Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        broken specular maps in ioquake3


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: broken specular maps in ioquake3

Commander
Commander
Joined: 10 Apr 2015
Posts: 134
PostPosted: 05-10-2018 02:46 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Just updated to the latest ioquake3 (I was using a build from 2015) and all my specular maps are broken. See images:

Specular maps disabled:
Image

Specular maps enabled:
Image

Anyone know whats causing this? It looks as if specular maps are simply being overlayed on top of the map textures, rather than being applied properly...




Top
                 

Commander
Commander
Joined: 10 Apr 2015
Posts: 134
PostPosted: 05-11-2018 04:38 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


So I did a test using Spearmint (modified version of ioquake3) since I can't find any previous versions of ioquake3, and noticed that version 0.3 was when this "change" was introduced, although it doesn't seem to be documented at all.

This is Spearmint v0.2:
Image

This is Spearmint v0.3:
Image




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12254
PostPosted: 05-12-2018 07:10 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Try reinstalling IOQ3 to see if there is something wrong with your game files.

Otherwise if you’re sure it’s a bug, here is their issue tracker:
https://github.com/ioquake/ioq3/issues



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group