Quake3World.com Forums
     Technology & Troubleshooting
        Can't create new account?


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Can't create new account?

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2182
PostPosted: 04-16-2020 12:00 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I missclicked at the login panel and it said: Creating a new account is currently not possible., is that a bug or don't we let new people register here any more?



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 43633
PostPosted: 04-16-2020 05:48 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I think raw disabled registering of new accounts because we didn't get any new visitors and a lot of spambots were registering.
If you want to create an account, maybe ask raw if he can do it for you or temporarily lift the registration ban.




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 49
PostPosted: 04-17-2020 10:04 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Exactly.
The option of creating a new account is disabled. I could not create it myself, only after talking on the IRC channel did someone from the administration enable the options temporarily. This is an understandable approach to protect SPAMBOTS




Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2182
PostPosted: 04-20-2020 01:26 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Well, there might be a better way of doing it, but I understand. But when it's like this, I suppose a lot of people won't be able to understand how to contact and who to contact.

If there's any at all that wants to register a new account here =)



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 49
PostPosted: 04-20-2020 05:20 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I agree, it could be solved differently, there are already a few ways, unless it is something else, namely a group of registered people who have set up an account and have never entered a website or forum. It is true that I know cases of forgotten passwords and sometimes after a year people come in and write something because they forgot or something else.




Top
                 

Aneurysm
Aneurysm
Joined: 10 Dec 1999
Posts: 12249
PostPosted: 04-22-2020 09:12 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
I missclicked at the login panel and it said: Creating a new account is currently not possible., is that a bug or don't we let new people register here any more?



I disabled it 3 years ago. The tech savvy admin or site owner cant really be bothered to upgrade the forum or remake the registration page. So this is how it is.
If someone has the fortitude to make their way into IRC or discord and request an account I turn it back on for a short period.

It works and we don't have massive amounts of spam that turns a forum visit into a chore. /shrug




Top
                 

The fuct one!
The fuct one!
Joined: 16 Nov 1999
Posts: 34451
PostPosted: 08-28-2020 11:32 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser wrote:
I think raw disabled registering of new accounts because we didn't get any new visitors and a lot of spambots were registering.
If you want to create an account, maybe ask raw if he can do it for you or temporarily lift the registration ban.


:shrug: Wasn’t me. I think DooMer takes care of this place these days. I’ve been out of things for a while now.

Happy to help any way I can.




Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1774
PostPosted: 04-13-2021 01:51 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Uhm, do you guys know what CAPTCHA is? As simple as simply put reCAPTCHA on the registration would be better solution. Yes, that would require installing a plugin, but I'm sure you'll be able to find one for phpBB.



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Technology & Troubleshooting


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group