20 Years of Quake 3 and Quake3World

Locked
User avatar
DooMer
Posts: 3066
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 1999 8:00 am

20 Years of Quake 3 and Quake3World

Post by DooMer »

There I was, a young man and avid Quake 2 player patiently awaiting the release of the Quake 3 demo. I skipped q3test but I heard good things.

Boy was I disappointed when I loaded up the game and got 10 - 15 FPS. With the install I found some links to a site with some very knowledgeable people who were already dissecting the game, coming up with configuration tweaks, forming new strategies, and talking tons of shit. Unfortunately all the tweaks in the world wouldn't make the game run smoothly on my STB velocity and 28k connection speed.

The editing and programming forums were especially important providing an invaluable resource for new map designers/modders, and helped jump start many game developer's careers. That's all thanks to the community helping the community; learning from each other, and giving back. It's real sad to see modern games lose their way in this regard with the advent of live service games.

As far as the future of Q3W is concerned, there may possibly be an upcoming update to the forums and main page to make it easier for people to get going with q3/ql.

I wouldn't say I'm nostalgic, but people are always asking me "Hey DooMer why you always playing these old ass games?". I like good things, and no matter what other games I play I always come back to Quake, at least for a little taste.

I was going to put up a q3 server, but the source port situation is looking a bit ugly at the moment. You may see me on the Q3W Quake Live server in Chicago. Perhaps we'll post in discord through the month to get people playing. Please tell me if anything needs to be tweaked, a lot of the configuration is untested:

/connect play.quake3world.com
User avatar
Captain
Posts: 20407
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 2:50 am

Re: 20 Years of Quake 3 and Quake3World

Post by Captain »

DooMer wrote:It's real sad to see modern games lose their way in this regard with the advent of live service games.
This. It's also part of why I don't seem to enjoy modern games much anymore. The only thing that recently came close to rekindling that passion was DOOM.
User avatar
Κracus
Posts: 5962
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:38 am

Re: 20 Years of Quake 3 and Quake3World

Post by Κracus »

How does the /connect play.quake3world.com work? Is that a command you launch in the OG quake 3 game or is it web based or quake live? Just curious what I need to get connected. I've been out of the loop for a while.
CZghost
Posts: 1924
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:45 pm

Re: 20 Years of Quake 3 and Quake3World

Post by CZghost »

I don't think play.quake3world.com is still online. It was the original official online server of Quake III Arena.
[b][[/b] [url=http://czghost.4fan.cz/]Websites[/url] | [url=https://www.facebook.com/czghost.plays]Facebook[/url] | [url=https://www.twitter.com/theczghost]Twitter[/url] | [url=https://www.youtube.com/user/TheCZghost]YouTube[/url] | [url=https://www.instagram.com/theczghost]Instagram[/url] [b]][/b]
“[i]When you feel the worst, turn to the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.[/i]” - John Lennon
User avatar
shaft
Posts: 12471
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 1999 8:00 am

Re: 20 Years of Quake 3 and Quake3World

Post by shaft »

Κracus wrote:How does the /connect play.quake3world.com work? Is that a command you launch in the OG quake 3 game or is it web based or quake live? Just curious what I need to get connected. I've been out of the loop for a while.

Quake Live
User avatar
Whiskey 7
Posts: 9689
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2001 7:00 am

Re: 20 Years of Quake 3 and Quake3World

Post by Whiskey 7 »

Went looking late but fired up Quake Live and connected OK with /connect play.quake3world.com getting 220 ping :smirk:
Locked