Quake3World.com Forums
     Programming Discussion
        Blocked Images (levelshots) in choice of Maps


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Blocked Images (levelshots) in choice of Maps

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Posts: 55
PostPosted: 11-21-2016 01:45 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I have add 62 maps in baseq3 and somes levelshots was blocked. But they exist in pk3 files of maps. And they maps stopped working but from the console script work. Somebody knows what is the problem ?

Screenshot: http://pictub.club/image/hG6OI




Top
                 

Theftbot
Theftbot
Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 468
PostPosted: 11-21-2016 10:14 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


maybe missing the ".arena" file in scripts folder




Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Posts: 55
PostPosted: 11-21-2016 10:23 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


".arena" file are exist. Before maps show all levelshots, it happened after when i added more than 62 maps.




Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1622
PostPosted: 11-22-2016 05:04 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Quake III Arena has some sort of limit how much maps can be listed in Skirmish menu (or Start Server menu). However you still can load these maps by console "map" command. If you exceed this limit, the latter maps in alphabet after that limit are not displayed in Skirmish regardless if they are present with arena file or not. If you somewhat exceed the maximum of possible pk3's in baseq3 (because of internal allocated memory), you may experience some maps and/or assets missing and may cause the game to break down and you may experience graphics of the entire game go crazy. That way it displays some textures in default maps missing (water textures may experience that, with backface culled), some shaders not working (for example fire is not animated and has black background), etc. You want to maybe delete or somewhat archive maps that you don't play (archive if you want to play them later, delete if you don't want to play them anymore) to prevent these things from happening...



_________________
[ Quake III Arena by CZghost | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Google+ ]
While you feel the worst ever, turn around facing to Sun and all shadows will pass behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Posts: 55
PostPosted: 11-22-2016 06:55 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


CZghost thx, it's too bad for can not be increase the limit




Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1622
PostPosted: 12-05-2016 04:23 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I experienced similar behaviour some time ago when I played downloaded maps and tested my own maps. Few maps had corrupted pk3 files - entire game went crazy and just as described above some textures appeared missing and shaders not working. And if you have really large amount of maps in your baseq3 folder, it's really hard to spot, which one is problematic one. Especially if it started some time later when no further additions were present and pk3 corruption comes with read&write error on particular disk cluster where part of the pk3 is saved. It happens, sometimes. Then simple reinstall the game and (important!) defragmentation of disk would help a lot... Disk R&W error can be fixed by some disk health utilities that are capable of such fixes...



_________________
[ Quake III Arena by CZghost | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Google+ ]
While you feel the worst ever, turn around facing to Sun and all shadows will pass behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Programming Discussion


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group