Quake3World.com Forums
     id legends
        Has anyone here modified Doom 3?


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Has anyone here modified Doom 3?

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 18 Aug 2015
Posts: 94
PostPosted: 09-02-2015 04:42 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hi,

So who has, and what did you try and do, a final release?

I've been doing some preliminary research into this last month or the month before. I have a copy I bought on Amazon UK for £2.04.

I am registered on the ID forums, what I do know is, that doom 3 has its own editor, but some kind of GTK editor is also available for it. So not that different from Elite force, was informed on there that there is no Binary Source Partition.




Top
                 

Veteran
Veteran
Joined: 17 May 2011
Posts: 159
PostPosted: 09-02-2015 07:10 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Unfortunately, the doom 3 engine hasn't been very popular with indie devs ...

I have 2 persons in mind :
*Motorsep : making "Phaeton" (previously named Steel storm 2, sequel to his top down shooter he made with the Darkplaces engine). Not a lot of recent news on the project, but making such a big game alone is tough. And he tried to do features like large open terrains and vehicle physics !
https://www.youtube.com/user/motorsep

*Brendon Chung aka Blendo games : Making Quadrilateral Cowboy. Sounds very cool, can't wait to play it ! https://twitter.com/BlendoGames
Quadrilateral cowboy teaser : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2fqvEG5E0jk

I think the Doom 3 engine has a great potential, but you have to think about it's stencil shadows when you're defining the art style of your game.
The engine is also very "complete" (it has dozens of fancy features : ragdoll posing, complex animation of brush based geometry, particle editor, in game interactive 2D screens...) and it might be complicated to focus on the basic stuff ...

Let us know if you're trying something !



_________________
My blog - My portfolio
---------------------
MJDM2 - DmeatSP01 - DmeatSP02


Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1597
PostPosted: 09-02-2015 07:14 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Check here: http://mxl.cz/idtech4/samota.html

It's DOOM 3 modification by czech mapper and developer Maxell.



_________________
[ Quake III Arena by CZghost | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Google+ ]
While you feel the worst ever, turn around facing to Sun and all shadows will pass behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 18 Aug 2015
Posts: 94
PostPosted: 09-03-2015 04:24 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hmm, oh I didn't mean modify as in create actual new content.

I had in mind using the existing content to change a touch to a more personal preference of particular areas of the Doom 3 Mars City levels.




Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1597
PostPosted: 09-03-2015 07:14 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Apologies. I was thinking you mean a modification as a side-project installed besides original game to keep original game intact (like Q3 mods do)... Anyway, it should be possible to do stuff for D3 with nowadays editors and compilers... Also D3 has its own map editor built in the engine itself.



_________________
[ Quake III Arena by CZghost | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Google+ ]
While you feel the worst ever, turn around facing to Sun and all shadows will pass behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 18 Aug 2015
Posts: 94
PostPosted: 09-04-2015 02:14 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Yes I was informed on that, What would be better to use an built editor or a GTK, notsure what version of it would need.




Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1597
PostPosted: 09-05-2015 07:17 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I was testing custom stuff for Quake 4, but I never really started mapping or modelling for id Tech 4 games, I just made some testing stuff which I never gave to release. If you want to make stuff for some new games from id Software, give Rage a try :)



_________________
[ Quake III Arena by CZghost | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Google+ ]
While you feel the worst ever, turn around facing to Sun and all shadows will pass behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 18 Aug 2015
Posts: 94
PostPosted: 09-15-2015 08:25 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I tried some editing for Doom 3, the Monorail map, I wanted to add a character daemon to the tram on that level, but it failed.

I don't know why it didn't work, I made sure to change the keynames of various pieces in the map linked to it.

It was disappointing.




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | id legends


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group