Quake3World.com Forums
     Technology & Troubleshooting
        Gentoo


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Gentoo

Elite
Elite
Joined: 29 Mar 2000
Posts: 6843
PostPosted: 02-10-2005 12:28 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Wow... I must be absolutely dreaming to think this board has come back on this particular night. Just in case it's not actually a dream, Gentoo rocks! Even though Slackware is where my heart really lies, Gentoo is working it's magic on me. Something about the way it handles startup scripts and emerging packages I haven't even heard of just gets to me.

Either way, rock the hell on having the ol' board back!




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 28 Jun 2000
Posts: 2804
PostPosted: 02-10-2005 12:21 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hey Energon, sure is good to be back.

Gentoo is just so slick with it's packaging system. Not to mention the speed difference is like night and day compared to Slack. Well, if you optimise it that is...




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 21 Oct 2001
Posts: 6514
PostPosted: 02-11-2005 10:15 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


hey I'll have to give it a go then.
hi seg. new mexico??? what you don't appreciate Denver's bleeding-edge IT market? :icon26:




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 28 Jun 2000
Posts: 2804
PostPosted: 02-12-2005 12:44 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Yeah I moved back to Albuquerque about 2 years ago. I loved Denver but, I'm back in my hometown. Got some family here.




Top
                 

Timbo
Timbo
Joined: 09 Jun 2000
Posts: 1099
PostPosted: 02-13-2005 08:10 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


ubuntu!




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 10 Feb 2000
Posts: 28023
PostPosted: 02-15-2005 04:59 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


a budd of mine spent the past two days gettin her running... only to reboot and get a nice error from Lilo.




Top
                 

4days Joined: 15 Apr 2002
Posts: 8193
PostPosted: 02-16-2005 03:36 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


seems a bit picky about hardware when it's installed - great once it's up and running.




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 21 Oct 2001
Posts: 6514
PostPosted: 02-16-2005 06:59 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


AmIdYfReAk wrote:
a budd of mine spent the past two days gettin her running... only to reboot and get a nice error from Lilo.


huh, I wonder if you tried to get his peer to peer networking off the ground or something.
did he disable norton personal firewall? :icon19:




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 28 Jun 2000
Posts: 2804
PostPosted: 02-16-2005 10:52 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


AmIdYfReAk wrote:
a budd of mine spent the past two days gettin her running... only to reboot and get a nice error from Lilo.


Try using GRUB instead, I've been pretty successful with it.

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=10




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 10 Feb 2000
Posts: 28023
PostPosted: 02-16-2005 08:03 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


he ended up booting off of the cd, and installing Grub.. no sweat.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Technology & Troubleshooting


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group