Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Brushwork generators ('Mapgen')


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Brushwork generators ('Mapgen')

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Posts: 20
PostPosted: 06-11-2019 05:31 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I vaguely remember some tools that could spit out a .map file of various customised shapes and objects (like stairwells) and I wanted to dig them back up and see how useful they still are, and see how one might go about using them to expand upon with more scripts. Although most of them are for idTech3 if not idTech2, I'd still like to try.
But, you know how the internet is these days...
http://mapgen.nerius.com/

QuArK is also interesting to look into for some of its quirks.

I also found this supposed "ET Prefab Generator":-
http://www.ruizzz.nl/prefabgenerator/index.php
...again with the 404s.

Does anyone out there have that 'Mapgen' they could upload? Or could anyone out there suggest other tools that are similar?




Top
                 

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 19 Sep 2012
Posts: 79
PostPosted: 06-18-2019 03:52 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@LDAsh Hmm, weird I was sure I ave it, unfortunately I didn't find it (some of my old CDs don't even start). I only found Q3StairGen on one of my CDs. I know it's not what you are looking for...




Attachments:
q3stairgen.zip [6.38 KB]
Downloaded 24 times
Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Posts: 20
PostPosted: 06-19-2019 01:32 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hey, thanks man! That actually really did help a lot, because I threw the filename into Google and hoping to find some old lost FTP folders, and sure enough:-
http://urtmaps.prkl.org/tools/

SurfaceGenerator is something that does pretty much what I was remembering. I read it even was based on the previous 'Mapgen' so I think it does everything.

I also found this:- (not sure if it's supposed to actually work or not?)
http://games.chruker.dk/enemy_territory ... erator.php

There are also a couple of terrain tools I was looking for, something called FATE. Sounds like it might be marginally better than EasyGen or GenSurf, but I'm not sure because I can't find it anywhere.

(edit: a treasure-trove of Quake-mapping tools here - https://www.quaddicted.com/files/tools/)




Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Posts: 20
PostPosted: 06-24-2019 09:01 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


So here we go, someone on the #etlegacy IRC channel was able to help me dig this up...
https://dev.etlegacy.com/attachments/280/fate-shot.jpg
Freehand Adaptive Terrain Editor:-
http://www.violae.net/temp/FATE_0_13_Win32_setup.zip

I read that it doesn't export, but after playing with it I found that indeed it does, it's just not in the menu. Go to 'Edit Mode' and 'Export', but just put in a name for the 'Export Map' field and omit the map type extension. It does indeed export brushes in a map file, which can be loaded into Q3Radiant, which can be converted to brushDef3 which can be loaded into DarkRadiant.
I had some trouble controlling the deform widget on Win7, but it does work with WinXP. Whether it's the OS or some dependency or my particular setup or whatever, I have no idea. It does work, however. I'll have to try it again with compatibility mode.
And yes, like the screenshot above, it can do concave shapes. The shot above was just pointing out that the widget itself should be more like a standard 3-axis graphic, but despite it pointing up you can indeed drag it on the XY axis, just make sure the base of the widget is highlighted, not the arrow.

Anyway, I've been looking for a way to get terrain into Radiant as brushes, even though they would inevitably be exported again as mesh tiles. The reason is so that individual brushes can be tweaked right there in Radiant, instead of needing to go back to a heightmap or program and export again, or just trying to be content with placing other structures or mapobjects on the terrain as a static mesh that can't be edited on-the-spot. The alternative is the Quake map exporter for Blender, which does also work, and is far more powerful, but far more tricky to make work. In the long-run, I'd rather get that working perfectly than to stick with this, but I'm still happy this could be dug up...

___________________________________

(edit: http://forums.thedarkmod.com/index.php?/topic/20008-brushwork-generators-mapgen/&do=findComment&comment=438165)

.
.
.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group