Quake3World.com Forums
     Programming Discussion
        Requesting scores

Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Requesting scores

Gibblet
Gibblet
PostPosted: 04-07-2013 11:48 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote

I'm a noobie coder. I love Q3 and attempting to make mods.

My question has to do with sending and receiving the scores on the client side.

I've made a mini scoreboard to be printed in console. Works with a bind or if it's typed into console.

My problem has to do with receiving up to date scores.

Checking my code with /developer 1 I see the scoreboard is printed prior to receiving the score.

Using trap_SendClientCommand( "score" ); still shows me I receive the score after the mini scoreboard has been printed.

While using /developer 1 and pressing the tab button I see the score is received before displaying the regular scoreboard.

How can I do this for my mini scoreboard ?

I've tried not displaying the regular scoreboard and sending the trap_SendClientCommand( "score" ); before printing my scoreboard and no luck.

Thanx in advance, I love iD's work, you guys rock.

Last edited by Sheepsquatch on 04-29-2013 05:02 PM, edited 1 time in total.

Commander
Commander
PostPosted: 04-08-2013 01:29 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote

I see there is a delay time of 2 seconds to get the updated scores. To know more search trap_SendClientCommand ("score") in all files.

What I would do is save cg.scoresRequestTime value at the time you want to show the scores in cg.lastScoresRequestTime, and two seconds later (cg.lastScoresRequestTime + 2000) display them, but it would be very slow, two seconds is a lot.

I am surprised that are two seconds, maybe it's because I use the original code. Is this in ioquake faster?

Gibblet
Gibblet