Anyone know what causes this?

Discussion for Level editing, modeling, programming, or any of the other technical aspects of Quake
Post Reply
bst
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:55 am

Anyone know what causes this?

Post by bst »

I get this problem when I try to put a tele exit marker decal on my map. I used nodraw on the other faces and its 8 units high, then sunk into the floor brush by 8 units then raised by 0.125. Is that the right way to do it?

Here is a screenshot which shows the problem. If I remove the decal the problem goes away!

Image

Thanks in advance for any help.
Noruen
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:45 pm

Re: Anyone know what causes this?

Post by Noruen »

1) You can use "_decal" entity linked with info_null

2) Your decal brush probably cover whole brush under (floor) and during compilation it seems to compiller, that brush is not visible. Maybe...
obsidian
Posts: 10970
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 8:00 am

Re: Anyone know what causes this?

Post by obsidian »

Do you have the shaders for the decal and floor in question?
[size=85][url=http://gtkradiant.com]GtkRadiant[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com]Q3Map2[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/shader_manual/]Shader Manual[/url][/size]
sumatra
Posts: 325
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 10:02 pm

Re: Anyone know what causes this?

Post by sumatra »

3) Use of polygonOffset in your shader and place the decal brush on the same level like the floor brush.
[url=http://www.pukkadesign.com][color=#41c0eb]..::pukkadesign.com[/color][/url]
obsidian
Posts: 10970
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 8:00 am

Re: Anyone know what causes this?

Post by obsidian »

How you do your decals are details. You can use a patch, you can use _decal with polygonOffset, you may not like your green eggs and ham. The important bit is why is his floor brush disappearing? Just sinking a brush into the floor normally wouldn't do this. I suspect nodraw on the decal brush is somehow causing the floor to be nodraw as well. This isn't normal, so there may be something that he is doing in the shaders that is causing this.
[size=85][url=http://gtkradiant.com]GtkRadiant[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com]Q3Map2[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/shader_manual/]Shader Manual[/url][/size]
Noruen
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:45 pm

Re: Anyone know what causes this?

Post by Noruen »

Obsidian - I'm afraid it doesn't have any "logical" reason. It is up on the mood of q3map2 - eg. sometimes cause this problems with disappearing some change in really different part of map. Only thing you can do is to delete brush and make it again, or change geometry.
bst
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:55 am

Re: Anyone know what causes this?

Post by bst »

Ok I'll explain a few more things:

- I got all of the QL paks and am using them to texture the map (using quakelivedec), so I haven't made or edited any shaders.
- The floor brush doesn't have that kind of shape/angle to it, its two squares in the editor. It looks like its only rendering half the 2nd brush face, ie only one triangle/poly.

Thanks sumatra, I wondered how people had put their decals at the same level as other brushes in some maps I'd looked at... now I know :)

I haven't looked into how to make a brush a decal yet... I've been more preoccupied with gamplay etc. So I'm just starting to learn about texturing and detailing :D

I tried the patch mesh and it worked :) I still wonder why it done this though O_o

Thanks for the help.

Here are some screenshots I thought I might aswell take when testing it out :D
I only started the texturing last night so atm I'm just messing around and seeing what works. And its a bit dark because I changed the sky, which I didn't realise how much light it was giving:
http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/7683/shot0055w.jpg
http://img837.imageshack.us/img837/1976/shot0054.jpg
http://img836.imageshack.us/img836/6940/shot0057j.jpg
http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/3514/shot0056b.jpg
http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/4379/shot0053x.jpg
http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/2221/shot0051e.jpg
http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/8035/shot0052.jpg
Dessicated corpse
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:37 am

Re: Anyone know what causes this?

Post by Dessicated corpse »

I sometimes have this problem when I merge two objects together, they don't show up whilst in game.
VolumetricSteve
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:33 am

Re: Anyone know what causes this?

Post by VolumetricSteve »

I had this problem recently too, when I'd compile my map, certain brush faces would just be missing, no reason I could think of. I kept trying to change the geometry/replacing the brushes, but nothing fixed it, I eventually just gave up and totally changed the shape of the thing I was making.
deqer
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:30 pm

Re: Anyone know what causes this?

Post by deqer »

this would be a good .bsp to keep for testing compilers on.
Post Reply