Quake3World.com
https://www.quake3world.com/forum/

Problems with Calm Water texture in Q3
https://www.quake3world.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=51820
Page 1 of 1

Author:  CLOUDspawn [ 02-25-2016 02:53 AM ]
Post subject:  Problems with Calm Water texture in Q3

Hello,
I am trying to use the the calm_water shader in GTKRadiant. Every-time I go in-game to check it out, its just a bunch of black squares. I was thinking maybe I need to add a function, like what you do with a mirror. I tried the function i use for mirrors, and that didn't work.
,Thanks

Author:  dONKEY [ 02-25-2016 11:10 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Calm Water texture in Q3

Some of the shaders have missing texture stages. It sounds like you have chosen one of those. Either that or you messed up your base pk3 folder.
Try different water shaders, if they are all missing textures, do a clean reinstall Q3.
And no, water doesn't require any other entities to make it work, it's recognised by the surfaceparm declaration in the shader.

Author:  CLOUDspawn [ 02-26-2016 12:26 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Calm Water texture in Q3

here are some pics, maybe this could help

Attachments:
poolproblem2.gif
poolproblem2.gif [ 75.77 KB | Viewed 392 times ]
poolproblem1.gif
poolproblem1.gif [ 97.14 KB | Viewed 382 times ]
poolproblem.gif
poolproblem.gif [ 241.22 KB | Viewed 371 times ]

Author:  dONKEY [ 02-26-2016 08:42 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Calm Water texture in Q3

The black and red squares on the shader image is telling you that the shader is missing an image stage. The black and white squares in game is the default image for a missing texture.
Use a different water shader.
On a side note, don't use caulk for your water. Caulk is solid. You have various options:
1) Old school; have the entire brush made out of the water shader and bury none visible sides in surrounding geometry.
2)Slightly less Old School; Use the nodraw shader and texture the visible (top) side only with the water shader. This approach can be a bit hit and miss in the sense that sometimes the water volume doesn't behave like water. It's a bit of a lottery depending on whether the .map file records the first face of the brush as water or nodraw.
3)Preferred option; Use option 2, but add ydnar's water_caulk inside the water volume. I don't think water_caulk comes with the editor though...

Author:  axbaby [ 02-27-2016 09:07 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Calm Water texture in Q3

If it shows up in the editor with a white border line around the texture image that looks correct suggests to me that the texture and shader is fine and in the correct place, if not you have a file or shader error/missing/conflict with another user created map (.pk3).

Author:  obsidian [ 02-28-2016 06:25 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Calm Water texture in Q3

Water_caulk isn't ydnar's shader, it's mine. It comes with GtkRadiant 1.6 by default for a while now.

Author:  dONKEY [ 02-29-2016 01:08 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Calm Water texture in Q3

@Obs....apologies, I thought was Ydnar.
:)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/