Quake3World.com Forums
     Quake III Arena/Quake Live Discussion
        News about Q3Rally


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC





Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: News about Q3Rally

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Posts: 60
PostPosted: 04-10-2021 02:42 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


For all of you, who are interested...We have a little tease for You.

https://www.q3rally.com/2021/04/10/guess-what/



_________________
http://www.per-thormann.de/


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 43638
PostPosted: 04-11-2021 11:05 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Blast from the past!




Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Posts: 60
PostPosted: 04-13-2021 08:14 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hey Eraser...

I found your QToolkit yesterday and think it is still very useful. Is there any chance, that you upgrade it to use it with custom q3games like my Q3Rally?



_________________
http://www.per-thormann.de/


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 43638
PostPosted: 04-14-2021 11:27 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Great to see you still find it useful. I still use the compiler GUI myself whenever making maps, although that has last been a year ago or so.

The bad news is that I've lost the source code to the program well over 10 years ago. My harddisk died and while I did have a backup, I seemed to have lost that backup as well. So I can't really make any changes to the program anymore. The alternative is to rebuild it from scratch, but honestly, that's a significant time investment that I don't really deem worth it.




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 05 Mar 2010
Posts: 374
PostPosted: 04-15-2021 01:35 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


If all it needs is some strings changing for Q3Rally, maybe you can get away with some hex edit hackery of the executable?




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 43638
PostPosted: 04-15-2021 07:04 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


That might be a possibility. I know the QToolkit looks for quake3.exe to start the game and that's hardcoded into the application. If that's the only problem then I guess there's a decent chance you'll be able to change that with a hex editor.




Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1774
PostPosted: 04-17-2021 01:54 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I only add that you have to make sure you don't accidentally change any addresses if you don't really understand x86_64 assembly, and especially if you don't know any of the opcodes and how to read little-endian hexadecimal values. If you change the lenght of the entire program, be sure to actually update relevant address values that might refer to eighter jumps or string literals. If you don't know what you're doing, DO NOT ATTEMPT TO HEX EDIT ANYTHING! It's also worth to mention that there are number of tools for reverse engineering and code hacking tools that might help you with changing the actual machine code of the program in such way it works.



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Posts: 60
PostPosted: 04-20-2021 01:46 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Sad to hear you lost the source. But it is not the end of the world. It was only a "nice to have". Not a "can´t live without". ;-)



_________________
http://www.per-thormann.de/


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Quake III Arena/Quake Live Discussion


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group