Quake3World.com Forums
     Quake III Arena/Quake Live Discussion
        Multiplayer game options?

Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC

Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Multiplayer game options?

Gibblet
Gibblet
PostPosted: 04-15-2006 01:35 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote

I started playing Quake 3 on LAN with a few friends, and wanted to know how if there is some way I can change things like what weapons are in the game(like having it rail only) or other stuff like making it insta-gib. Basically I wanna know how to make so I can customize the game like in UT.

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
PostPosted: 04-15-2006 03:12 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote

You can change things about Q3 by installing a mod (modification). Look in the sticky post at the section modifications. I'm not sure how it works in OSP, but if you install CPMA and vote for VQ3 gameplay (/callvote gameplay VQ3) (normal Q3 rules), you can easily remove items from the map with "/callvote items -BFG" for example. There are other mods that can do it too but you often need to make a config file to specify which weapons you get, which requires a bit more reading to know how to do it.

Gibblet
Gibblet
PostPosted: 04-16-2006 12:54 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote

Is there any mod that allows you to configure it from a menu like in UT?

Elite
Elite
PostPosted: 04-16-2006 01:07 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote

Mods (short for modifications) are made by the general public, and can be entirely new games upon themselves. They can include new items, weapons, characters, enemies, models, modes, textures, levels, and story lines.