Quake3World.com Forums
     Technology & Troubleshooting
        Connection problems


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Connection problems

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 20 Jan 2012
Posts: 1
PostPosted: 01-20-2012 07:02 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I'm setting up a game of quake 3 team arena for people on my lan to access, as well as some friends accessing it over the internet. No problem on the lan side of things, but those accessing it remotely don't seem to be able to see the server. I'm not very good at the technical side of things, so please bear with me . . .

Those accessing remotely have the server name, ip address (including port number). I've configured the firewall to allow connections from any pc to that port. I've configured port forwarding on my router to forward requests for that port to the pc that's running the game. I've followed the steps outlined here:

http://www.sp1r1t.org/networks/q3_insta ... #appendixc

But still no luck. Is there something I am missing, or haven't checked? Any help would be greatly appreciated!




Top
                 

axbaby
axbaby
Joined: 22 Dec 1999
Posts: 17369
PostPosted: 01-23-2012 08:51 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


we cannot help this poor fella?



_________________
[WYD]


Top
                 

Pestilence
Pestilence
Joined: 25 Mar 2002
Posts: 15757
PostPosted: 01-25-2012 08:52 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Could it be that they might be trying to access the wrong ip? As in the actual ip of your connection vs. a router generated ip? Only thing I can think of so far.




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 16 Feb 2017
Posts: 41
PostPosted: 03-16-2020 02:01 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


squad wrote:
I'm setting up a game of quake 3 team arena for people on my lan to access, as well as some friends accessing it over the internet. No problem on the lan side of things, but those accessing it remotely don't seem to be able to see the server. I'm not very good at the technical side of things, so please bear with me . . .

Those accessing remotely have the server name, ip address (including port number). I've configured the firewall to allow connections from any pc to that port. I've configured port forwarding on my router to forward requests for that port to the pc that's running the game. I've followed the steps outlined here:

http://www.sp1r1t.org/networks/q3_insta ... #appendixc

But still no luck. Is there something I am missing, or haven't checked? Any help would be greatly appreciated!


To solve the connectivity I would suggest you guys get a VPN service and localize the ip address through that you guys will saw the server hope this will help.
I am even using the best VPNs for firestick and i had sync it with my firestick device to boost the streaming region wise.
This works with gaming too as well as privacy.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Technology & Troubleshooting


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group