Quake3World.com Forums
     Programming Discussion
        Showing the players arms in first person view


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Showing the players arms in first person view

visual prowess
visual prowess
Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Posts: 1209
PostPosted: 10-19-2016 02:29 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Is such a thing possible to make for Quake 3 with the 2003 sdk? Or am I going to need the entire source?



_________________
CAPSLOCK IS ON


Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 503
PostPosted: 12-29-2016 09:12 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


No, you would need to write code that detects the model the player is using and on your own create first person models that correspond to the character model.

It's not the same as something as L4D2 that has separated hand and body models with hands added on. For the idtech4 engine games, all of them IIRC, the devs for whatever reason, had arms models included with all of the weapon models. That is probably not what you would end up doing, since you'd have dozens of different models for all of the default characters.

So, no. You'd have to code it in, then build the appropriate models in Maya or Blender.




Last edited by Ganemi on 12-30-2016 03:56 PM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42009
PostPosted: 12-30-2016 12:41 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I think you'd just have to add arms to the weapon models and reposition them accordingly in code.




Top
                 

visual prowess
visual prowess
Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Posts: 1209
PostPosted: 04-03-2017 02:21 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I had a feeling I would have to do more than just add code but wasn't entirely sure because I almost got it to work with just third person mode and the camera angle. Still not ideal so I ended up doing what you guys said and using arm models for first person. It's for a mod which will not be using any of the stock Quake 3 player models, so it's not that much extra work.

Thanks for the help :)



_________________
CAPSLOCK IS ON


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Programming Discussion


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group