Quake3World.com Forums
     Quake 4 Discussion
        quake 4....


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: quake 4....

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 1310
PostPosted: 09-25-2006 03:27 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


lol?




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 31
PostPosted: 09-26-2006 02:35 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Quote:
lol?


Leaves Others Languishing?

Yes, Yes, I agree, it does, excellent game...




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 26
PostPosted: 09-26-2006 03:03 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


jagwah wrote:
excellent game...


Yes. I agree.




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43807
PostPosted: 09-27-2006 03:06 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


whats the story??..



_________________
Image


Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 26
PostPosted: 09-27-2006 04:15 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I think the story is that stocktroll knows how to abbreviate. That's about it.




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 30 Nov 1999
Posts: 1664
PostPosted: 09-28-2006 03:44 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


jagwah ftw. :icon31:




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43807
PostPosted: 09-29-2006 05:52 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


MKJ wrote:
people who say 'ftw' should be hanged



_________________
Image


Top
                 

social engineer
social engineer
Joined: 13 Oct 2001
Posts: 30226
PostPosted: 09-29-2006 06:25 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


bore-fest.




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 2466
PostPosted: 09-29-2006 02:29 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


the story of q4 is that you have been teleported from a gay planet. (there are no women left on earth) and you have to go and steal the oil from the strogg home planet. then, and only then make love to the stroggafied chicks to repopulate earth. its messy.. but someones gotta do it :) so really its a planetary rape story!

but on a serious note... ya gotta love the ending.. i mean wtf? way to leave the story open ended. only to not release the follow up... makin the whole story null and void.. woop woop where's my gun?




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 31
PostPosted: 09-30-2006 03:42 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


:puke:



_________________
The bastards Shot Kenny.


Top
                 

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 94
PostPosted: 10-02-2006 07:38 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


fKd wrote:
but on a serious note... ya gotta love the ending.. i mean wtf? way to leave the story open ended. only to not release the follow up... makin the whole story null and void.. woop woop where's my gun?
Yeah you probably know about the expansion that got canned, gee I wonder why huh?

What a fucking waste of 60 Canuck bucks.




Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 514
PostPosted: 10-05-2006 04:41 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


A waste of waste is not really waste.




Top
                 

freakzilla
freakzilla
Joined: 11 Dec 1999
Posts: 43185
PostPosted: 10-12-2006 09:06 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Image




Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 514
PostPosted: 10-12-2006 09:41 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


What's with all these fags hatin'?




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 30 Nov 1999
Posts: 1664
PostPosted: 10-12-2006 10:34 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


They're trapped Jim. Their minds haven't evolved beyond Quake 3. They can't crouch slide. They play DM6 and ztn almost exclusively, and fret and scream if they can't have 125 fps (with no v-synch to prevent texture tearing). It's a sad state, caused by growing up in the golden era that was Quake3.

On the other hand: this IS quake3world. We're in their lair. :icon31:




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43807
PostPosted: 10-13-2006 01:34 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


about 5 people registered here still play quake3, so there goes your theory :)



_________________
Image


Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 30 Nov 1999
Posts: 1664
PostPosted: 10-13-2006 06:55 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


So, people come here to bitch about a game they MIGHT play if it was more like a game they USED to play? Fascinating... Or maybe just weird. Yep.. Mostly weird. :icon34:




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 07 Jan 2001
Posts: 16448
PostPosted: 10-13-2006 07:32 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


GODLIKE wrote:
They're trapped Jim. Their minds haven't evolved beyond Quake 3. They can't crouch slide. They play DM6 and ztn almost exclusively, and fret and scream if they can't have 125 fps (with no v-synch to prevent texture tearing). It's a sad state, caused by growing up in the golden era that was Quake3.

On the other hand: this IS quake3world. We're in their lair. :icon31:


i would play q4 if i could bring myself to upgrade. problem is i dont know if i would like q4 as much as i still enjoy playing a 7 year old game. q4 def has improved with the latest patch. i almost upgraded a month ago but just couldn't pull the trigger.




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 07 Jan 2001
Posts: 16448
PostPosted: 10-13-2006 07:33 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


GODLIKE wrote:
So, people come here to bitch about a game they MIGHT play if it was more like a game they USED to play? Fascinating... Or maybe just weird. Yep.. Mostly weird. :icon34:


i think q4 is much more like q3 now in 1.3 then it was ootb. i would like to sync my refresh and framerate to something higher than 60 though, say even just 85. or 75!




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 07 Jan 2001
Posts: 16448
PostPosted: 10-13-2006 07:34 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


MKJ wrote:
about 5 people registered here still play quake3, so there goes your theory :)


this place hasnt been at all about q3 in years.




Top
                 

The voices in your head
The voices in your head
Joined: 14 Dec 2002
Posts: 10054
PostPosted: 10-13-2006 09:22 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


prince1000 wrote:

i think q4 is much more like q3 now in 1.3 then it was ootb. i would like to sync my refresh and framerate to something higher than 60 though, say even just 85. or 75!


Yes but since the engine itself is designed around 60fps raising it wouldn't help any and would probably cause oddities or instability.




Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 514
PostPosted: 10-13-2006 09:37 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Tormentius wrote:
prince1000 wrote:

i think q4 is much more like q3 now in 1.3 then it was ootb. i would like to sync my refresh and framerate to something higher than 60 though, say even just 85. or 75!


Yes but since the engine itself is designed around 60fps raising it wouldn't help any and would probably cause oddities or instability.


How many times have we all been over this? : D

Even people who play Counterstrike have heard about this since we've said it so much. >: ]




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 2466
PostPosted: 10-13-2006 08:48 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


GODLIKE wrote:
They're trapped Jim. Their minds haven't evolved beyond Quake 3. They can't crouch slide. They play DM6 and ztn almost exclusively, and fret and scream if they can't have 125 fps (with no v-synch to prevent texture tearing). It's a sad state, caused by growing up in the golden era that was Quake3.

On the other hand: this IS quake3world. We're in their lair. :icon31:


i dont give a shit about those things.. i play a bit of q3.. but im more into sp games... but it really was a lack luster game... lot like unreal2.. lol fps sp games which are good these days are few and far between.. but so far.. i kinda like pray... starting to get a bit repetitive tho...




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 07 Jan 2001
Posts: 16448
PostPosted: 10-14-2006 09:13 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Ganemi wrote:
Tormentius wrote:
prince1000 wrote:

i think q4 is much more like q3 now in 1.3 then it was ootb. i would like to sync my refresh and framerate to something higher than 60 though, say even just 85. or 75!


Yes but since the engine itself is designed around 60fps raising it wouldn't help any and would probably cause oddities or instability.


How many times have we all been over this? : D

Even people who play Counterstrike have heard about this since we've said it so much. >: ]



major flaw to not have higher framerates in mind when creating the q4 engine then imo. i guess the logic is everyone uses lcd anyway and lower fps means more people can "play" the game with older hardware. just would like to have had the option.

has there been an official response about why the engine revolves around 60fps?




Top
                 

The voices in your head
The voices in your head
Joined: 14 Dec 2002
Posts: 10054
PostPosted: 10-14-2006 09:31 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


prince1000 wrote:

major flaw to not have higher framerates in mind when creating the q4 engine then imo. i guess the logic is everyone uses lcd anyway and lower fps means more people can "play" the game with older hardware. just would like to have had the option.

has there been an official response about why the engine revolves around 60fps?


Its not a flaw to have the engine capped when it was designed that way. You're basing your opinion on the fact there was a glitch in the q3 engine which allowed faster movement and longer jumps at 125fps. Faster movement and more movement options (eg. crouch sliding and ramp jumping) are available in Q4 at 60fps. With a decent system, v-sync enabled, and a solid 60fps it looks better and smoother than Q3 ever did IMO.




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 07 Jan 2001
Posts: 16448
PostPosted: 10-14-2006 09:38 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


whoa ok. im not talking about fps dependent physics at all, or movement or any of that jazz. im talking about simply the visual aspect of syncing to higher framerates. i cant stare at a monitor refreshing at 60hz for more than 30 minutes. i run my desktop at 85hz. i dont think it was too much to ask to create an engine that's based on most users visual desktop experience.

edit: which goes back to my assumption on the logic behind 60fps. people using crt's are probably considered to be the minority. q4 is all about buying new product to play it.




Top
                 

The voices in your head
The voices in your head
Joined: 14 Dec 2002
Posts: 10054
PostPosted: 10-14-2006 10:27 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Try it with a decent vid card that can stay at 60fps and v-sync enabled for an hour and you'll see what I meant :).




Top
                 

Dead by Dawn
Dead by Dawn
Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 717
PostPosted: 10-14-2006 12:10 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


MKJ wrote:
MKJ wrote:
people who say 'ftw' should be hanged


what does 'ftw' stand for?




Top
                 

Pestilence
Pestilence
Joined: 25 Mar 2002
Posts: 15757
PostPosted: 10-14-2006 12:14 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


for the win and also fuck the world.




Top
                 

Quake Addict
Quake Addict
Joined: 13 May 2000
Posts: 1794
PostPosted: 10-20-2006 12:59 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


About that game Q4, is it dead ???



_________________
Fast and furious_That's what it's all about...Image


Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 14 Feb 2001
Posts: 1106
PostPosted: 10-20-2006 01:40 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Quote:
i cant stare at a monitor refreshing at 60hz for more than 30 minutes. i run my desktop at 85hz.

q4base has a fucked r_displayrefresh, granted.
That doesn't mean you can't force proper refresh rates with something like refreshlock, maybe powerstrip. Or even straight from the graphics card driver with a bit of fiddling ;) (works with nvidia, don't know about ati)
/me goes back to messing around in q4 with 120hz




Top
                 

Dead by Dawn
Dead by Dawn
Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 717
PostPosted: 10-20-2006 02:19 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


http://files.filefront.com/GtkRadiant_14_and_15_for_Mac/;3863061;;/fileinfo.html

"Map editor for games that use the Quake 3 engine (Doom3 included, see list)"

I didnt know Doom 3 used the Q3 engine...i was also under the impression that Quake 4 used the Doom 3 engine. does that mean Quake 4 uses the Quake 3 engine? or is this site just wrong?




Top
                 

One Man Army
One Man Army
Joined: 23 Dec 1999
Posts: 10549
PostPosted: 10-20-2006 02:39 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


d3 engine is its own thing, gtkradiant just supports both.




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 1310
PostPosted: 10-25-2006 06:52 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


CitizenKane wrote:
http://files.filefront.com/GtkRadiant_14_and_15_for_Mac/;3863061;;/fileinfo.html

"Map editor for games that use the Quake 3 engine (Doom3 included, see list)"

I didnt know Doom 3 used the Q3 engine...i was also under the impression that Quake 4 used the Doom 3 engine. does that mean Quake 4 uses the Quake 3 engine? or is this site just wrong?

q4 engine is basically q3 engine with darker shadows.... unless ur a moron




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Quake 4 Discussion


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group