Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        rtourney1 ALPHA - playtest request


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: rtourney1 ALPHA - playtest request

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 13 Apr 2017
Posts: 5
PostPosted: 04-16-2017 01:47 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


rtourney1 (v2) ALPHA


This map requires assets from Team Arena, and should be launched from Team Arena via /map rtourney1_v2 at the console
Vanilla Q3A is playable but with missing textures. Please do not submit any feedback relating to broken textures if you are testing with Q3A and not Team Arena (missionpack) - thank you


This is a 1-3 player (designed for tourney) map with 4 areas consisting of tight corridors and some more open spaces with multiple levels.

I speedmapped this over 2 days and would love your feedback on any and all issues.
I have only placed an RL, SG and some health and armour in random locations. Item placement tips would be really welcomed. Everything is subject to change.


PK3 download link below: (last updated 6.10PM on Thursday 20th April)
* .map file is also included
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bz0WCvzNELb7aXNqMGsybjBzZkE

EDIT: Updated to v2




Attachments:
layout.jpg
layout.jpg [ 138.8 KB | Viewed 125 times ]


Last edited by KangaRufus on 04-20-2017 09:11 AM, edited 5 times in total.
Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1622
PostPosted: 04-19-2017 05:51 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


After a very long time new map for Team Arena again! Halleluyah! Can't test it right now, but actually looking forward :) Looks very good here :)



_________________
[ Quake III Arena by CZghost | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Google+ ]
While you feel the worst ever, turn around facing to Sun and all shadows will pass behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 13 Apr 2017
Posts: 5
PostPosted: 04-19-2017 08:43 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Thank you for your response!
I look forward to your feedback since I cannot do any more mapping until I receive some :-p


All efforts to generate an AAS have failed. Can someone better than me please try? my original .map file is in the download link PK3




Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1622
PostPosted: 04-20-2017 02:16 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


AAS doesn't require MAP file as AAS is compiled from BSP by BSPC. Will check it out after I get home and when I have time to do so and try to make AAS from BSP, maybe try to make simplified map file...

For quick introduction to AAS: if you compile your map with -meta switch (and that's pretty much common switch), you have to compile your AAS with -forcesidesvisible switch.

If your map is too detailed compared to map size (e.g. some larger map can cause AAS compile fail), then use Sock's trick with simplified map for bots only - that map has reduced details and lower-resolution polygons - doesn't contain models and textures are irelevant. Sock's trick is to create AAS from simplified version rather than original and then reassign the simplified to original (rename the simplified.aas to original.aas, run q3map2 -fixaas, compile lights again, run bspc -reach and you're done; more details are here: http://simonoc.com/pages/design/mp/pom_bots.htm).

Anyway, I'll take a look at it some time (if I get into it), so don't worry :)



_________________
[ Quake III Arena by CZghost | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Google+ ]
While you feel the worst ever, turn around facing to Sun and all shadows will pass behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 13 Apr 2017
Posts: 5
PostPosted: 04-21-2017 07:47 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I used to map for Quake3 in 2001-2003. I was quite active here by another name but it has been so long I can't remember what the name was!!!

Thanks for the AAS refresher. I remember bits from when q3map2 was first released, but have forgotten much. Any further links you can provide for optimisation would be much appreciated.

Whilst waiting for feedback on game play I have updated link in first post to v2: some detailing , added some additional spawns, used caulk to clean up numerous Z-fighting issues, added some ambient sfx, added new super-awesome SECRET FEATURE and did a full vis and radiosity compile.

Item placement remains most basic (RL,SG plus some health and ammo) - would like advice primarily for item placement so I can have this seriously considered for competitive play.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group