Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Moving trigger_hurt


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Moving trigger_hurt

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 512
PostPosted: 07-13-2018 08:35 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Is it possible to do this in idtech3? Have, say, a moving gas that is represented by a box move and do damage to players?




Top
                 

Mercenary
Mercenary
Joined: 06 Nov 2011
Posts: 246
PostPosted: 07-13-2018 10:54 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


You can't move a trigger_hurt, for the obvious reason that it's already an entity. However, you can move a lava or slime shader, and those are the only shaders that can cause damage. They also cause damage in a specific way that cannot be modified (simply): if you are completely submerged, you take significantly more damage. And you can't choose how much damage is dealt.

So... sort of?




Top
                 

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 14 Aug 2016
Posts: 78
PostPosted: 07-14-2018 12:08 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


However, you can move a lava
+1, notorious q2dm3 ("The Frag Pipe") for example.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42302
PostPosted: 07-14-2018 04:41 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


KittenIgnition wrote:
However, you can move a lava or slime shader, and those are the only shaders that can cause damage


This can't be done.
Any surfaceparm shader instructions that define the contents of the brush are hard baked into the map at compile time. That means the area that hurts the players (and added effects like sounds played when entering the liquid or leaving it or the view warping effect while submerged in a liquid) isn't actually moving with the brush itself. It stays in the area the brush originally covered before moving (sort of, the player-hurting effect itself appears to become disabled once the brush moves).

I once tried to create a pool of water where the water level can be raised and lowered once, but I gave up on that because of these oddities.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42302
PostPosted: 07-14-2018 04:50 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Obsessed wrote:
However, you can move a lava
+1, notorious q2dm3 ("The Frag Pipe") for example.

Quake 2 isn't Quake 3 though :(




Top
                 

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 14 Aug 2016
Posts: 78
PostPosted: 07-14-2018 05:30 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@ Eraser, yep, you're right! :miffed: :q2: != :q3:




Top
                 

Mercenary
Mercenary
Joined: 06 Nov 2011
Posts: 246
PostPosted: 07-14-2018 02:33 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Alright yeah, all my testing is done in Defrag, and I often forget just how much it changes. Movers can be lava or acid, and they work as you would think. Baseq3 seems to not, sadly :(




Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Posts: 10
PostPosted: 07-14-2018 08:14 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


These kind of things can be faked with the "shooter" entities, but requires a custom (invisible/silent) projectile, which I don't remember being too hard to set up.




Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 512
PostPosted: 07-21-2018 12:19 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


If anyone else can confirm or demonstrate that it could be faked I'd be into trying my hand at making a new map asap.




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 25 May 2016
Posts: 39
PostPosted: 08-26-2018 07:14 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


If you search downthread to 2016, you'll see a map I posted called "Outrage.(an ancient version of it, anyway)" This has a func_button that goes to a trigger_hurt (among other things, via a trigger_multiple), which is set to start_off as well as toggle.

It doesn't move, but it does at least activate and deactivate. You might be able to get a few "frames" of pseudo-animation by a couple of these triggers setting off the hurts in different places. So long as you don't need anything too fancy. The apparent motivating "cloud" you would create separately in the same space.

Just a thought.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group