Quake3World.com
https://www.quake3world.com/forum/

Showing the players arms in first person view
https://www.quake3world.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=52429
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Bacon [ 10-19-2016 02:29 PM ]
Post subject:  Showing the players arms in first person view

Is such a thing possible to make for Quake 3 with the 2003 sdk? Or am I going to need the entire source?

Author:  Ganemi [ 12-29-2016 09:12 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Showing the players arms in first person view

No, you would need to write code that detects the model the player is using and on your own create first person models that correspond to the character model.

It's not the same as something as L4D2 that has separated hand and body models with hands added on. For the idtech4 engine games, all of them IIRC, the devs for whatever reason, had arms models included with all of the weapon models. That is probably not what you would end up doing, since you'd have dozens of different models for all of the default characters.

So, no. You'd have to code it in, then build the appropriate models in Maya or Blender.

Author:  Eraser [ 12-30-2016 12:41 AM ]
Post subject:  Re: Showing the players arms in first person view

I think you'd just have to add arms to the weapon models and reposition them accordingly in code.

Author:  Bacon [ 04-03-2017 02:21 PM ]
Post subject:  Re: Showing the players arms in first person view

I had a feeling I would have to do more than just add code but wasn't entirely sure because I almost got it to work with just third person mode and the camera angle. Still not ideal so I ended up doing what you guys said and using arm models for first person. It's for a mod which will not be using any of the stock Quake 3 player models, so it's not that much extra work.

Thanks for the help :)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/