Quake3World.com Forums
     Quake III Arena/Quake Live Discussion
        Load config file depending on map that is played

Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC

Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Load config file depending on map that is played

Gibblet
Gibblet
PostPosted: 03-26-2012 10:30 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote

Hello.

I am a grad student studying visual attention and want to run an experiment using Q3. It's something like a fun project on the side. ;) I am still figuring out the details but already have some questions that I hoped you could help me with. Here's what I want to do:

1) Load map X and let the user play for 5 minutes to get familiar with the game.
2) Load next map and change time limit to 10 minutes. Possibly load another configuration file to change graphics.
3) Load next map and possibly load yet another configuration file to change graphics.

This should be automated so that I can start the game for one subject and don't have to enter the room again until the end of the experiment. Also, the user should not be required to do anything but play the game. Therefore, my question is: How/where do I configure the sequence of maps and the game options (time limits etc.)? And also: Is it possible to load a new config file every time the map changes?

Thanks a lot for any help!

Cool #9
Cool #9
PostPosted: 03-26-2012 11:44 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote

It's not too hard. Simply create a text file in the baseq3 folder inside your Quake III Arena installation folder. Give it a .cfg filename extension (instead of .txt). Then you can start Quake 3, open the console with the tilde (~) key and type:

\exec filename.cfg