Quake3World.com Forums
     Technology & Troubleshooting
        new GFX card


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: new GFX card

Your Other Daddy
Your Other Daddy
Joined: 03 Dec 1999
Posts: 19987
PostPosted: 03-17-2011 08:06 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


bit the bullet and bought the 460 GTX 1 gig

while installing it ( being drunk ) took me an hour cause i forgot my PSU had a 6-pin

took an hour but i'm running on a 460 GTX.

gotta quit drinking :paranoid:

ya right

good shit tho



_________________
[WYD]SoM


Top
                 

Finno-Persian Legend
Finno-Persian Legend
Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 16050
PostPosted: 03-17-2011 08:32 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


lol 460




Top
                 

Madman Philosophy
Madman Philosophy
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Posts: 3782
PostPosted: 03-17-2011 10:23 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


SoM wrote:
bit the bullet and bought the 460 GTX 1 gig

while installing it ( being drunk ) took me an hour cause i forgot my PSU had a 6-pin

took an hour but i'm running on a 460 GTX.

gotta quit drinking :paranoid:

ya right

good shit tho


Yer tellin me. Couple of St. Paddy's day sips, and I couldn't figure out why my processor upgrade wouldn't work. Turns out my power source was only pushin 215w! What kinda jackass company puts only a 215w power source in a new fekkin computer?!! HP! That's who!!! >:(

Oh yeah... happy fekkin St. Paddy's Day to yuh! May you not be crossed by HP.

Ohj yeah.... fu Spazduh...



_________________
"How do you keep the natives off the booze long enough to pass the test?" Asked of a Scottish driving instructor in 1995.


Top
                 

Your Other Daddy
Your Other Daddy
Joined: 03 Dec 1999
Posts: 19987
PostPosted: 03-18-2011 02:04 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


what were you thinking of getting a HP in the first place, unless it was a hand down.

PS

this card is FAST!



_________________
[WYD]SoM


Top
                 

Madman Philosophy
Madman Philosophy
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Posts: 3782
PostPosted: 03-19-2011 12:44 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Got a 500w ps... still the same prob. Not as drunk as on St. Paddy's... sending cpu back.... may have Q's later. That is all. :o



_________________
"How do you keep the natives off the booze long enough to pass the test?" Asked of a Scottish driving instructor in 1995.


Top
                 

Unquantifiable Abstract
Unquantifiable Abstract
Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 51631
PostPosted: 03-19-2011 04:48 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


How much was your 460 dude?




Top
                 

Pestilence
Pestilence
Joined: 25 Mar 2002
Posts: 15773
PostPosted: 03-19-2011 07:35 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Peenyuh wrote:
Got a 500w ps... still the same prob. Not as drunk as on St. Paddy's... sending cpu back.... may have Q's later. That is all. :o


Did you compare the wattage of the cpu vs what the mb will handle?




Top
                 

Your Other Daddy
Your Other Daddy
Joined: 03 Dec 1999
Posts: 19987
PostPosted: 03-19-2011 07:43 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Don Carlos wrote:
How much was your 460 dude?


140 after 20 rebate



_________________
[WYD]SoM


Top
                 

Madman Philosophy
Madman Philosophy
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Posts: 3782
PostPosted: 03-19-2011 11:04 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Scourge wrote:
Did you compare the wattage of the cpu vs what the mb will handle?


Went to the HP site and ordered the recommended upgrade for this mb. I'm thinking I might have fumbled the install... though it booted up on the first try, every try after said the cpu wasn't supported.



_________________
"How do you keep the natives off the booze long enough to pass the test?" Asked of a Scottish driving instructor in 1995.


Top
                 

Madman Philosophy
Madman Philosophy
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Posts: 3782
PostPosted: 03-19-2011 11:06 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


SoM wrote:
what were you thinking of getting a HP in the first place, unless it was a hand down.

PS

this card is FAST!


Just slapped in a Radeon HD 5450. Happy so far. :up:



_________________
"How do you keep the natives off the booze long enough to pass the test?" Asked of a Scottish driving instructor in 1995.


Top
                 

Your Other Daddy
Your Other Daddy
Joined: 03 Dec 1999
Posts: 19987
PostPosted: 03-19-2011 11:24 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote




_________________
[WYD]SoM


Top
                 

Your Other Daddy
Your Other Daddy
Joined: 03 Dec 1999
Posts: 19987
PostPosted: 03-19-2011 11:31 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


i ran the 3dmark6 basic version benchy and got 14134

but my 3.2ghz was reported as 768mhz and my 460 didn't show anything hence the low score

D/L'ing 3dmark 11 now



_________________
[WYD]SoM


Top
                 

Your Other Daddy
Your Other Daddy
Joined: 03 Dec 1999
Posts: 19987
PostPosted: 03-19-2011 11:56 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


3dmark11 gave me 2477 marks

it finally identified all my hardware specs.

donny, run the 3dmark11 basic edition benchmark only



_________________
[WYD]SoM


Top
                 

Unquantifiable Abstract
Unquantifiable Abstract
Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 51631
PostPosted: 03-19-2011 01:31 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Will do sir




Top
                 

Unquantifiable Abstract
Unquantifiable Abstract
Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 51631
PostPosted: 03-19-2011 02:25 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Not got a DX11 card...

But my Vantage score is P10504 3DMarks




Top
                 

Your Other Daddy
Your Other Daddy
Joined: 03 Dec 1999
Posts: 19987
PostPosted: 03-19-2011 02:35 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


run the 3dmark11 benchmark only that's what i did

i've already uninstalled it :(



_________________
[WYD]SoM


Top
                 

Unquantifiable Abstract
Unquantifiable Abstract
Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 51631
PostPosted: 03-20-2011 12:18 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


It requires DirectX 11 dude - I only have a 260 with does not support DX11.

Download Vantage again sir...I wanna know how much better it is than mine then decide if I should save for one...




Top
                 

Your Other Daddy
Your Other Daddy
Joined: 03 Dec 1999
Posts: 19987
PostPosted: 03-20-2011 07:45 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


3dmark vantage basic free build DX10

3dmarks 8862

gpu score - 11456.76

will rerun it later, gotta remove my old GT220 drivers lol

what was your graphics score alone ?



_________________
[WYD]SoM


Top
                 

Unquantifiable Abstract
Unquantifiable Abstract
Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 51631
PostPosted: 03-20-2011 10:14 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Graphics Score 9225.51

So it is a nice chunk quicker...




Top
                 

Your Other Daddy
Your Other Daddy
Joined: 03 Dec 1999
Posts: 19987
PostPosted: 03-20-2011 10:22 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


ya a bit and it being a DX11 card

i should prolly OC my 555 BE aswell, but haven't done an OC since the celeron days, and don't wanna do it when i'm drinking lol



_________________
[WYD]SoM


Top
                 

Unquantifiable Abstract
Unquantifiable Abstract
Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 51631
PostPosted: 03-20-2011 10:35 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


heh

I am quite happy with the performance of the 260 for the moment - no doubt I will upgrade to a 460/560Ti when Rage is out as I don't wanna be playing that on a non DX11 card or on a console!




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Technology & Troubleshooting


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group