EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Discussion for Level editing, modeling, programming, or any of the other technical aspects of Quake
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19168
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by Eraser »

obsidian wrote:Make the cutscenes skippable, please.
I'd make them so that they are skippable unless your name is obsidian. Then if you try to skip your entire pc freezes.
EmeraldTiger
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 1:53 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by EmeraldTiger »

Eraser wrote:
obsidian wrote:Make the cutscenes skippable, please.
I'd make them so that they are skippable unless your name is obsidian. Then if you try to skip your entire pc freezes.
LOL, nice comeback Eraser. :olo:

Or a console command which automatically disables cutscenes (g_disablecutscenes 1)
[color=#00FF00][b]EmeraldProductions[/b][/color]
http://emeraldproductions.weebly.com/index.html
obsidian
Posts: 10970
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by obsidian »

Eraser wrote:
obsidian wrote:Make the cutscenes skippable, please.
I'd make them so that they are skippable unless your name is obsidian. Then if you try to skip your entire pc freezes.
Don't make me ban you. :mad:
[size=85][url=http://gtkradiant.com]GtkRadiant[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com]Q3Map2[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/shader_manual/]Shader Manual[/url][/size]
cyr
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 9:44 pm

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by cyr »

Here are some tutorials on single player relevant topics like loading/saving the gamestate and doing cutscenes: http://rfactory.org/

The camera code requires engine modifications though.
D-Meat
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 8:52 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by D-Meat »

Eraser wrote:
nick lol wrote:Does anyone remember the Hunt mod?

http://www.quakeunity.com/file=2580

The Escape from Hell mode was way cool because it would randomly generate levels. Anyway, might be something to look into for ideas. I think the source code is here: http://eliteforce.gamebub.com/quake3.php

Also

I've always figured that for a bare-bones Quake 3 SP mod there are 2 things you need:

-a generic monster entity (you could set model, skin, health, weapon, etc.)
-trigger_changelevel

I would be stoked with those alone. Just my two cents though, this is looking awesome so far, keep it up! :up:
Thanks for the input. I actually remember playing this mod once. I've downloaded the source and I'll have a look at it some time.
The programmer that did this mod also made a "true" single player mod, "Quake 3 : Outpost", with Daniel "Fusion" Schneider on the graphics (http://planetquake.gamespy.com/View.php ... ail&id=144). I really enjoyed it, and I actually worked on a campagn for it with a friend (here's the old website : http://ophp.free.fr/blog/).

Unfortunately, the files & site were hosted on planetQuake and filePlanet, and I think they're gone now ... I still have it on my hard drive, maybe I'll take some time to upload it somewhere.

The monsters had their own behavior, workind differently from the q3 bots ... oh, and there was a Night vision mode ! along with some lens flares, that ere taken from another mod from the same guy.
[url=http://www.dmitri-engman.fr/]My blog[/url] - [url=http://dmeat.free.fr/book/]My portfolio[/url]
---------------------
[url=http://lvlworld.com/#c=m1&i=1908&d=12%20Dec%202012&m=All&p=review]MJDM2[/url] - [url=http://lvlworld.com/#c=m1&i=2108&d=12%20Dec%202012&m=All&p=review]DmeatSP01[/url] - [url=http://lvlworld.com/#c=m1&i=2132&d=12%20Dec%202012&m=All&p=review]DmeatSP02[/url]
dONKEY
Posts: 566
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2001 7:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by dONKEY »

As I haven't had a huge amount of time to follow this or look at the mod, may I ask, is shader swapping possible easily now? For things like breaking lights, turning on steam, switching on jumpads. Where as before we would have to have used a func_whatever as a hac. Is this what func_logic can do?
Sorry, not up to speed, an trying to catch up.
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19168
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by Eraser »

Ehm, yes and no.

func_logic doesn't exist, you're confused with target_logic. But still, it doesn't do anything like that.

But if you want to swap shaders runtime, then that's already possible with vQ3. You can set a key "targetshadername" and a "targetshadernewname" (for reading clarity: "target shader name" and "target shader new name") to something like a trigger or a func_button.
All shaders in the entire map with the name specified in "targetshadername" will be replaced with the one specified in "targetshadernewname". An example value for either of these keys would be something like "textures/gothic_trim/baseboard09".

Two things to be aware of this. First, as mentioned before in this thread, calling a map_restart won't reset the shader back to the original. In EntityPlus this isn't a huge problem as map_restart would normally not be called.

Second thing is that I'm not sure how Q3 reacts to replacing shaders with different surfaceparms. So replacing a shader that is nonsolid with a solid shader may have unwanted results. I haven't tried though. That specific example will most likely give the bots hell though.
obsidian
Posts: 10970
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by obsidian »

http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/sh ... ities.html

Surfaceparms are compiled, so you can't switch the surface or volume properties (though you can probably use invisible door hack or other methods to fake this). Triggerable shader entities will only alter the appearance of the shader.
[size=85][url=http://gtkradiant.com]GtkRadiant[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com]Q3Map2[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/shader_manual/]Shader Manual[/url][/size]
Quack
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:56 pm

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by Quack »

If you create a misc_model that contains the shader that will be reset, you can use _remap and it will reset the shader when a map_restart is called.
_remap : Used to remap textures/shaders in the model. To remap all shaders to a given shader, use "*;models/mymodel/mytexture". To remap a specific shader, use "models/mymodel/old;models/mymodel/new".
spookmineer
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2002 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by spookmineer »

Q3MME Source Code released

CaNaBiS decided to release it, he discontinued working on it some time ago, and now offers it to anyone who can put it to good use:

Q3MME Source


Maybe it can be used for the cut scenes?
Anthem
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:34 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by Anthem »

spookmineer wrote:Q3MME Source Code released

CaNaBiS decided to release it, he discontinued working on it some time ago, and now offers it to anyone who can put it to good use:

Q3MME Source


Maybe it can be used for the cut scenes?
\o/
[url=http://www.xfire.com/profile/vlnoheaven/][img]http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m231/Lowerboy444/xfire.png[/img][/url]

[url=http://teameventhorizon.com/]Team Event -O- Horizon[/url]

[url=http://mapping.maverickservers.com/]NoGhost Map Making Competition 2 (June 2010)[/url]
axbaby
Posts: 3424
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 1999 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by axbaby »

I want an entity that will let me make a quake1 type single player map experience against a bot that will stay in it's own area. As i progress through a map to a goal I am fighting against increasingly tougher bots.
un-possible?
[color=#FF0000][WYD][/color]
Silicone_Milk
Posts: 2237
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:49 pm

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by Silicone_Milk »

axbaby wrote:I want an entity that will let me make a quake1 type single player map experience against a bot that will stay in it's own area. As i progress through a map to a goal I am fighting against increasingly tougher bots.
un-possible?
Like an ai_tether entity or something?
axbaby
Posts: 3424
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 1999 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by axbaby »

ai tether and the ability to place a specific bot or at least the ai's skill level in a map.
[color=#FF0000][WYD][/color]
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19168
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by Eraser »

You can spawn bots into the map at specific locations with target_botspawn. Use bot clips or clever level design to limit where the bot can move. Version 0.6 of the mod will introduce a deathtarget and a skill key for target_botspawn. Deathtarget can be used to trigger an entity when the bot spawned by that specific botspawn dies and the skill key can be used to set a relative skill level for the bot.
axbaby
Posts: 3424
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 1999 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by axbaby »

Oh man .. i hope people are busy making cool stuff from this.
I love the possibilities.
I really wish this was made many years ago.
good job guys
[color=#FF0000][WYD][/color]
Bliccer
Posts: 341
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 4:27 pm

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by Bliccer »

@Eraser: I guess you already know...
http://own-age.com/articles/680/
^misantropia^
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 6:24 pm

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by ^misantropia^ »

Eraser, I've a cleaned up version of Q3MME that should be slightly easier to diff against. `diff -ruw` still produces a 2.2M large, 75,000 lines long patch but it's better than before.
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19168
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by Eraser »

Yay, some EntityPlus news.
I've just uploaded version 0.6 to the downloads page. This is the complete list of changes:
  • [Added] info_waypoint entity to plot patrolling routes for bots.
  • [Added] target_skill entity to set the skill level for the next map.
  • [Added] target_earthquake entity.
  • [Added] target_effect entity.
  • [Added] LIGHT_LARGE_DEBRIS, DARK_LARGE_DEBRIS, WOOD_DEBRIS, FLESH_DEBRIS and GLASS_DEBRIS spawnflags to target_debrisemitter and func_breakable.
  • [Added] deathtarget key to target_botspawn in order to activate entities upon a bot's death.
  • [Added] skill key to target_botspawn in order to set the skill level of the bot relative to the global skill level.
  • [Added] New single player menu which displays entityplus compatible maps.
  • [Fixed] Rocket Launcher is not in the backpack if player dies while having a RL.
  • [Fixed] target_objective not displaying "objectives updated" message when it's triggered by a bot (for example through a trigger_death entity).
  • [Fixed] count key was missing from target_relay description in entities.def and manual.
  • [Fixed] Negative values for count key on target_relay prevent the entity from being used.
  • [Fixed] Sometimes wrong spawnpoint is picked in ep_example map when dying in key room.
  • [Fixed] Not killing all enemies in ep_example map prevents exit for key room from opening up.
  • [Fixed] Lava doesn't drain in ep_example map if not all enemies in level are killed.
  • [Fixed] Not killing enemies quickly enough in ep_example map causes the default sv_maxclients limit to be hit, preventing the player from completing the map.
  • [Changed] con_notify time is now set to 0 in single player at map load.
  • [Changed] target_gravity defaults to g_gravity value instead of a fixed 800 now.
  • [Changed] Player now (re)spawns at nearest spawnpoint even if that spawnpoint would telefrag an enemy (SP mode only).
  • [Changed] Enemies spawning into or out of the game no longer show the teleportation effect.
  • [Changed] Main menu looks a bit different now.
I'll highlight the most important and interesting new features.
First there's the new info_waypoint entity. You can trigger a target_botspawn entity to spawn a bot at the location of that entity. Before the bot would just free roam through the level, but now you can have your target_botspawn target an info_waypoint entity and the bot will move to the info_waypoint. Have that info_waypoint target another info_waypoint to plot out a patrolling route for the bot. The bot will keep running up and down this route (or in circles, if the route is circular) until he sees the player. Then he'll start attacking.

As explained before, the new version also has a "skill" key on target_botspawn which can be used to set the relative skill level for the bot(s) spawned by that botspawn. Values can be both negative (to make the bot easier) or positive (to make the bot tougher). The last change to botspawns is the deathtarget key. This works just like the target key on entities, but this time the referred entity is activated when a bot spawned by the botspawn dies.

Another small but incredibly valuable change is the "count" key on target_relay. This pretty much means that the target_relay won't activate it's own target until it has been activated [count] number of times.

Some other minor changes include the removal of the teleportation effect of bots entering/leaving the game, so you'll no longer be warned about bots spawning into the game by the zzzzzt teleport sound, additional debris types, target_earthquake (to make the screen shake), target_effect (to create explosions or some simple particle effects) and a completely new single player menu that only lists maps compatible with entityplus (if you want your own map to show up in here, add the "entityplus" gametype to the list of types in your .arena file). The main menu also got a make over :-)

Enjoy!
EmeraldTiger
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 1:53 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by EmeraldTiger »

Kewl stuff once again, man. :up:

Didn`t find many issues yet, but the new re-vamped menu is sometimes behaving oddly. Some buttons won`t highlight if you scroll over them just once, so you kind of have to angrily move it back and forth until it highlights. Not sure if it`s a problem on my end though.

P.S. I`m thinking of making a logo for the EntityPlus mod to put on the main menu, if that is alright with you. I`m no model-maker so it will be 2D as opposed to a 3D model like the default Q3 logo, but it`ll still look cool, hopefully. :p
[color=#00FF00][b]EmeraldProductions[/b][/color]
http://emeraldproductions.weebly.com/index.html
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19168
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by Eraser »

Yeah go crazy with shaders and stuff. Sounds like a plan.
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19168
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by Eraser »

EmeraldTiger wrote:Didn`t find many issues yet, but the new re-vamped menu is sometimes behaving oddly. Some buttons won`t highlight if you scroll over them just once, so you kind of have to angrily move it back and forth until it highlights. Not sure if it`s a problem on my end though.
Whoa, appears you're right. I was having some issues from time to time with it as well but couldn't put my finger on it. Thought it was just me, so I never looked into it. But now that you mentioned it, I went back to look into the code and found that indeed the mouse-over sensitive area of the button is centered on the Y position of the button. In the original menu this is correct because the text of the button is centered as well.
In the new menu, the text is justified to the left but the mouse-over area is still centered. So the whole right half of the button doesn't respond to a mouse-over.

I've fixed this and uploaded a new version (v0.6.1). Thanks for spotting this :)
EmeraldTiger
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 1:53 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by EmeraldTiger »

Here`s a logo I prepared, nothing really fancy:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/27277779/entityplus_logo.png

Menu Concept:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/27277779/entityplus_menu.jpg

(It uses alpha channels so you can put it on any background)
Last edited by EmeraldTiger on Thu May 26, 2011 3:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
[color=#00FF00][b]EmeraldProductions[/b][/color]
http://emeraldproductions.weebly.com/index.html
obsidian
Posts: 10970
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 8:00 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by obsidian »

It looks like it says "entltyplus"
[size=85][url=http://gtkradiant.com]GtkRadiant[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com]Q3Map2[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/shader_manual/]Shader Manual[/url][/size]
EmeraldTiger
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 1:53 am

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus

Post by EmeraldTiger »

obsidian wrote:It looks like it says "entltyplus"
Some weird aspect of the Newtown font. I dunno why but it makes little I`s capital.
[color=#00FF00][b]EmeraldProductions[/b][/color]
http://emeraldproductions.weebly.com/index.html
Post Reply