Quake3World.com
https://www.quake3world.com/forum/

FOG TROUBLES
https://www.quake3world.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=52043
Page 1 of 1

Author:  CLOUDspawn [ 05-18-2016 08:06 PM ]
Post subject:  FOG TROUBLES

HAVING TROUBLE WITH FOGS! COULD SOMEONE POINT ME TO A OBTAINABLE SCRIPT AND ACCOMPANING FILES FOR FOG EFFECT IN QUAKE III ARENA!

THANK YOU

Author:  Eraser [ 05-18-2016 11:32 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: FOG TROUBLES

YOU DON'T HAVE TO SHOUT!

Author:  CLOUDspawn [ 05-19-2016 12:47 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: FOG TROUBLES

sorry yo :)

Author:  fKd [ 05-19-2016 06:34 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: FOG TROUBLES

3.4 fogparms <red value> <green value> <bluevalue> <distance to Opaque>

Note: you must also specify "surfaceparm fog" to cause q3map to identify the surfaces inside the volume. Fogparms only describes how to render the fog on the surfaces.

<red value> <green value> <blue value> These are normalized values. A good computer art program should give you the RGB values for a color. To obtain the values that define fog color for Quake III Arena, divide the desired color's Red, Green and Blue values by 255 to obtain three normalized numbers within the 0.0 to 1.0 range.
<distance toopaque> This is the distance, in game units, until the fog becomes totally opaque, as measured from the point of view of the observer. By making the height of the fog brush shorter than the distance to opaque, the apparent density of the fog can be reduced (because it never reaches the depth at which full opacity occurs).

The fog volume can only have one surface visible (from outside the fog).
Fog must be made of one brush. It cannot be made of adjacent brushes.
Fog brushes must be axial. This means that only square or rectangular brushes may contain fog, and those must have their edges drawn along the axes of the map grid (all 90 degree angles).

Design Notes:

If a water texture contains a fog parameter, it must be treated as if it were a fog texture when in use.
If a room is to be filled completely with a fog volume,it can only be entered through one surface (and still have the fog function correctly).
Additional shader passes may be placed on a fog brush, as with other brushes.


ie.

textures/your texture dir/texture name
{
qer_editorimage textures/your texture dir/your texture name.tga/.jpg
surfaceparm trans
surfaceparm nonsolid
surfaceparm fog
surfaceparm nolightmap
qer_nocarve
fogparms ( 0.05 0.05 0.05 ) 500
}

Author:  CLOUDspawn [ 05-20-2016 05:51 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: FOG TROUBLES

I tried copy and pasting your example. And i change all the file names where they are supposed to.
plus I made a little reservoir for the fog. but this is the result. Is there something I might be doing wrong?

Attachments:
fogexample.gif
fogexample.gif [ 24.04 KB | Viewed 242 times ]

Author:  obsidian [ 05-21-2016 05:43 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: FOG TROUBLES

Did you add "your texture dir" to shaderlist.txt?

Author:  CLOUDspawn [ 05-21-2016 09:20 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: FOG TROUBLES

I've been bunching all my textures into one shader file. I call it framesleep.shader. I've got some bounce pad textures (animated), and some other textures. Maybe I should make every type of shader a different shader file. Maybe thats what's happening?

thanks. :)

Author:  Eraser [ 05-22-2016 09:07 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: FOG TROUBLES

In the console it should mention what shader it is trying to find when it can't find it. Maybe that's a starting point when looking for the cause

Author:  CLOUDspawn [ 05-26-2016 03:04 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: FOG TROUBLES

hey guys I figured out the fog thing. thanks!

Author:  CLOUDspawn [ 05-26-2016 03:07 PM ]
Post subject:  fog effect question

Hello,
I was wondering if I could add a line to the fog shader i made to make it go up and down. Like kinda like how the ocean tides make the surface of the water go up and down. Like swaying I guess is the word for it. thanks. :)

Author:  obsidian [ 05-28-2016 02:14 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: fog effect question

Nope. Not with actual volumetric fog. It's hard-coded, not that sophisticated.

Author:  coltonquake3 [ 06-21-2016 11:28 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: FOG TROUBLES

I don't think the idtech3 engine can even handle that complexity of fog... SO yeah, I second obsidian with this one.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/