Quake3World.com Forums
     Programming Discussion
        Spearmint sln


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Spearmint sln

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 28 Mar 2014
Posts: 55
PostPosted: 01-14-2016 01:37 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Looking for a vis studio .sln of spearmint that compiles and doesnt crash. http://spearmint.pw/ It was setup to use MinGW rather than vis studio I think, and I have spent days trying to get MinGW to do something useful but without success. I'm not in a position to troubleshoot this efficiently. I live in the woods about 40 minutes from the nearest anything and have no internet at home, and the computer I work on is at home, so the delay between trial and error and search for answers is days rather than minutes. Help would be greatly appreciated.




Top
                 

Veteran
Veteran
Joined: 17 May 2011
Posts: 159
PostPosted: 01-16-2016 04:38 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I suggest you try contacting the author (zTurtleman) of this ioQuake3 branch directly ! He used to post some messages on the ioQ3 board some time ago, I think you'll find quite quicky :)

I know this feeling of being out of civilisation and needing the stuff :(



_________________
My blog - My portfolio
---------------------
MJDM2 - DmeatSP01 - DmeatSP02


Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 19 Sep 2012
Posts: 64
PostPosted: 01-16-2016 05:08 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hi Captaintoottoot,

I do some work for zturtleman, and I use his engine and game for my own project. Here is what I know:
Spearmint doesn't have .sln files.
MinGW is on a weird way to nowhere in my opinion, I can't even get ioquake to compile. Though, MinGW was cool, in the past.

Suggested solution: Use Cygwin instead!
1. It compiles really fine!
2. If you want, you can make 32 and 64 bit exe, dll, and qvm in one go.
3. It also compiles zturtlemans bspc as an exe.
4. After you are used to Cygwin, it is better than you might think.

Here is a good example to get everything you need to compile ioquake3, Spearmint/mint-games and even iortcw with Cygwin: http://wiki.ioquake3.org/Building_ioqua ... s_-_cygwin
Configure Cygwin seems complicated at first, though it isn't, if you do all the steps as described in the above guid, it works! At least on Win 64 bit.

I hope this helped a bit!
P.S.: Using Spearmint is a good decision!




Top
                 

Veteran
Veteran
Joined: 05 Dec 2015
Posts: 199
PostPosted: 04-28-2016 01:10 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


ToKu, we are busy working on a botfix for q3dm7, you might come across this in SP, but here's what happens: The bots move around on the floor door, but they don't go activate the door. It happens to be intentional for some reason. zturtleman hasn't tested a potential fix for this problem (& a very annoying fix, as in the bots would come through the door seemingly from nowhere trying to frag you/anyone that isn't it).




Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 19 Sep 2012
Posts: 64
PostPosted: 05-03-2016 09:37 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@coltonquake3:
Ups! Sorry, I wasn't informed about your post, and i I didn't check this forum for a few days (what a shame to NOT visit Quake3World forums for more than a few days).
So, again. Sorry, for my late reply!
I think Zack already fixed the problem you mentioned https://github.com/zturtleman/mint-aren ... dc26e34a49, though I'm not sure if you talk about the same issue (my english isn't the best). Feel free to inform me, if you encountered a different problem with the bots in Spearmint, or if the problem you described still exists! Zack is really busy with engine things, feel free to make some AI issue trackers on my experimental AI repository https://github.com/KuehnhammerTobias/ioid3-game/issues. Warning: there is no guarantee I can fix the issues, I'm a lousy hobby programmer.
Something different, I'm not sure, if it is okay for the Admins to talk about Spearmint specific issues here at Quake3World Forums? If they don't like it, than eventually use the Spearmint forum https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum ... int-engine
Admins?




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42250
PostPosted: 05-03-2016 10:30 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I'm not an admin (only a moderator) but I see no problem with this being discussed here. It's not like this forum is bursting with activity.




Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 19 Sep 2012
Posts: 64
PostPosted: 05-23-2016 08:52 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Just for info, new Spearmint forum is set up: http://chat.clover.moe/




Top
                 

Veteran
Veteran
Joined: 05 Dec 2015
Posts: 199
PostPosted: 06-22-2016 04:05 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


URL's been changed & it now includes HTTPS.
New link: https://forum.clover.moe/




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Programming Discussion


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group