the obj doesn't appear to be split into the head/lower/upper stuff, & I'm not sure how to do that. EDIT: I've figured it out, & I will start with Sarge's animation.cfg, meaning her taunt will be Sarge's, and I'll work from there, or do you know how to extract the animation from the original md2?




Top
                 

visual prowess
visual prowess
Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Posts: 1211
PostPosted: 02-14-2016 12:46 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


There's most likely a way to get to original animation, but it probably wont help much. Quake 3 player models have almost double the amount of animations, and they aren't in the same order (quake 2 starts with running animation, quake 3 starts with death animations). They're also split between upper and lower animations in Quake 3, and i'm not sure you can split an armature into two while keeping all animation intact.



_________________
CAPSLOCK IS ON


Top
                 

Veteran
Veteran
Joined: 05 Dec 2015
Posts: 199
PostPosted: 02-14-2016 01:32 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I could use it as a base, but that's about it...




Top
                 

Veteran
Veteran
Joined: 05 Dec 2015
Posts: 199
PostPosted: 02-14-2016 02:50 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Here's the model so far: https://mega.nz/#!YoVBFZSI!jAoXiuGwjghB ... 4AFDU_S5lc Now we're getting to the hard part, animation.




Top
                 

visual prowess
visual prowess
Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Posts: 1211
PostPosted: 02-14-2016 05:57 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Nice job so far. The only thing I noticed is her neck is missing. :paranoid:



_________________
CAPSLOCK IS ON


Top
                 

Veteran
Veteran
Joined: 05 Dec 2015
Posts: 199
PostPosted: 02-14-2016 07:10 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I'm trying to figure out why, though... & also, it needs animation, as well as the gun portion of her model fixed. I suppose you could help me out with that, Bacon... I also transferred the ctf skins, as well as the icons...




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group