Quake3World.com Forums
     Announcements
        Source Release: Jedi Outcast & Jedi Academy


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Source Release: Jedi Outcast & Jedi Academy

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12280
PostPosted: 04-04-2013 08:07 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Well, I guess out of all the tragic news of Disney's buyout of Lucas Arts and then shuttering the game studio, there had to be some blip of good news...

In tribute to the doomed studio, Raven Software has finally released the source code for Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast and Jedi Academy under a GNU GPLv2 license.

Image

Quote:
Raven is sad to hear about the closing of LucasArts today, we respected them and enjoyed working with them over the years. We wish the best for all the talented people who were let go and hope they find good work in studios in the industry... We loved and appreciated the experience of getting to make Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast and Jedi Academy for LucasArts. As a gift to the persistently loyal fanbase for our Jedi games and in memory of LucasArts, we are releasing the source code for both games for people to enjoy and play with.


Links to source code:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/jedioutcast/
http://sourceforge.net/projects/jediacademy/

Thanks to pjw for the news.

Discussion in LEM:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=49007



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 513
PostPosted: 06-05-2013 05:11 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hmm. It seems to be completely missing, actually. Does anyone know where copies of this went? Damn, I feel like I missed out.




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 12 Jul 2000
Posts: 11553
PostPosted: 07-04-2013 04:43 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Does this mean we'll be able to have lightsabres in :q3: now?

(I'd have to get a PC that can run :q3: again, but anyway...)




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Announcements


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group