Quake3World.com Forums
     Technology & Troubleshooting
        Xbox media center


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Xbox media center

god xor reason
god xor reason
Joined: 08 Dec 1999
Posts: 21100
PostPosted: 05-28-2011 11:44 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


So I'm running Windows 7 x64 on my PC and have the slim 360. I can stream media just fine using the built in media server on both my 360 and PS3. However, when I try to add my 360 as an extender for media center it can never connect.

Any ideas? My goal is to get MKV files to play.




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 10 Feb 2000
Posts: 28023
PostPosted: 05-29-2011 07:02 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Firewall and etc has been checked?

Its kinda simple, but honestly, alot of simple things hinder it.




Top
                 

god xor reason
god xor reason
Joined: 08 Dec 1999
Posts: 21100
PostPosted: 06-15-2011 09:32 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I ended up just converting the files to mp4 and then renaming them to avi...

It's probably due to my weird dual router network setup. I don't think I even run a PC firewall though.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 43064
PostPosted: 06-15-2011 11:53 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Oh? Does the xbox have support for mp4? What encoder did you use for the video stream then?

edit:
oh wait, you're probably talking about the mpeg-4 compression algorithm, not the container format.




Top
                 

god xor reason
god xor reason
Joined: 08 Dec 1999
Posts: 21100
PostPosted: 06-16-2011 08:10 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I used this with default settings and did a batch convert of each season's folder:
http://xenonmkv.ev98.net/

I think renaming them to .avi is just a silly defect in Windows Media Library. It uses the file extension to determine whether to parse the file and where to place it in your library. So to get an mp4 to show up in my videos I had to use avi. I think it might be related to the last bullet-point under downsides.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Technology & Troubleshooting


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group