Page 235 of 295
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:24 am
by Eraser
But coordinates are integers (whole numbers), not floats, right?
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:30 am
by Kaz
The grid inside of Radiant is integer-based, but brushes themselves are defined as the intersection of a set of planes, which are in turn represented in either point-normal (or normal-distance, not positive which) format, both of which use 3D floating-point vectors.
Edit, relevant structures:
Code: Select all
typedef struct brush_s
{
// stuff
face_t *brush_faces;
// more stuff...
}
typedef struct face_s
{
// ...
vec3_t planepts[3];
plane_t plane;
// ...
}
typedef struct
{
vec3_t normal;
double dist;
int type;
} plane_t;
Also: it might be the case that they're doing something smart with how they deal with big coords in the code to mitigate what I'm talking about, but I know that I've tried to build in the 20k+ range and had stuff go haywire before.

Re: Screenshots
Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 5:03 pm
by skinmaster
yeah theres little to no chance it'll ever compile the vis stage....
nice new textures soc,

Re: Screenshots
Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 6:02 pm
by obsidian
skinmaster wrote:yeah theres little to no chance it'll ever compile the vis stage...
I think it would compile just fine. Care to share your reasoning?
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 6:08 pm
by skinNCNmaster
max vis exceeded, my map is way smaller than that, and i had max vis issue before rethinking the open area
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:12 am
by insanet
hey thanks for the tip Kaz, i was wondering why the friking bounding box was disappearing all the time, lol. any more tips about building friking big maps are welcomed guys.
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:45 am
by skinmaster
my current map had a huge central area when i duped it originally, so i decided to turn the 2nd base sideways.. heres a current pic, i duped the base to show you where red base will go when im ready to make it...
big is hard to do, you have to plan your montains out in advance to make point of view areas, so to do this city you may ave to take some liberties and cut a chunk of it out and move it somewhere else, ie, do scenes, in smaller 'ravine" type areas.
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 5:43 am
by fKd
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 6:07 am
by PaN61
fKd wrote:

That guy must have encountered an error near the point of finishing his first quake 3 map. The error probably quit GTK Radiant before he got a chance to save it. He must have been mad

.
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 6:22 am
by Theftbot
4 point clipping-heh
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 4:53 am
by skinmaster
its not that hard to get big, the trick it takes time to plan the terrain out first with rough brushes, and high sides, complete with sky brushwork sealing it in, have a path from your source material in mind but take the liberty of turning some corners on the mountain, rather than one expanse, if you plan it right you might use caves connecting parts as secondary routes to the out doors paths.
the second option is to not use paths at all in the sense of corridors/turns to connect valleys/mountains, instead you could 'fake the scene extension" with a texture and a "door/teleporter' which puts you into a new area completely sealed on its own, with a similar type of false scene of the whole mountain behind the door..
small areas, with the back drop or multiple layers of backdrops making it appear as if the whole scene is polygons, when in fact it would be a series of a half dozen different boxed in teleport-to maps.

anyay screenie related-wizard101 screenie from my fire characters game
the fire on this building is spiraling up the building and the secondary thingy is spinning sprites following a train path around the same spiral... neat effect use.
[lvlshot]http://www.rave.ca/en/image/original/441435/[/lvlshot]
this game uses the above described idea a lot, it has huge areas and divides the with simple gates which cause scenes to load, ie the nex map area, in q3 though, its as simple as teleporting from one museum type area to another. Can you o a good job scene faking though?
if there is a path and it passes through a wall, thats where you cut the map into another piece and build a projection wall with enough space in front of it for a couple of layers of sprite scenery
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:58 pm
by ^Ghost
skinNCNmaster wrote:max vis exceeded, my map is way smaller than that, and i had max vis issue before rethinking the open area
are you compiling within radiant? if so that could be your problem.
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:32 pm
by skinNCNmaster
um well for one i hadn't hinted the map out yet, i'd had a rough layout and duped it to check if vis could handle it face|face with one long open yard between the 2 bases... now that it's hinted vis compiles blue base in less than a minute, so i imagine when ready to flip and texture red side, vis will work pretty fine., i've been very careful to handle the walls in the center corner though, &am still wondering how the tris are going to display as it comes together.
was just watching some defrag videos whoah! awesome trick stuff: D
heres a shot i collaged from the latest world in wizard101, this shows how to make something big like a tree with a whole pavilion upon it and large outer map lands, all connected by the seemingness of their presence.
[lvlshot]http://www.rave.ca/en/image/original/441457/[/lvlshot]
the little purple square in the picture is a backdrop animation via the game circle players are standing on in front of me, ninja pigs, three pigs dressed ninja in a little vidiette
goths
site has an interesting skybox example you should look at, its one of the tricks
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:53 pm
by Eraser
[quote="^Ghost"][quote="skinNCNmaster"]max vis exceeded, my map is way smaller than that, and i had max vis issue before rethinking the open area[/quote]
are you compiling within radiant? if so that could be your problem.[/quote]
Why would that matter?
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:03 pm
by ^Ghost
idk but it matters, i tried compiling a map with radiant, and i got the same error, but when i compile with q3map2 it compiles fine
btw im pretty drunk so forgive me if i seems repetitious.
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:16 am
by Silicone_Milk
^Ghost wrote:idk but it matters, i tried compiling a map with radiant, and i got the same error, but when i compile with q3map2 it compiles fine
btw im pretty drunk so forgive me if i seems repetitious.
You can't compile a map with Radiant. It's a map
editing tool, not a map
compiling tool.
q3map2 is the compiler. When you 'compile with Radiant' you're actually running q3map2 through Radiant with certain sets of arguments to q3map2.
The problem that seems to be most common is that Radiant will use the version of q3map2 it ships with and often people will get errors when trying to use newer features of the compiler that weren't available in the older version that comes with Radiant.
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:37 am
by ^Ghost
Silicone_Milk wrote:^Ghost wrote:idk but it matters, i tried compiling a map with radiant, and i got the same error, but when i compile with q3map2 it compiles fine
btw im pretty drunk so forgive me if i seems repetitious.
You can't compile a map with Radiant. It's a map
editing tool, not a map
compiling tool.
q3map2 is the compiler. When you 'compile with Radiant' you're actually running q3map2 through Radiant with certain sets of arguments to q3map2.
The problem that seems to be most common is that Radiant will use the version of q3map2 it ships with and often people will get errors when trying to use newer features of the compiler that weren't available in the older version that comes with Radiant.
yeah i was drunk i know the difference but what i wanted to say completely came out the wrong way.
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:28 pm
by o'dium
No effects, light shafts, foliage (ivy) etc are in place, as well as many misc detail models.
[lvlshot]http://www.team-blur-games.com/odium/mp_beach_6.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.team-blur-games.com/odium/mp_beach_7.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.team-blur-games.com/odium/mp_beach_8.jpg[/lvlshot]
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:37 pm
by skinmaster
wow, very realisitic stuff

Re: Screenshots
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 5:32 pm
by Eraser
Everything looks a bit shiny though
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 5:52 pm
by skinNCNmaster
cool
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:30 pm
by sock
A quick doodle with a new texture set ...

Re: Screenshots
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:36 pm
by insanet
dear lord. someone call 911 because there are some sick textures right here.
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 3:29 am
by Kaz
The only nitpick I'd have for the marble texture is that there is a somewhat obvious repetition above the door in the far room. Not sure how much you can really do about that since marble tends to have unique-looking patterns.
Also: Odium that rocks!
Re: Screenshots
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 1:47 pm
by Eraser
Amazing what good textures can do to a 12 year old engine