Can you link holdable_teleporter to a target_position/teleporter_dest aswell?Eraser wrote:This is in. holdable_teleporter can now point towards a spawn point.neoplan wrote:An entity that would force holdable_teleporter to a specific spot would be fun.
EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
I guess the teleporter_dest would work. It doesn't specifically check that it's pointing towards a spawnpoint entity, it just copies it's origin and angles value.
That's why I think the teleporter_dest will work but target_position probably doesn't because it normally doesn't have an angle associated with it.
That's why I think the teleporter_dest will work but target_position probably doesn't because it normally doesn't have an angle associated with it.
-
- Posts: 210
- Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 2:30 pm
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
There won't be flesh coming out of bursting walls any longer - now you can use stone and concrete instead! There were more problems than I thought to model these stones and make them work in-game, as is still had to figure out a lot of things. But these times are over, and now I know how everything has to be set up. Here's a picture of the new models:

I've uploaded the archive to Mediafire. There are no sprites yet, as I finally wanted to release at least the models. I'll try to add debris for wood this weekend, but I can't promise.
Eraser, can you make the number of models that come out of a broken brush random? Or make the scaling of the models dependent of the brush size?

I've uploaded the archive to Mediafire. There are no sprites yet, as I finally wanted to release at least the models. I'll try to add debris for wood this weekend, but I can't promise.
Eraser, can you make the number of models that come out of a broken brush random? Or make the scaling of the models dependent of the brush size?
[url=http://www.victorkarp.com]Portfolio[/url] - [url=https://victorkarp.com/tutorials/quake-3-mapping-tutorials/]My Quake 3 mapping tutorials[/url] - [url=http://www.lvlworld.com/author/DaEngineer]My Quake 3 maps[/url]
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
I've made a 0.3 release package. It can be downloaded here.
Quite a few changes have been made, here's the complete list:
Quite a few changes have been made, here's the complete list:
- [Added] IMMEDIATELY spawnflag for target_disable.
- [Added] mapname key for target_mapchange.
- [Added] SHOW_INTERMISSION spawnflat for target_mapchange.
- [Added] Health, armor, weapons and ammo are retained through a map change if it was caused by a target_mapchange.
- [Added] trigger_death and trigger_frag entities.
- [Added] count key for spawnpoint entities to limit the number of times a player can spawn there.
- [Added] startsound and endsound keys to func_door
- [Added] sound key to func_button
- [Added] trigger_lock and holdable_key entities
- [Added] Example map for trigger_lock and holdable_key entities called "keytest"
- [Added] teleporttarget key to holdable_teleporter
- [Added] target_debrisemitter entity
- [Added] target key for func_breakable
- [Fixed] target_mapchange leaving single player mode when current level is loaded with spmap.
- [Fixed] Bots are left in the game when a map_restart is issued or the map is changed (note: bots are only kicked when in single player mode)
- [Fixed] target_mapchange doesn't properly end a map_restart command with a newline character, messing up the next command.
- [Fixed] Green armor texture is too bright and too saturated
- [Changed] trigger_disable now links and unlinks entities from the world instead of tagging them with a FL_DISABLED flag.
- [Changed] Removed START_OFF spawnflag from trigger_hurt.
- [Changed] Renamed target_intermission to target_mapchange.
- [Changed] Example map uses target_mapchange instead of target_intermission.
- [Changed] Bots no longer drop items when in single player mode (g_gametype 2)
- [Changed] Bots are removed from the game when fragged when in single player mode (g_gametype 2)
- [Changed] "FIGHT!" message is no longer shown when in single player mode (g_gametype 2)
- [Changed] Bots defined in arena files are no longer announced when in single player mode (g_gametype 2)
- [Changed] EntityPlus startup batch file now loads entityplus example map in single player mode
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
how about making it so items dont respawn? or can you already do that? i forget..
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
Yeah that has always been possible. Set the wait key to -1 

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
O hey, DaEngineer, while you're at it, maybe you could make a key model for the holdable_key entity? 

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
It's possible to set each item's respawn value to some random high number so ppl would actually have to play for weeks/years/decades to see that specific item again. It can be done when specifiying your entity settings in GTK; about stock id maps, I'm not sure however, at least not for vq3.
EDIT: already all said by eraser, forgot about the latest 3 posts, duh!
EDIT: already all said by eraser, forgot about the latest 3 posts, duh!
If you are caught on a golf course during a storm and are afraid of lightning, hold up a 1-iron. Not even God can hit a 1-iron.
-Lee Trevino, golfer who actually has been struck by lightning.
-Lee Trevino, golfer who actually has been struck by lightning.
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
I'm on it! (sounds like a fun quick project)Eraser wrote:O hey, DaEngineer, while you're at it, maybe you could make a key model for the holdable_key entity?
[size=85][url=http://gtkradiant.com]GtkRadiant[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com]Q3Map2[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/shader_manual/]Shader Manual[/url][/size]
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
Anyone know if the powerup rotation and bobbing is hard coded or is it something that needs to be animated. If the latter, how many frames and frames per second do the default models have?
What do you guys think? ~40 polys.

What do you guys think? ~40 polys.

[size=85][url=http://gtkradiant.com]GtkRadiant[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com]Q3Map2[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/shader_manual/]Shader Manual[/url][/size]
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
Rotation and bobbing is hard coded IIRC.
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
nice work obs, how big is the model in relation to the player model? looks cool tho
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
It's slightly larger than an armor shard.
[size=85][url=http://gtkradiant.com]GtkRadiant[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com]Q3Map2[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/shader_manual/]Shader Manual[/url][/size]
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
Nice! An armor shard-esque glowy effect would look cool as well.
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
Awesome bro. And indeed, the bobbing and rotation is hard coded.
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
Here's a quick WIP video of the debris emitter entity in combination with func_breakable:
DaEngineer's models still have to be included though.
DaEngineer's models still have to be included though.
-
- Posts: 210
- Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 2:30 pm
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
@ obsidian: looks very good 
@ eraser: I think the dust could use some more transparency - it's a bit too opaque for my taste.
Here's a new pk3 that replaces the two concrete debris models. They link to the base_wall/concrete and base_wall/concrete_dark textures in the pk0, so I didn't even need to upload the copyrighted Q3 texture again. I'll keep it like this until I find some open source textures. There's no good stone texture in the stock Q3 textures, so you'll have to wait until I've found one or made one by myself based on the stones in my garden.
EDIT: Two things came to my mind this mod definitely needs: ladders and health/armor beyond 100 that stops draining down to 100 again. A ladder tutorial can be found here.

@ eraser: I think the dust could use some more transparency - it's a bit too opaque for my taste.
Here's a new pk3 that replaces the two concrete debris models. They link to the base_wall/concrete and base_wall/concrete_dark textures in the pk0, so I didn't even need to upload the copyrighted Q3 texture again. I'll keep it like this until I find some open source textures. There's no good stone texture in the stock Q3 textures, so you'll have to wait until I've found one or made one by myself based on the stones in my garden.
EDIT: Two things came to my mind this mod definitely needs: ladders and health/armor beyond 100 that stops draining down to 100 again. A ladder tutorial can be found here.
[url=http://www.victorkarp.com]Portfolio[/url] - [url=https://victorkarp.com/tutorials/quake-3-mapping-tutorials/]My Quake 3 mapping tutorials[/url] - [url=http://www.lvlworld.com/author/DaEngineer]My Quake 3 maps[/url]
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
Yes good idea for the ladders. Dunno about the health... how did this work in Quake 2?
I made the debris emitter to spew out your models. A spawnflag can be used to determine if it spews out light or dark concrete, so if you've got new models for other materials then we can simply add more spawnflags.
I've also made the dust less opaque.
One thing about the models though... they look a bit too smooth if you ask me. If a block of rock blows into pieces, I don't think you'll end up with such smooth and round pieces of rock.
That doesn't mean these models are useless, but some more pointy models could be a good addition.
I made the debris emitter to spew out your models. A spawnflag can be used to determine if it spews out light or dark concrete, so if you've got new models for other materials then we can simply add more spawnflags.
I've also made the dust less opaque.
One thing about the models though... they look a bit too smooth if you ask me. If a block of rock blows into pieces, I don't think you'll end up with such smooth and round pieces of rock.
That doesn't mean these models are useless, but some more pointy models could be a good addition.
-
- Posts: 449
- Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:33 am
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
Just wanted to jump in - this whole idea looks awesome. 

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
Got some coverage through PlanetQuake, with a decent amount of linking to Q3W as well 

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
ladders are in 

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
@obsidian: Imo your keymodel needs those three yellow dots... or you create a new one in the style of commander keen keys 

Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
Maybe this could be use to create sp enemies
. I have nothing against that sp enemy use bots models, and use standard q3 weapons set, what's more - that's exactly what I would like to get
. Just imagine - Klesk with mele attack (no weapon), or Uriel with gauntlet. Ranger with SG, and TankJr with PG.
Actually I think it would be awesome to have bigger scale TankJr armed with PG or Rl, which couldn't run, only walk slowly. i bet some of you remember the huge strogg from Quake 2
.


Actually I think it would be awesome to have bigger scale TankJr armed with PG or Rl, which couldn't run, only walk slowly. i bet some of you remember the huge strogg from Quake 2

[url]http://shadowsdomain.wordpress.com/[/url]
Re: Here's a wild idea: EntityPlus
So I added a bit more polish to the keycard model, I found that it looked a bit too non-descriptive in outline and colour (roughly same size and shape as armour shard) so I went back and tweaked the model and shaders to make it really stand out with some pretty holographic overlays. The shaders are animated, so I think it looks pretty cool in-game. The three dots are now part of the hologram (hard to make out in this screenshot because of the other overlay).

Download:
http://robotrenegade.com/models/downloa ... eycard.zip
And a test map if you guys want to preview it (extract to /maps and requires the file above, renaming the zip to .pk3):
http://robotrenegade.com/models/downloa ... rd-map.zip
Eraser: is it possible to patch your mod so that it has a higher entity limit. I can see the default entity limit getting really restrictive if people are going to be tossing entities all over the place in this mod. Sock kept hitting that limit for MotEoF and had to strip stuff out or think of creative ways to save entities.

Download:
http://robotrenegade.com/models/downloa ... eycard.zip
And a test map if you guys want to preview it (extract to /maps and requires the file above, renaming the zip to .pk3):
http://robotrenegade.com/models/downloa ... rd-map.zip
Eraser: is it possible to patch your mod so that it has a higher entity limit. I can see the default entity limit getting really restrictive if people are going to be tossing entities all over the place in this mod. Sock kept hitting that limit for MotEoF and had to strip stuff out or think of creative ways to save entities.
[size=85][url=http://gtkradiant.com]GtkRadiant[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com]Q3Map2[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/shader_manual/]Shader Manual[/url][/size]