Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Quake Champions Mapping Capabilities


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Quake Champions Mapping Capabilities

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks
Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 1005
PostPosted: 03-11-2017 09:56 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Since there is no thread about this yet:
From what is known so far, QC will be a mix of id tech and saber 3D engine. The editor they use is just Maya (and I guess a plugin). So far they revealed two maps, one of which is a Campgrounds remake which I personally have mixed feelings about. I guess we all need to keep fingers crossed custom maps will be possible.



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42000
PostPosted: 03-12-2017 10:26 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Wouldn't have high hopes for it. I'm afraid Bethesda thinks there's more money in selling custom maps DLC than opening the gates for free content.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42000
PostPosted: 03-12-2017 10:29 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Oh and id Software using 3rd party engines? Jeez, they've lost their final shred of pride.




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43502
PostPosted: 03-13-2017 07:18 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


or decided that some things aren't worth reinventing?




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42000
PostPosted: 03-13-2017 01:34 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Maybe, I dunno, but id Software have always been pushing the envelope. But I guess that was just Carmack then.




Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2149
PostPosted: 03-13-2017 01:52 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser wrote:
Maybe, I dunno, but id Software have always been pushing the envelope. But I guess that was just Carmack then.


They haven't pushed that envelope for like 10+ years now.

The game is up.



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 622
PostPosted: 06-26-2017 03:45 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


My time in mapping is over :(




Top
                 

Old Skool'
Old Skool'
Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 5215
PostPosted: 06-26-2017 05:34 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Brush based mapping is a dying breed these days. CS:GO is probably one of the last AAA titles that uses it.
Shame really.

You can always just continue mapping for Q3 though. The CPMA community is still pretty active, and there's even a "kenyacup" tournament coming up in the next few weeks. (kenyacup means new maps basically. QW term?)

Here's a link to the CPMA discord:
https://discord.gg/hSwdQ2q




Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 622
PostPosted: 06-27-2017 12:25 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


thank you for the link Fjoggs.
I never played cpma, is it so different from OSP?




Top
                 

Old Skool'
Old Skool'
Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 5215
PostPosted: 06-27-2017 01:56 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


CPMA made OSP "obsolete" sometime after 2006 ish.
Tournament organizer began using CPMA with vQ3 settings instead of OSP, for various reasons. (Most importantly was the vastly superior netcode)

What most people think of when they hear CPMA is the CPM ruleset, which amongst other things allow aircontrol ala QW/Q1, doublejumping off legdes/ramps/stairs and fast switch on weapons.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group