Quake3World.com Forums
     Technology & Troubleshooting
        Windows 7 grey screen on log on


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Windows 7 grey screen on log on

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 14 Oct 2001
Posts: 580
PostPosted: 07-16-2011 08:49 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


First off, I know very little about hardware...
I manage normally by reading as much as I can. But I have stumbled across an issue I have no idea how to fix.
My son's Asus notebook is running windows 7, yesterday it decided to grey screen every time he tried to log on.
It will boot into safe mode, but not safe mode with networking.
Even when grey screened I can see his laptop across my network and have access to all the files on the computer.
I've read similar problems that all pointed to display drivers. I have removed the drivers, but it still grey screens.
Any ideas what might be causing this?
If I don't fix it he's gonna break my notebook, then I will have to kill him.




Top
                 

Timed Out
Timed Out
Joined: 02 Aug 2000
Posts: 37914
PostPosted: 07-16-2011 04:15 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Not sure if you can perform this from Safe Mode, but try a 'Rollback driver' on the wireless and network cards, under device manager.

Quote:
It will boot into safe mode, but not safe mode with networking.


Could be that Windows Update has installed a wonky network driver.




Top
                 

Madman Philosophy
Madman Philosophy
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Posts: 3782
PostPosted: 07-16-2011 09:00 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


What make and model is the display is your son using? This is a new problem... as far as I've seen with Windows7. This OS is loaded with drivers.



_________________
"How do you keep the natives off the booze long enough to pass the test?" Asked of a Scottish driving instructor in 1995.


Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 14 Oct 2001
Posts: 580
PostPosted: 07-17-2011 09:59 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


It's on an nvidea 100m series.
I have fixed the problem I think but not sure what I really did.
I did a clean boot, removed and updated the video drivers, also installed the latest windows update. All seems ok for now.
I actually think the notebook had two problems. Somehow my son's user account was corrupted as well. Every application reported that the user does not have sufficient privileges. Creating a new account seemed the most straightforward solution.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Technology & Troubleshooting


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group