Quake3World.com Forums
     Quake 4 Discussion
        Quake 4 1.3 Point Release


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Quake 4 1.3 Point Release

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 62
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 08:08 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


The Quake 4 1.3 Point Release is being released today. More information coming soon.

UPDATE: All QuakeCon 2006 Quake 4 tournaments will be using the 1.2 Point Release due to the limited amount of time available for players to adjust to the new gameplay changes, however, all BYOC servers will be running the 1.3 Point Release, so it is suggested that everyone patch to 1.3 except for those who may wish to keep a separate 1.2 copy for use of practicing prior and during the tournament.

Image

Quake 4 Point Release 1.3 {Full Install - 234MB}
**

[ Q4 PR 1.3 Full Install @ FileFront ]
[ Q4 PR 1.3 Full Install @ FileCloud ]
[ Q4 PR 1.3 Full Install @ FileShack ]
[ Q4 PR 1.3 Full Install @ Levitation ]
[ Q4 PR 1.3 Full Install @ Quake4Maps ]
[ Q4 PR 1.3 Full Install @ PlanetQuake4 ]

Quake 4 Point Release 1.3 {Upgrade 1.2 ~ 1.3 - 140MB}
**

[ Q4 PR 1.3 Upgrade Install @ FileFront ]
[ Q4 PR 1.3 Upgrade Install @ FileCloud ]
[ Q4 PR 1.3 Upgrade Install @ FileShack ]
[ Q4 PR 1.3 Upgrade Install @ Levitation ]
[ Q4 PR 1.3 Upgrade Install @ PlanetQuake4 ]

Quake 4 1.3 Readme: [ Link ]

Quote:
We've been working hard and playing harder to bring you the release of version 1.3 for Quake 4. This update includes a host of new and community requested features such as: more agile player movement, weapon balance adjustments, a single ambient light option, improved rendering and cpu peformance and much more. We are also excited to introduce some brand new elements to Quake 4:

* New gametype - DeadZone
* New multiplayer weapon - Napalm Launcher
* 8 new professionally made maps
* 4 revized maps for additional DeadZone support
* Buy mode server option that allows you to purchase weapons and equipment.

We hope everyone enjoys the new content, features and fixes! For a complete list of changes, please see the README.

The 1.3 update affects pure server and protocol consistency. Therefore, players who update to 1.3 from ANY previous version will only be able to connect and play against other 1.3 users.
Save games created on any previous version of the game will not be compatible with the 1.3 update.


Source: [ id software ]




Last edited by SyncError on 07-31-2006 09:44 AM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

Timed Out
Timed Out
Joined: 02 Aug 2000
Posts: 37903
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 08:10 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I hope this is awesome, cause my renewal for quake4world is coming up 'n it might cause me to get off my ass and sort the site out =)

I do have some faith that it will be though.




Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 24 Mar 2006
Posts: 73
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 08:27 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Lets see how this shit goes down.




Last edited by KO on 07-31-2006 08:28 AM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

oh yeah!
oh yeah!
Joined: 25 Jan 2001
Posts: 3193
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 08:28 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


SyncError wrote:
The Quake 4 1.3 Point Release is being released today. More information coming soon.


:tear:




Top
                 

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 9
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 08:39 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Thank you




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 30 Nov 1999
Posts: 1664
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 09:09 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Where, where, where?




Top
                 

oh yeah!
oh yeah!
Joined: 25 Jan 2001
Posts: 3193
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 09:46 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Seriously now, no need to spread out the announcement in multiple edits.




Top
                 

oh yeah!
oh yeah!
Joined: 25 Jan 2001
Posts: 3193
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 10:32 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote





Top
                 

NOT OK
NOT OK
Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1017
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 10:51 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Added a single ambient light option. Use r_forceAmbient with a value ranging from 0 to 1.
Multiplayer weapon damage and movement values have been adjusted.
The player will now respawn based on his/her last combatant's location.
Shotgun hit sounds will no longer drop.
The game no longer has to be relaunched to access more than 4 netdemos.
The wrong icon will no longer appear for certain clients after a team shuffle.
Spawn auto-complete in the RCON window will no longer crash.
Voting for Team DM and certain maps will no longer load the wrong map.
The Apply Changes button in the Options menu has been removed.
A crash will no longer occur in Tourney if a finalist disconnects.
A player's name will no longer change to that of the player in the demo if a NetDemo is played.
Time Limit Hit will no longer be displayed in the wrong circumstances.



_________________
Image


Top
                 

oh yeah!
oh yeah!
Joined: 25 Jan 2001
Posts: 3193
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 10:56 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Quote:
//---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
// Changelog Overview
//---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
//
// Player Acceleration:
// pm_accelerate: 15.0 (q4 1.2: 10.0)
// pm_airaccelerate: 1.18 (q4 1.2: 1.0)
// Gauntlet:
// range: 50 (q4 1.2: 48)
// Shotgun:
// spread: 875 (q4 1.2: 700)
// Hyperblaster:
// firerate: 0.7 (q4 1.2: 0.8)
// projectile speed: 1950 (q4 1.2: 1800)
// Lightning Gun:
// knockback: 6 (q4 1.2: 8)
// Nailgun:
// damage: 25 (q4 1.2: 30)
// splash damage: 25 (q4 1.2: 30)
// projectile speed: 1400 (q4 1.2: 1200)
// Rocketlauncher:
// projectile speed: 935 (q4 1.2: 900)
// projectile size: 5 (q4 1.2: 7)
// knockback: 110 (q4 1.2: 100)
//
//---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Sync's post @ ESReality.




Top
                 

oh yeah!
oh yeah!
Joined: 25 Jan 2001
Posts: 3193
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 11:13 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


1.3 Point Release Full Patch (win32) (232 MB)
Mirror: http://www.planetquake4.net/download.ph ... d&lid=2327
1.2-1.3 Point Release Upgrade (win32) (138 MB)
Mirror: http://www.planetquake4.net/download.ph ... d&lid=2328
1.3 Point Release Full Patch (linux) (228 MB)
Mirror: http://www.planetquake4.net/download.ph ... d&lid=2329

1.2-1.3 Point Release Upgrade (linux) (136 MB)
Mirror: http://www.planetquake4.net/download.ph ... d&lid=2330
1.3 Point Release SDK (win32) (56 MB)
Mirror: http://www.planetquake4.net/download.ph ... d&lid=2331
1.3 Point Release SDK (linux) (61.4 MB)
Mirror: http://www.planetquake4.net/download.ph ... d&lid=2332




Top
                 

One Man Army
One Man Army
Joined: 23 Dec 1999
Posts: 10542
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 11:25 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


i just got an error after dling the upgrade.

It isnt the right size, and they removed the link I got it from. durn




Top
                 

oh yeah!
oh yeah!
Joined: 25 Jan 2001
Posts: 3193
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 11:28 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


No problems with full install here.




Top
                 

Gibblet
Gibblet
Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 12
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 11:48 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


SyncError thank you so much :drool:




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43756
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 11:53 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


as posted in GD:

whoa, just had a little playthrough in retrophohlibblbiblbpiolis

the new speeds, very good. it still feels like you have thirtyseven feet though. the napalm gun seems cute, not sure about the damage the leftover thingy does - feels a bit like a lucky killer atm. plusside: you can do a mean napalm jump for less damage than with a rocket :icon14:

forceambientlight is also sexy. im never one for vertexlighting but in q4's case it was very needed. gg raven



_________________
Image


Top
                 

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 81
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 12:05 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Quake 4 ~ Map Retrophobopolis

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image




Last edited by Bugsy on 08-11-2006 03:09 PM, edited 6 times in total.

Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43756
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 12:08 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


was that SMP+drawLagometer slowdown bug finished btw?



_________________
Image


Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 30 Nov 1999
Posts: 1664
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 03:23 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Napalm gun.. Looks great.. Hard to use effectively. :icon26:




Top
                 

Primal screamer
Primal screamer
Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 973
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 03:42 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


GODLIKE wrote:
Napalm gun.. Looks great.. Hard to use effectively. :icon26:


Really? I think it's pretty good actually, close range of course. The little lava blobs that fall from the shot are handy if you wanna know when an opponent is approaching when they walk over it.




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 13 Apr 2001
Posts: 1070
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 04:05 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


good work guys - certainly heading in the right direction




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 30 Nov 1999
Posts: 1664
PostPosted: 07-31-2006 09:45 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


It may just be that I suck with the Napalm Gun, so far.. but I find that I keep expecting guys to NOT walk away from the splash, and they do.. So I need to work it in a bit to get a hang of getting frags with it.

While I have to say my skill level definately appears LOWER on 1.3.. I just got kicked around pretty bad in-game... but I am pretty impressed. I'm not sure Quake.. ANY version.. has ever been this fast. The movement definately makes aim less the dominant factor, and the little weapon tweaks (HB suddenly dangerous) are fun.

I'm so happy I'm not even HEARING my wife fussing about the lack of female models.. :icon25:

/me runs off to duel ..




Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 08-01-2006 04:22 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


234meg? FFS, this took me a whole 2mins 13 seconds to download, I want my money back...

Anyways BRB, gonna check these "liquids". I hope they are nice and not half arsed versions otherwise i WILL be doing that odium thang :p




Top
                 

Eh?
Eh?
Joined: 25 Mar 2001
Posts: 32049
PostPosted: 08-01-2006 04:41 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


OMG... These "liquids" are nothing more than a none solid brush with a hurt trigger and "noMarks"...

Wheres the swimables? Wheres the liquids impacts? Wheres the physics?

This was possible in Quake 4 on release, hell, even Doom 3.

Thats not good.

As for the weapon, its bloody pointless. The Napalm Launcher feels tacked on, and really poor at best.

The new physics are wicked though, it feels a lot better than previous builds, much more Q3 like.And the new levels, while some have odd texturing in places, are quite solid.

The only major downside to this PR was the liquids, which are nothing more than a brush with a scrolling texture. I.E. Not good :(




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43756
PostPosted: 08-01-2006 05:46 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


napalm launcher is a strategic weapon is what i found.. kinda like q3's grenade launcher.

on another note, after i installed 1.3 i have double the maps in my create server list... the usual stock maps and exact copies of those called "[tmp] mapname".
anyone else have this ?



_________________
Image


Top
                 

Primal screamer
Primal screamer
Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 973
PostPosted: 08-01-2006 10:30 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


MKJ wrote:

on another note, after i installed 1.3 i have double the maps in my create server list... the usual stock maps and exact copies of those called "[tmp] mapname".
anyone else have this ?


Yes.




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 30 Nov 1999
Posts: 1664
PostPosted: 08-01-2006 10:54 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


You mean, you have the TMP maps TWICE? Or are you just noticing that you have the TMP performance map pack installed, and you hadn't noticed before?




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43756
PostPosted: 08-01-2006 12:58 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


i never installed any mappack for q4 so im guessing it came with the point release.
wth is the TMP perfomance pack ?



_________________
Image


Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 30 Nov 1999
Posts: 1664
PostPosted: 08-01-2006 02:05 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Odd.. I already HAD downloaded the TMP pack, so I didn't notice. It's a bunch of maps modified sort of "pro" to have brighter, easier to display lighting and different item placement. Easier to play on if your PC is weak, and the item placement is designed with competitive play in mind..




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 13 Apr 2001
Posts: 1070
PostPosted: 08-01-2006 04:18 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


MKJ wrote:
i never installed any mappack for q4 so im guessing it came with the point release.
wth is the TMP perfomance pack ?


hmm this looks like its my fault tbh.

Jolt DM #3 ( 213.208.119.119:2800 ) used to be the 1.2 tmp map server (the tmp maps being used in the league, they offer fps tweaks for people and different item placement) - Last night i upgraded it to 1.3 and made it a general server.

What i forgot to do was remove the tmp2 mappack from q4base :dork: - in all likelihood you have connected and autodl'ed it ?

I did read your post earlier, but the penny didn't drop until i came across dl requests for the pk4 in the server logs.

needless to say as soon as it empties i will remove the offending mappack and reboot her (gonna dedicate her to DeadZone, with all the modified maps in the rotation :)




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43756
PostPosted: 08-01-2006 11:48 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


that might be it kleeks.

see i never installed the pack, simply because i never had performance issues with q4 :o i connected to a few servers and one of them started moaning about files i didnt have and i cancelled.. maybe it made placeholder files?

what are the .pk4's called? so i can remove the 'offending' files :D



_________________
Image


Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 30 Nov 1999
Posts: 1664
PostPosted: 08-02-2006 08:44 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hint: they have TMP in the name..




Top
                 

The voices in your head
The voices in your head
Joined: 14 Dec 2002
Posts: 10054
PostPosted: 08-02-2006 09:03 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Bounced around a server a little last night after installing the patch and I'm definitely impressed. The speed boost and rocket speed make the game a lot more fun and reminiscient of Q3 CA.




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 30 Nov 1999
Posts: 1664
PostPosted: 08-02-2006 12:53 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Tormentius wrote:
Bounced around a server a little last night after installing the patch and I'm definitely impressed. The speed boost and rocket speed make the game a lot more fun and reminiscient of Q3 CA.


Both RA and CPMA had a CA (all weaps, team vs team) mode... and they don't have the same movement physics.

That said: the new speed is nice.. Maybe I'll even get used to it so my aim comes back. :)




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 19 Nov 2005
Posts: 45
PostPosted: 08-09-2006 11:57 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


1.3 with 0.76
wow...
now this is quake..
and it feels more like q3..

great job!
id just fix the rest of anoying bugs plz this is a great step forward :P




Top
                 

xchaser
xchaser
Joined: 04 Dec 1999
Posts: 1946
PostPosted: 08-13-2006 05:37 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


is there a command to disable the side to side bobing in vq4?



_________________
|-----|


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Quake 4 Discussion


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group