Quake3World.com
https://www.quake3world.com/forum/

Help with my Quake III server configuration
https://www.quake3world.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=50906
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Porto [ 03-03-2015 02:41 PM ]
Post subject:  Help with my Quake III server configuration

Hi Quake III community,

I recently found my old Quake III Arena disk and got addicted again :sly:
When I tried configuring my own dedicated server I ran into a small problem tho. My server is able to run, and the settings seem to be configured ok, but it only appears when I search for a local server in Q3A, not when I search for a server on the internet.
Below are my .bat and .cfg file. I hope anyone can help me and tell me what I should change to make it a "server on the internet".

Thanks in advance!

The .cfg file:
Code:
// Server Config for "Porto's FFA Server" 
seta sv_hostname "Porto's FFA Server"
seta sv_maxclients 16
seta g_motd "Welcome to the Arena, morituri te salutant!"
seta g_quadfactor 3
seta g_gametype 0
seta timelimit 15
seta fraglimit 25
seta g_needpass 0
seta g_password "none"
seta g_weaponrespawn 4
seta sv_pure 1
seta g_forcespawn 5
seta g_minPing 150
seta g_inactivity 8000
seta g_forcerespawn 0
seta rconpassword "password"
seta g_syncronousClients 0

// Map rotation:
set d1 "map rustgrad ; set nextmap vstr d2"
set d2 "map rqm3dm1 ; set nextmap vstr d3"
set d3 "map q3dm12 ; set nextmap vstr d4"
set d4 "map 13base ; set nextmap vstr d5"
set d5 "map focal_p132 ; set nextmap vstr d6"
set d6 "map q3dm19 ; set nextmap vstr d7"
set d7 "map nodm5 ; set nextmap vstr d8"
set d8 "map q3dm11 ; set nextmap vstr d9"
set d9 "map yog3dm2 ; set nextmap vstr d10"
set d10 "map qfraggel3ffa ; set nextmap vstr d11"
set d11 "map solarae ; set nextmap vstr d12"
set d12 "map aedm7 ; set nextmap vstr d13"
set d13 "map lun3dm5 ; set nextmap vstr d14"
set d14 "map ct3dm5 ; set nextmap vstr d15"
set d15 "map 13hive ; set nextmap vstr d16"
set d16 "map 13edge ; set nextmap vstr d1"
vstr d1


The .bat file:
Code:
quake3 +set dedicated 2 +set bot_enable 0 +exec FFAserversettings.cfg


Regards,
Porto

Author:  MKJ [ 03-04-2015 03:49 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Help with my Quake III server configuration

It's been a long long time since I last ran a server, but isn't it so that your dedicated server will pretty much never appear on the built-in internet browser if the server is in your local network?
That doesn't mean it's not accessible, just that the ingame browser gets confused and only sees the local ip and therefore classifies it as a local server, not an internet server.

Next up, I think the official Q3 master servers (the ones that are used to list running Quake servers) have been dead for a while. So right now your server is telling the Q3 master server "hey, I'm right here!", but noones listening on the other end.
There have been 3rd party replacements over the years, no idea which is current. You can change to what Master Server your dedicated server reports to with

sv_master1 [server ip]

you'd need to know the ip or hostname of a master server though.. perhaps someone else here can elaborate.

Apart from that, the easiest way to check if your server is running correctly is to have someone else try and connect to your game. Give them your ip and start up your server.. you should be seeing activity the second they connect. Make sure the ports are open in your firewall; default if 27960.

Author:  Porto [ 03-05-2015 12:08 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: Help with my Quake III server configuration

Thanks MKJ, I'll try to find the IP of the masterserver, if I find it I'll post it here.
Later today I'll let a friend try to connect, maybe it was working after all. But I think I need to portforward my server first, but I don't really know how.
Pic below is the portforward menu of my router, anyone any Idea what I should fill in?
Image
I'm thinking of 27960-27963 in the first field, then 192.168.0.21 (the local IP of the PC I run my server on) in the second field, but what about the rest?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/