Quake3World.com Forums
     Quake 4 Discussion
        Why Quake 4 rocks so hard


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: 

Aneurysm
Aneurysm
Joined: 10 Dec 1999
Posts: 12157
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 05:31 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


456




Top
                 

Hella Cool
Hella Cool
Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 1229
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 05:32 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


The channel is kinda lame everyone is idling.




Top
                 

True Nightmare
True Nightmare
Joined: 02 Jan 2002
Posts: 3560
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 06:45 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Zombie13 wrote:
[lvlshot][/lvlshot]


The DVD on the right says "Bonus DVD." So it comes with 2 DVDs? That's a lot of data...




Top
                 

straight at you
straight at you
Joined: 18 Dec 2000
Posts: 27931
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 06:48 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


The bonus DVD has all the Q2 stuff doesn't it?




Top
                 

straight at you
straight at you
Joined: 18 Dec 2000
Posts: 27931
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 06:55 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Duhard wrote:
omfg over 400 people @ #quake4 on irc.enterthegame.com..where the big boys play homos..none of that quakenet gayness


There are a lot of noobs who think they know what they're talking about too. lol




Top
                 

True Nightmare
True Nightmare
Joined: 02 Jan 2002
Posts: 3560
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 07:18 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


R00k wrote:
The bonus DVD has all the Q2 stuff doesn't it?


The SE comes with Q2 and both mission packs, along with some "making of Quake 4" crap. But I mean, Doom 3 came on 3 CDs = ~2250MB max. 1 DVD = 4700MB max. And they had to use a second? :icon28:




Top
                 

freakzilla
freakzilla
Joined: 11 Dec 1999
Posts: 43185
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 07:18 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


R00k wrote:
There are a lot of noobs who think they know what they're talking about too. lol


agreed and some ppl just say it like it is.




Top
                 

It felt good...
It felt good...
Joined: 28 Mar 2001
Posts: 9558
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 10:00 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


We should all thank Duhard for getting a front-page story at esreality and getting this thread to 20,000 views. GG




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42863
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 10:34 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


dzjepp wrote:
We should all thank Duhard for getting a front-page story at esreality and getting this thread to 20,000 views. GG


Weird, as the story doesn't link back to Q3W, apart from mentioning the site.




Top
                 

It felt good...
It felt good...
Joined: 28 Mar 2001
Posts: 9558
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 10:35 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Theres a link on page 1 of the comments I think.




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 28 Nov 2000
Posts: 9847
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 10:37 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


This thread has 20,000+ views. Well done, Duhard.




Top
                 

It felt good...
It felt good...
Joined: 28 Mar 2001
Posts: 9558
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 11:01 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote





Last edited by dzjepp on 10-17-2005 11:03 PM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42863
PostPosted: 10-17-2005 11:02 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


dzjepp, you really HAD to link the thumbnail eh? :(

edit:

good boy :p




Top
                 

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 17 Oct 2005
Posts: 8
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 12:53 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Well i just picked up my copy but yeah as u can see ive got this problem!!!

[lvlshot]http://users.bigpond.net.au/Taz/shot00005.jpg[/lvlshot]

Any idea's? im running a 9200 radeon (shit i know) and ive updated to 5.10 drivers and i tryed 5.9's but no help... :confused:




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43811
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 01:11 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


type cg_greenlight 0 in the console

either that or sv_disablepokerhat 1



_________________
Image


Last edited by MKJ on 10-18-2005 01:13 AM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 01:12 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


dzjepp wrote:


Fuck me that looks bad... Full bright, low detail space maps... Why did they bother remaking such a spam fest anyway?




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42863
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 01:23 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


o'dium wrote:
dzjepp wrote:


Fuck me that looks bad... Full bright, low detail space maps... Why did they bother remaking such a spam fest anyway?


ahhh c'mon now, q3dm17 was pretty good fun.




Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 01:26 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser wrote:
o'dium wrote:
dzjepp wrote:


Fuck me that looks bad... Full bright, low detail space maps... Why did they bother remaking such a spam fest anyway?


ahhh c'mon now, q3dm17 was pretty good fun.


It was good, but playing with harder bots spoil it. "Oh, i got the railgun, oh, i cant MISS!".

Just seems like such a daft choice for a PPL engine, you know. The thing with PPL is that you need to limit a bit more whats drawn at any one time, but here, with have the ENTIRE level visible at any one point, making it slow AND heavy on network traffic.

So i can see this level being a laggy piece of railgun infested ass tbh. Would much rather of seen one of the other 97 retarded space maps :(

Of course this is what i would of liked, theres nothing stopping me making my own later.

EDIT: Oh, and design wise, i dont think you could ever beat the DC version of dm17 anyways. That blue sky box and lighting was the BEST. Now that would of made this map interesting, because you would have the light casting from the nebula, casting some wicked shadows... None of this full bright lark :p




Last edited by o'dium on 10-18-2005 01:28 AM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 01:27 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Acidpony wrote:
Well i just picked up my copy but yeah as u can see ive got this problem!!!

[lvlshot]http://users.bigpond.net.au/Taz/shot00005.jpg[/lvlshot]

Any idea's? im running a 9200 radeon (shit i know) and ive updated to 5.10 drivers and i tryed 5.9's but no help... :confused:


My lord! ATI drivers giving somebody problems...?

What is the world coming to!




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42863
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 01:28 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


o'dium wrote:
Eraser wrote:
o'dium wrote:
dzjepp wrote:


Fuck me that looks bad... Full bright, low detail space maps... Why did they bother remaking such a spam fest anyway?


ahhh c'mon now, q3dm17 was pretty good fun.


It was good, but playing with harder bots spoil it. "Oh, i got the railgun, oh, i cant MISS!".

Just seems like such a daft choice for a PPL engine, you know. The thing with PPL is that you need to limit a bit more whats drawn at any one time, but here, with have the ENTIRE level visible at any one point, making it slow AND heavy on network traffic.

So i can see this level being a laggy piece of railgun infested ass tbh. Would much rather of seen one of the other 97 retarded space maps :(

Of course this is what i would of liked, theres nothing stopping me making my own later.


Might sound kind of fanboyesque when I say this, but I'm sure that if it's all that bad they wouldn't have included it with the game :shrug:




Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 01:30 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser wrote:
o'dium wrote:
Eraser wrote:
o'dium wrote:
dzjepp wrote:


Fuck me that looks bad... Full bright, low detail space maps... Why did they bother remaking such a spam fest anyway?


ahhh c'mon now, q3dm17 was pretty good fun.


It was good, but playing with harder bots spoil it. "Oh, i got the railgun, oh, i cant MISS!".

Just seems like such a daft choice for a PPL engine, you know. The thing with PPL is that you need to limit a bit more whats drawn at any one time, but here, with have the ENTIRE level visible at any one point, making it slow AND heavy on network traffic.

So i can see this level being a laggy piece of railgun infested ass tbh. Would much rather of seen one of the other 97 retarded space maps :(

Of course this is what i would of liked, theres nothing stopping me making my own later.


Might sound kind of fanboyesque when I say this, but I'm sure that if it's all that bad they wouldn't have included it with the game :shrug:


What, like, erm, The very end of you, which deserved an update...?

The trouble is, devs get attached to things when they make them. They probably LOVED that map, even though most cant stand them. I'm the same, i did something a while back, everybody hated it, but i loved it. I went back and changed it though because it wasn't for me :p

It just seems a tad odd that the most played map in the history of Quake 3, q3dm6, doesn't even get a sniffle of a remake...? Nobody find that odd? Or do id/raven really not pay attention these days?




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42863
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 01:31 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


oooh, instant tournament play
[lvlshot]http://www.dailyrush.dk/associated/feature/1002/ss69.jpg[/lvlshot]
(click it if pic doesn't show)




Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 01:32 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Saw that pic yesterday, was impressed. Its a simple touch but its a VERY good idea. It means you can set up a proper tourney now instead of keeping track in our head :D




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42863
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 01:32 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


o'dium wrote:
What, like, erm, The very end of you, which deserved an update...?

The trouble is, devs get attached to things when they make them. They probably LOVED that map, even though most cant stand them. I'm the same, i did something a while back, everybody hated it, but i loved it. I went back and changed it though because it wasn't for me :p

It just seems a tad odd that the most played map in the history of Quake 3, q3dm6, doesn't even get a sniffle of a remake...? Nobody find that odd? Or do id/raven really not pay attention these days?


Yeah The very end of you seems a bit of a shitty choice compared to DM6 :(




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 28 Mar 2000
Posts: 1142
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 01:54 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


o'dium wrote:
Just seems like such a daft choice for a PPL engine, you know. The thing with PPL is that you need to limit a bit more whats drawn at any one time, but here, with have the ENTIRE level visible at any one point, making it slow AND heavy on network traffic.


when i first played q3dm17 it was laggy as fuck.




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43811
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 02:10 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


intergrated tournament play is dead sexy



_________________
Image


Top
                 

rejected
rejected
Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 6782
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 02:20 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser wrote:
oooh, instant tournament play
[lvlshot]http://www.dailyrush.dk/associated/feature/1002/ss69.jpg[/lvlshot]
(click it if pic doesn't show)


Fucking awsome for us dual players! :icon31:




Top
                 

Hella Cool
Hella Cool
Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 1229
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 04:37 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Acidpony wrote:
Well i just picked up my copy but yeah as u can see ive got this problem!!!

[lvlshot]http://users.bigpond.net.au/Taz/shot00005.jpg[/lvlshot]

Any idea's? im running a 9200 radeon (shit i know) and ive updated to 5.10 drivers and i tryed 5.9's but no help... :confused:


Damn a 9200? It's not supported, the 9600 is not even supported. But I'm sure it will still play.

It's probally some console command or something, but how are the fps anyway?




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43811
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 04:38 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


reefsurfer wrote:
Eraser wrote:
oooh, instant tournament play
[lvlshot]http://www.dailyrush.dk/associated/feature/1002/ss69.jpg[/lvlshot]
(click it if pic doesn't show)


Fucking awsome for us dual players! :icon31:


guess we have a date then :icon34:



_________________
Image


Top
                 

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 17 Oct 2005
Posts: 8
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 05:14 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


shiznit wrote:
Acidpony wrote:
Well i just picked up my copy but yeah as u can see ive got this problem!!!



Any idea's? im running a 9200 radeon (shit i know) and ive updated to 5.10 drivers and i tryed 5.9's but no help... :confused:


Damn a 9200? It's not supported, the 9600 is not even supported. But I'm sure it will still play.

It's probally some console command or something, but how are the fps anyway?


im running minimum spec comp and they are pritty good, had a 3 player edge match going, i was the host and it ran with only minor drops when i was running around with plasma's and rockets everywhere. its playable but not completely enjoyable!




Top
                 

Hella Cool
Hella Cool
Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 1229
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 05:23 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I see, did u try g_greenlight 0 or sv_disablepokerhat 1, like MKJ said.




Top
                 

freakzilla
freakzilla
Joined: 11 Dec 1999
Posts: 43185
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 11:00 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser wrote:
Weird, as the story doesn't link back to Q3W, apart from mentioning the site.


I mentioned the site on the front page, posted a link to the Zombie thread and I also linked DooMer's guide..what do you want more from me, think I should wear a quake3world.com shirt with black socks and go dance in the the streets yelling "linkage"?




Top
                 

Timed Out
Timed Out
Joined: 02 Aug 2000
Posts: 37903
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 11:04 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser wrote:
oooh, instant tournament play
[lvlshot]http://www.dailyrush.dk/associated/feature/1002/ss69.jpg[/lvlshot]
(click it if pic doesn't show)


That's fucking awesome.




Top
                 

freakzilla
freakzilla
Joined: 11 Dec 1999
Posts: 43185
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 11:07 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


dzjepp wrote:
We should all thank Duhard for getting a front-page story at esreality and getting this thread to 20,000 views. GG


I knew it would bring some traffic in here but christ, look what I've unleashed!

Time to bring down the hammer and smash some faces, homos.




Top
                 

oh yeah!
oh yeah!
Joined: 25 Jan 2001
Posts: 3193
PostPosted: 10-18-2005 12:27 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I had also linked to the thread on SA. That probably added to the visitor count.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Quake 4 Discussion


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group