Quake3World.com
https://www.quake3world.com/forum/

rtourney1 ALPHA - playtest request
https://www.quake3world.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=53233
Page 1 of 1

Author:  KangaRufus [ 04-16-2017 01:47 PM ]
Post subject:  rtourney1 ALPHA - playtest request

rtourney1 (v2) ALPHA


This map requires assets from Team Arena, and should be launched from Team Arena via /map rtourney1_v2 at the console
Vanilla Q3A is playable but with missing textures. Please do not submit any feedback relating to broken textures if you are testing with Q3A and not Team Arena (missionpack) - thank you


This is a 1-3 player (designed for tourney) map with 4 areas consisting of tight corridors and some more open spaces with multiple levels.

I speedmapped this over 2 days and would love your feedback on any and all issues.
I have only placed an RL, SG and some health and armour in random locations. Item placement tips would be really welcomed. Everything is subject to change.


PK3 download link below: (last updated 6.10PM on Thursday 20th April)
* .map file is also included
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bz0WCvzNELb7aXNqMGsybjBzZkE

EDIT: Updated to v2

Attachments:
layout.jpg
layout.jpg [ 138.8 KB | Viewed 187 times ]

Author:  CZghost [ 04-19-2017 05:51 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: rtourney1 ALPHA - playtest request

After a very long time new map for Team Arena again! Halleluyah! Can't test it right now, but actually looking forward :) Looks very good here :)

Author:  KangaRufus [ 04-19-2017 08:43 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: rtourney1 ALPHA - playtest request

Thank you for your response!
I look forward to your feedback since I cannot do any more mapping until I receive some :-p


All efforts to generate an AAS have failed. Can someone better than me please try? my original .map file is in the download link PK3

Author:  CZghost [ 04-20-2017 02:16 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: rtourney1 ALPHA - playtest request

AAS doesn't require MAP file as AAS is compiled from BSP by BSPC. Will check it out after I get home and when I have time to do so and try to make AAS from BSP, maybe try to make simplified map file...

For quick introduction to AAS: if you compile your map with -meta switch (and that's pretty much common switch), you have to compile your AAS with -forcesidesvisible switch.

If your map is too detailed compared to map size (e.g. some larger map can cause AAS compile fail), then use Sock's trick with simplified map for bots only - that map has reduced details and lower-resolution polygons - doesn't contain models and textures are irelevant. Sock's trick is to create AAS from simplified version rather than original and then reassign the simplified to original (rename the simplified.aas to original.aas, run q3map2 -fixaas, compile lights again, run bspc -reach and you're done; more details are here: http://simonoc.com/pages/design/mp/pom_bots.htm).

Anyway, I'll take a look at it some time (if I get into it), so don't worry :)

Author:  KangaRufus [ 04-21-2017 07:47 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: rtourney1 ALPHA - playtest request

I used to map for Quake3 in 2001-2003. I was quite active here by another name but it has been so long I can't remember what the name was!!!

Thanks for the AAS refresher. I remember bits from when q3map2 was first released, but have forgotten much. Any further links you can provide for optimisation would be much appreciated.

Whilst waiting for feedback on game play I have updated link in first post to v2: some detailing , added some additional spawns, used caulk to clean up numerous Z-fighting issues, added some ambient sfx, added new super-awesome SECRET FEATURE and did a full vis and radiosity compile.

Item placement remains most basic (RL,SG plus some health and ammo) - would like advice primarily for item placement so I can have this seriously considered for competitive play.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/